We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall experience positive”
Review of Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #64 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Overall experience positive”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice rooms but smaller than expected. Right on Ipanema beach with great views . Pay extra for the view - we didn't and looked out on tall buildings with the mountains in the background. We were steps away from where "The girl from Ipanema". Great little restaurant with great food. Don't miss the rooftop bar. Great breakfast and free WiFi.

Room Tip: Pick ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    546
    146
    42
    28
See reviews for
208
437
78
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights in November 2013 . Good hotel right on the ocean . Helpful friendly staff . Very nice huge room . Excellent buffet breakfast . Do not miss the sunset from the rooftop pool area . Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance . There didn't appear to be any security issues in this area . The only annoying thing were the lifts , you could grow a beard while waiting for them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Rooms are great, views are spectacular of Sugarloaf and beach!

Rooftop bar / pool were great.

Staff was very good.

Breakfast was very good.

Felt safe in the location.

Would stay here anytime if given the chance!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I loved this place for the most part. The location was unbeatable. The room was decent -- no frills but totally civilized and thoughtful. The price was a bit expensive but seemed par for the course in terms of value in Rio, unless you go the hostel route. The front desk staff was helpful, charming and spoke English. Right around the corner is Zaza's restaurant, which I loved so much I barely could get myself to go anywhere else.

Cons: Elevators are slow. One member of the staff took my information from a bill, found me on Facebook and friend requested me out of the blue, then got upset with me (and told me as much) when I didn't accept his request right away. So unprofessional. Seriously???

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseTimesTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights after a conference, hotel is small but has gorgeous views of the beach with a wonderful rooftop deck and soaking pool. It is centrally located with plenty of restaurants within walking distance. I had a wonderful time, the staff at the hotel were fabulous and did everything to make you feel at home. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We chose this hotel to stay for two nights after a cruise. An excellent position, midway along the Ipanema beach with good views of the Sugar Loaf mountain. Lots of good bars and restaurants nearby. However, it would appear that the hotel is quite old and consequently has only two small lifts, which are often used by the staff moving furniture, trolleys etc. This meant that there was always a long wait for the lifts - if the hotel was full, it would be a nightmare, 15 floors, so walking up is not an option. Bedrooms could be cleaner, showers good. Breakfast OK but nothing special. Dining room has a lovely view over the beach, but is very cramped, difficult to get round. No proper lounge, a small bar in the lobby. Staff not very friendly (is this because it is a big chain?) with the exception of the bartender on the rooftop area as mentioned by others. Expensive for what we got but it is a big city, so expect to pay more especially with the World Cup and Olympics soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best reagrds,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Sol Ipanema is pretty much perfectly located across from the gorgeous Ipanema beach and near many good restaurants and bars. That alone is reason to recommend the hotel. But don't go expecting much in the way of service.

The rooms were fine and modern and clean but we had a "king-size" bed and we could very much feel the break between the two twin mattresses. Not great for romantic cuddling. We had to ask twice each time we wanted coffee delivered to the room since there is no coffee maker in the room, but then again, this service was free. When we entered or exited the hotel each day there was always at least one doorman guarding the hotel entrance but he never once even acknowledged our presence let alone greeted us. It was almost strange how he never made eye contact with us or smiled.

The attendant at the small lobby bar was efficient (despite our inability to speak Portugese) but to say he was pleasant is very much a stretch. When we asked the front desk person for directions to a particular neighborhood restaurant, she seemed almost miffed at being asked a question and dismissed us as fast as she could, despite there being no one else at the front desk on on the phone at the time.

One big exception to this apathetic service was the bartender at the rooftop bar near the tiny pool. He went out of his way to make delicious caiparinhas for us with all the bells and whistles and we REALLY appreciated it! We tipped him 100% of the bill we were so grateful.

This hotel has a great deal to offer in the way of perfect location, nice rooms and facilities, and a really good breakfast buffet but what it sorely lacks is any attention to service or welcoming friendliness. Our stay was just fine but this place would be so much better with a little attention to service. Really good hotels are almost always about the facilities AND staff. Besides the rooftop pool bartender, the Sol Ipanema gets it half right.

Room Tip: Stay in a room overlooking the beach. It is worth the extra money to have that amazing view! If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael/Steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Michael,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#36 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#23 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#55 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#74 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#115 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ipanema Hotel

Property: Sol Ipanema Hotel
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-004, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the ocean, at the most trendy point of Ipanema Beach, the "Station 9", and only one block from the bar Girl from Ipanema, birthplace of Bossa Nova. Perfect for leisure or business trip for its proximity to downtown and the best tourist sights of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing