We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience, don't go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #75 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 20 May 2011

The "luxurious" Sofitel Rio in Copacabana has only one good point : the location, out of that everything looks freeze at 20 years ago, when probably spending some time were worthwhile.
From the check in/out area where you can spend hours waiting for your turn if you are in a rush hour, to the rooms ( I got a 55 square meters room, large enough but absolutely old, without the normal amenities you are looking for in a "luxurious " hotel and inadequate for the price I did pay), passing through the breakfast (large selection but poor quality), the swimming-pool (are you kidding? that's a pool?), the restaurant Atlantis (if you like freezing that's the place you will love) and so on. The only thing I want to save is the personal which I found helpfull. By the way for almost 600 euros a night, I had to pay the Internet connection!! It looks that the only "luxurious" thing was the price!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fab65Roma_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaTrope, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2011

Dear M. Fab65Roma_Italy, bonjour

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

I would like to inform you that situations such as these are not common at our hotel.

In our hotel, we have two swimming pools, one which favors the morning sun and the other which is ideal in the afternoon sun. We are performing renovation in many areas of the hotel, including one of the swimming pools, exactly to provide our guests a better service.

We offer L´Occitane amenities for all the apartments of the hotel. We are very surprised you have note received them in your room. That being said that, I would be very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you again, and hopefully improve the impression that you had about us. Please, let me know when you plan to come to Rio, so I can personally take care of your reservation as well anything else you may need.

Yours Sincerely,

Alban Dutemple
Hotel Manager
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

I struggled with where to stay during our Rio getaway. Copacabana vs Ipanema. The Sofitel offered the best of both worlds. An easy walk to both beaches, a unique corner that was less touristy than the strip on either side, and great service by US standards but still a taste of Brazillian culture. The Fasano was our second choice but it could have been a W Hotel in any city and cost twice as much as the Sofitel. Go there for a drink and call it a day! All the other hotels seemed similar along the strip, some nicer than others but essentially the same in decor and locale with minor differences. Very happy and I travel a lot and am picky.

Room Tip: Ocean front deluxe for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Great location. Best bread in Rio, a little run down needs renovation

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poet715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed at the Sofitel for four nights. It is in an excellent location between Copacabana and Ipanema beaches and we had a spacious room with a balcony and a sea view. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms spotlessly clean. The bathrooms are very good with excellent showers. The hotel has some excellent facilities with a large gym with a huge range of equipment and two swimming pools with lots of sunbeds. Breakfasts are excellent especially after the early morning rush with a huge choice. Evening meals are very good too with particulary good waiting staff and an exceptional view across the Rio skyline. Other hotel staff are friendly and very competent. Wifi is an extra and is relatively expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornishSanglier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Fabulously overpriced for such a dated hotel. Only a couple of lights worked in the hotel and I had to unplug one of those to charge my laptop. The bathroom is around a 1.5 to 2 star standard and an excellent trip down memory lane if you were born in the seventies. No foam pillows in the room, which is quite funny considering they give you a 'pillow menu' to choose from.
Breakfast was nice and the staff are courteous. Great views of Copacabana if you take one of the outside seats for brekkie.
You WILL be dissappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Businesstravellerr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The Sofitel is in a great location and has a great staff. The rooms are great- clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is great- the croissants are awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chahoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Hotel Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, provides a unique and exclusive experience. The service is a big difference, besides the attention to detail. Note 10!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#45 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,768 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,272 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#56 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
55 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,768 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#7 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing