We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #62 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a good service hotel with great location and good services.
What I liked best was the breakfast and the fact that it is just in front of Ipanema's beach.
The worst is the gym... Almost no equipment to workout. That is not that bad because one can easily substitute the gym by a run on the shore

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmserikawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    548
    147
    42
    29
See reviews for
209
439
78
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We came to Brazil for carnival and did a lot of research on hotels before our trip. Prior to this hotel we stayed at the Best Western on Copacabana, but preferred this hotel much more. The location in Ipanema is stunning, the hotel is just over the road from the beach, and guests can take loungers and umbrellas from the hotel to the beach. The views from the pool area on the rooftop were amazing and the rooms were comfortable and spacious. As it was carnival time, prices did seem bit inflated and the service could've been more efficient. I would recommend travellers that go to Brazil to learn some Portuguese, it will definitely help you when you stay in Brazil, as many in the hotels do not speak English. However a great experience and I would love to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CW698WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel was booked for me as I was in brasil on business and a few days facing the sea would be nice. The problem here with rooms on the front is the noise, you need ear plugs. The room has all you need the staff busy at front desk so a little sharp. All the other staff I met were really pleasant and helpful, especially the roof top bar man. The bet caipirinha in Rio.
I would return and will hopefully with my family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlietraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Hotel is located facing Ipanema Beach at Life Station #9. They provide umbrellas,chairs and beach towels for their guests to use on the beach. Good wifi and hair dryers are in the room. Dining room overlooks the beach and has a very nice buffet for breakfast that will suit all tastes. Rooms are spacious. Beds very comfortable and rooms very clean and sunny view from the windows. Roof top terrace has very small pool but great views of the area. If you are booking through US 800 number and are having difficulty with price or availability, you might try writing to the hotel direct. This is a franchise location for Best Western. Most of the guests I saw were Brazilians.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Staff was very accommodating, Rooms were clean, View was amazing, breakfast was top notch.

There is absolutely no place for negative reviews or complaining. I will stay here again in a heartbeat.

The location is prime time!

Room Tip: Stay here. Its awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I am just finishing a four night stay at the Best Western Plus Sol Ipanema. Overall, I really like this place. The last time I visited Rio, I stayed at the Ipanema Inn. This hotel is definitely a few steps ups from that property.

I like Ipanema better than Copacabana. It is cleaner, safer, better shopping and restaurants and the beach is better. The down side of Ipanema is that the hotel choices aren't as good. Most of the hotels are older and don't have the services you will find in Copacabana. For me, especially traveling alone, location and safety outweighs some of the perks some of the Copa hotels have.

I booked a ocean view room based on the reviews from TA. I am glad I did. The only thing a bit weird is that the windows are kind of high so you do need to stretch a bit to get the view. However, it was fun to watch what was going on the beach right from your window. The hotel put me on the 13th floor which was amazing. I didn't have trouble with noise like some of the other reviewers but you are on the main street. I really didn't experience a truly quiet room my entire trip so I think I was used to the ambient noise.

What works about the hotel:

1) location - right across from beach and famous Post 9 lifeguard tower, restaurants all over the place. Grocery store and the Sunday Hippie fair only a few blocks away. The streets of Ipanema are really nice to walk around too!
2) service - I thought the desk staff was really helpful. They helped me book the express tour to see the Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf - R$190. Very good tour - efficient way to see both in 6 hours plus a short city tour. The guide spoke English
3) beach supplies - you can get chair, towel and umbrellas from the hotel. Then walk across the street to the beach and enjoy
4) views - from my room and the roof top deck, the views are amazing
5) breakfast included - best during my entire stay - good fruit and pastries
6) water pressure - this sounds like a funny thing to write about but until I stayed at this hotel, I didn't feel like I was really clean my entire trip
7) rooms - very big. Kind of a weird long configuration but easily fit two queen beds
8) English speaking front desk staff - I never expect this when going to another country but its nice when the front desk staff does speak English and they did here

What was just ok:

1) roof top deck - great views but it was really small and always crowed. The pool was super small, like a plunge pool
2) fitness center - only a few treadmills and hand weights
3) price - all the hotels are expensive in Rio
4) lobby bar - kind of cramped in the entrance but I did eat the food and it was good

Other things to know... The beach on the weekends is PACKED like you see on TV. I waited until during the week and it was much more comfortable but still good for people watching. Sunday they close the beach street in Ipanema and Copa which makes for some good walking and people watching. Sunday is the famous Hippie Fair which is a few blocks from the hotel.

Overall a good stay and good choice for Ipanema!

Room Tip: Pay extra for ocean view. Try to get a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dogluverSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to have feedback highlighting the quality of our service.

We hope to see you again with us!

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
218 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent three nights here as part of our first trip to Brazil. The staff were very welcoming and were more than accommodating given that we arrived 4 hours before check-in time. The room was well appointed and we specifically asked for a beach view, which we did get. The view from the rooftop pool, however, supercedes that of any of the rooms. The location is ideal. Not only are you across the street from Ipanema Beach, it's a very short walk to the Hippie Market on Sundays, lots of restaurants and juice bars and even a supermarket. The area is perfectly safe with lots of families, couples and was a joy to stay in. The only downside is the price, but if you want to stay someplace nice in Rio, you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: spend the money on the beach view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#38 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,674 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,364 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#84 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#53 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
204 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#23 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
794 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#82 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ipanema Hotel

Property: Sol Ipanema Hotel
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-004, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the ocean, at the most trendy point of Ipanema Beach, the "Station 9", and only one block from the bar Girl from Ipanema, birthplace of Bossa Nova. Perfect for leisure or business trip for its proximity to downtown and the best tourist sights of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing