We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not good value for your money”
Review of Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #69 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, but not good value for your money”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location of the hotel is great. Right at Ipanema Beach. However, the prices are pretty stiff especially compared to other hotels in the area with the same location and the same quality rooms. We arrived early in the morning and we actually got to check in early without extra charges. That was great! The rooms were nice and big, but the reason why this hotel does not get a better score from me is that the rooms were to noisy! We could hear everything the people in the room next door was saying. When they were in their bathroom it sounded like they were in ours. It did not help when they had kids screeming and crying all night long.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N0rwegianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    558
    151
    45
    30
See reviews for
218
447
80
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place is really all you need for a great stay in Rio, minus the non-existent balcony. That is my main qualm with the place - the rooms don't have balconies from which to enjoy the beautiful views! The hotel overall is small, but equipped with a wonderful restaurant, a (very small) pool, a (very small) gym, and a (very small) bar on the roof by the pool. Despite the size, it provides all you need for a great stay. It's right across from Posto 9, and just a few blocks from greats shops and restaurants - and my favorite part of Rio... the Lagoa. You really can't go wrong with the location. Additionally, the restaurant and the morning breakfast are great. There is a pretty large selection of items for breakfast - not just breads and sweets, but also fruits eggs and meats if you're into that, and fresh juices. The room was also decent - it was a good size, the bed was comfortable, and the shower pressure was awesome. The only thing missing (as I mentioned above) is a balcony - that would literally make this place the best place ever, considering the views are phenomenal. That said, all is not lost if you make your way up to the rooftop where you can see Pedra de Gávea, and Aproador, as well as take in the views of Vidigal.

The best thing about this hotel, however, was Roberto (he's pretty new), Deborah, and Paulo. These three were so nice and helpful that I think they made all the difference. Roberto worked in the restaurant and was a pleasure to chat with, and also very helpful in straightening out some things with our room. Paulo was also a great pleasure - helping us to check in, and also helping my friend call the airline to try to locate her lost cell phone, and Deborah was also very helpful with answering questions about the hotel and the room. These three deserve praises and raises :-). If you choose this hotel, be nice, and it'll be nice back.

Room Tip: I believe there are only two options... facing the beach, or the city. And the rooms seem to be quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Don't underestimate the noise issue with this hotel. We were placed on a low floor at the front of the hotel and though the view was great it was like sleeping on the sidewalk of a very busy street. As other reviewers pointed out, sound insulation from the windows is almost non-existent (they barely close), so if you are in this room or similar you will have noise from the constant stream of buses and cars passing by, along with some very noisy compressor equipment just inches from the window all night long, interspersed with the screeching of chairs and tables from the restaurant on the floor above being shoved around from very early in the morning until late at night. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs or sleeping pills or choose a room that does not face the street. The hotel itself is pretty nice, seems recently renovated, nice bedding and clean. The heart of Ipanema location is the main attraction (and main reason they can justify their prices), wifi speed was adequate and the breakfast buffet was quite good. Pool was tiny and not heated, not really usable in the winter. But honestly I would've rated them significantly lower than four stars due to the terrible noise problem if it weren't for the fact that the manager responded very graciously to my complaint, apologized and gave us a late checkout to accommodate our schedule (and catch up on sleep).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenient and we hope making better next time. Will be a plesure to have you here again betimes!


Warm Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This is a good basic hotel in a tall (16 floors) and narrow building right on Ipanema boulevard. The rooms and beds are relatively large. Front desk staff are friendly. Minibar well-stocked, restaurant and breakfast so-so and the rooftop bar is small but with a very nice view of Ipanema beach. We had 3 rooms on the 9th floor at the front of the hotel. Room 901 the largest with two huge twin beds. Rooms 902 and 903 standard (one King, one Twin). Beautiful sea view, but very noisy! Traffic on Ipanema boulevard continues all night, so if you want a good night's sleep, don't take rooms at the front. Rooms at the back are the same, do not have a great view, but are quieter.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Schreuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Schrender,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

Sincerely,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a spectacular hotel. If you’re planning to visit Rio de Janeiro, Ipanema is the place to be. The Sol Ipanema hotel is in the heart of the action. The hotel is located directly across the street from the beach with wonderful views and great restaurants right around the corner including the Garota de Ipanema, which is where the “The Girl from Ipanema" was composed. The rooftop pool is small but charming. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryNY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Larry,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Superb location. On the beach, close to a wide variety of restaurants, take away places & shops - all within SAFE walking distance (I traveled alone and felt absolutely safe walking to & from restaurants and shops at night). I stayed in an ocean facing room - and yes, the views are as good as you see in the brochures. Room was spotless, bed very comfortable and has everything you need (except a kettle). Room was large as was the bed (if a little bland in terms of decor.)
I did see previous comments on TripAdvisor about the noise - but it was worse than anticipated. The windows have no insulation so there is almost no difference in the noise levels when the window is closed - and there doesn't seem to be a down time to the noise (even late at night). There is no chance of retiring to your bedroom for some peace & quiet or an afternoon nap. Just be aware. (The view does make up for it to some degree).
Water pressure in shower was strong - making for a great shower.
Free wifi was a huge value add as I struggled for the first few days to get a data package for the simcard that I bought locally. Signal in my room was strong and I experienced no connection issues.
Rooftop pool area has great views and a small pool to cool off in. It wasn't busy while I was there, making it a great spot to lie on one of the pool chairs and read.
Staff at front counter were the cherry on the top. They spoke English well, were friendly, welcoming and just made everything so easy for me. From booking day tours, to answering endless questions, booking taxis and even confirming my booking for my Sao Paulo hotel - they bent over backwards.
I only ate breakfast at the hotel. Nice mix of fruits, cereals, baked goods and a few hot food options (eggs, bacon etc) - plus a great view of the beach.
I would stay here again without question (although would be eternally grateful if they did a bit of soundproofing on the ocean facing rooms).

Room Tip: Ocean view is spectacular - just be aware of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda_R_Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Brenda,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Across the road from Ipanema beach - we had an ocean view room with a great view. Room was clean, well appointed and comfortable, if a little compact. Great views from the roof where there is a bar and a very small pool - the whole rooftop area is small so only a limited number of people can fit comfortably at any one time. Breakfast was good, but the room is compact. Had dinner one night which we found a little expensive. Staff friendly and helpful. Standard Wifi worked fine for us - there are a couple of desktop computers with printer but it was a little expensive. The hotel is pricey but we wanted a beach view and central position - would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mr. Joe,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,397 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#86 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,514 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,709 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#84 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,185 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#111 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ipanema Hotel

Property: Sol Ipanema Hotel
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-004, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the ocean, at the most trendy point of Ipanema Beach, the "Station 9", and only one block from the bar Girl from Ipanema, birthplace of Bossa Nova. Perfect for leisure or business trip for its proximity to downtown and the best tourist sights of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing