We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location/Friendly Staff!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #65 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location/Friendly Staff!!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is sort of like a boutique hotel based on it's size. The beach is just outside your door...wonderful location near everything in walking distance, buses and taxi easisly accessible. Staff really worked hard to meet my needs. Internet not so good while I was there, don't bother with the pool, they should really cover it and add more tables for viewing the mountains as it is sooo small even kids would be mad...otherwise great facility...clean and modern.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank discoqueen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    536
    145
    41
    27
See reviews for
203
427
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Came in a group of 18. Check in was at 2pm and all rooms were ready (something not always common in Brazil). Delcious breakfast that varies slightly from day to day - with a few staples. That's great for longer stays. One of our group had to go to the hospital and the front desk was super helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turisto d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As others have mentioned, this hotel is all about the location. I chose it because I wanted to be on the beach in Ipanema and that is what I got. Walking out the door and crossing the street to the beach, day or night was perfect for me. I could watch the locals playing "foot volley" from my window. The ability to hear the waves crashing from my bed at night was a real plus. Although it is fairly expensive, it is more affordable than other ocean facing rooms on Ipanema. The hotel is not luxurious by any standard and you probably should not expect this from any Best Western hotel. The ocean facing room I had was comfortable and clean. Service was excellent and the staff is very friendly. The front desk is very helpful with suggestions and directions. The breakfast was very good. I did have dinner at the hotel once. They make a real effort but the food did not meet my expectation, especially considering it is very expensive. Be mindful of paying extra for high speed wifi. It comes and goes. however, I found this to be true in other hotels in Rio and Sao Paulo. Lower any expectations you may have about the roof top pool. Instead, be brave and take a dip in the ocean. Forget about the gym. If you want to workout, you should do that at the the exercise points along the promenade. When in Rio... Bottom line is that I enjoyed my stay at the Best Western Sol and I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mr. Ron,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The rooms are basic however the location and value for money exceptional. There is even a pool on the room to relax after a day on the beach which is outside your door. The hotel even provides deck chairs and towels for the beach. Stay here if you are keen on a good location close to everything.

The breakfast inclusive was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very expensive, small room for the price, not good value for money. The front desk kept us waiting for a long time to get the room keys to us; turns out the electronic key system was out of order. Breakfast was mediocre as compared to copacabana palace. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very safe hotel- right opposite Ipanema Beach- less than 30 metres from the lobby- expensive but i guess that the trade off that can be expected for safety- roof top pool area is tiny- not big enough to sunbade- pool resembles more of a bath than a pool- friendly reception staff all of whom speak english (a rarity in Brazil as we found out)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is just as we would have expected it to be - fantastic! You pay a premium for the central Ipanema beach location and there is city tax which is added on at checkout. We found the staff friendly and couldn't do enough to help and offer advice. They are keen to sell trips to the tourist sites, we decided to go it alone and had no problems at all and I'm sure we saved money this way. Rooms were surprisingly large even though we opted for the cheaper mountain view room, immaculately clean and the breakfast was varied and plentiful. The absolute gem of this hotel is the roof bar which has spectacular views especially at sunset, we spent every evening here before dinner! I would definitely stay here again in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_Andy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#38 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,634 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,332 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#23 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#44 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
156 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#113 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,189 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#74 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ipanema Hotel

Property: Sol Ipanema Hotel
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-004, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the ocean, at the most trendy point of Ipanema Beach, the "Station 9", and only one block from the bar Girl from Ipanema, birthplace of Bossa Nova. Perfect for leisure or business trip for its proximity to downtown and the best tourist sights of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing