We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #64 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Noisy hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Don't underestimate the noise issue with this hotel. We were placed on a low floor at the front of the hotel and though the view was great it was like sleeping on the sidewalk of a very busy street. As other reviewers pointed out, sound insulation from the windows is almost non-existent (they barely close), so if you are in this room or similar you will have noise from the constant stream of buses and cars passing by, along with some very noisy compressor equipment just inches from the window all night long, interspersed with the screeching of chairs and tables from the restaurant on the floor above being shoved around from very early in the morning until late at night. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs or sleeping pills or choose a room that does not face the street. The hotel itself is pretty nice, seems recently renovated, nice bedding and clean. The heart of Ipanema location is the main attraction (and main reason they can justify their prices), wifi speed was adequate and the breakfast buffet was quite good. Pool was tiny and not heated, not really usable in the winter. But honestly I would've rated them significantly lower than four stars due to the terrible noise problem if it weren't for the fact that the manager responded very graciously to my complaint, apologized and gave us a late checkout to accommodate our schedule (and catch up on sleep).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenient and we hope making better next time. Will be a plesure to have you here again betimes!


Warm Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    538
    145
    41
    28
See reviews for
207
428
77
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This is a good basic hotel in a tall (16 floors) and narrow building right on Ipanema boulevard. The rooms and beds are relatively large. Front desk staff are friendly. Minibar well-stocked, restaurant and breakfast so-so and the rooftop bar is small but with a very nice view of Ipanema beach. We had 3 rooms on the 9th floor at the front of the hotel. Room 901 the largest with two huge twin beds. Rooms 902 and 903 standard (one King, one Twin). Beautiful sea view, but very noisy! Traffic on Ipanema boulevard continues all night, so if you want a good night's sleep, don't take rooms at the front. Rooms at the back are the same, do not have a great view, but are quieter.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Schreuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Schrender,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

Sincerely,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a spectacular hotel. If you’re planning to visit Rio de Janeiro, Ipanema is the place to be. The Sol Ipanema hotel is in the heart of the action. The hotel is located directly across the street from the beach with wonderful views and great restaurants right around the corner including the Garota de Ipanema, which is where the “The Girl from Ipanema" was composed. The rooftop pool is small but charming. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryNY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Larry,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Superb location. On the beach, close to a wide variety of restaurants, take away places & shops - all within SAFE walking distance (I traveled alone and felt absolutely safe walking to & from restaurants and shops at night). I stayed in an ocean facing room - and yes, the views are as good as you see in the brochures. Room was spotless, bed very comfortable and has everything you need (except a kettle). Room was large as was the bed (if a little bland in terms of decor.)
I did see previous comments on TripAdvisor about the noise - but it was worse than anticipated. The windows have no insulation so there is almost no difference in the noise levels when the window is closed - and there doesn't seem to be a down time to the noise (even late at night). There is no chance of retiring to your bedroom for some peace & quiet or an afternoon nap. Just be aware. (The view does make up for it to some degree).
Water pressure in shower was strong - making for a great shower.
Free wifi was a huge value add as I struggled for the first few days to get a data package for the simcard that I bought locally. Signal in my room was strong and I experienced no connection issues.
Rooftop pool area has great views and a small pool to cool off in. It wasn't busy while I was there, making it a great spot to lie on one of the pool chairs and read.
Staff at front counter were the cherry on the top. They spoke English well, were friendly, welcoming and just made everything so easy for me. From booking day tours, to answering endless questions, booking taxis and even confirming my booking for my Sao Paulo hotel - they bent over backwards.
I only ate breakfast at the hotel. Nice mix of fruits, cereals, baked goods and a few hot food options (eggs, bacon etc) - plus a great view of the beach.
I would stay here again without question (although would be eternally grateful if they did a bit of soundproofing on the ocean facing rooms).

Room Tip: Ocean view is spectacular - just be aware of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda_R_Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Brenda,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Across the road from Ipanema beach - we had an ocean view room with a great view. Room was clean, well appointed and comfortable, if a little compact. Great views from the roof where there is a bar and a very small pool - the whole rooftop area is small so only a limited number of people can fit comfortably at any one time. Breakfast was good, but the room is compact. Had dinner one night which we found a little expensive. Staff friendly and helpful. Standard Wifi worked fine for us - there are a couple of desktop computers with printer but it was a little expensive. The hotel is pricey but we wanted a beach view and central position - would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mr. Joe,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Ipanema and Copacabana beach stretches look identical, so it makes sense to go with a hotel in Ipanema since it is much safer. In terms of hotel options, there were way more options in Copacabana compared to Ipanema, and Best Western Plus Sol Ipanema is the clear winner for Ipanema options. It is reasonably priced compared to the other four star quality hotels in the area near the beach. It is right across from the beach. Has a nice small roof top with pool. Although, I really wish they would turn down the air conditioning in the lobby! It is freezing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fettuccineo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to have feedback highlighting the quality of our service.

We hope to see you again with us!

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned from staying at the Sol on business. We stayed at the Sheraton for the 2 nights prior (booked by work) and the Sol blows the Sheraton out of the water. Location location location. Rooms aren't as luxurious but they are clean and comfortable and well put together. Free breakfast and WiFi (try THAT at Sheraton). And location on beach is amazing. We had upgrade to ocean view room, but even if you didn't the room bar is awesome. Luis makes the best caipirinhas I have had. Breakfast was not super extensive but great juice and pastry and coffee and dining room is oceanfront. The only drawback was the elevators as mentioned. We were on floor low enough to take stairs though. We felt safe walking nearby hotel to and from dinner. Overall a GREAT stay and when back in Rio, Ill be back!

Room Tip: Oceanview are great but even if don't have it or want to save, the roof has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlspina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#37 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#21 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#29 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#74 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#115 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ipanema Hotel

Property: Sol Ipanema Hotel
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-004, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the ocean, at the most trendy point of Ipanema Beach, the "Station 9", and only one block from the bar Girl from Ipanema, birthplace of Bossa Nova. Perfect for leisure or business trip for its proximity to downtown and the best tourist sights of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing