We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #74 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great location, doesn't have the same standards of other Sofitel hotels in the world. The rooms are tired, old & have a bad smell. Buffet breakfast is really good and so too are the other dining areas.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L_12_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Bonjour and thank you for your feedback.

Indeed, we are ideally located and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. I will certainly pass your feedback onto the Executive Housekeeper. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service; I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove this to you when you next visit Rio de Janeiro.

With my best regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were to stay at a hotel in Impanema but it was dirty when we arrived. We quickly called the travel agent and found the Sofitel which was rated 5 stars and had all the amenities we were looking for. Our ocean view room was back in a corner and you could not see the ocean whil in the bed really. It was a strech to call it ocean view unless you were on the balcony (513), I believe. The dinner we had there was great. The room was nice but you could begin to see some wear on the desk chair and around the room, but it was clean and comfortable. The negatives were the charge for breakfast. We also asked for late check out as we were not leaving until 6:45pm. We were told we could use the gym facilities to shower after 12 noon check out. I called down and asked if we could pay to stay in the same room until 3 pm. Miraculously the room could be bought for 375 Reals for 3 hours. When I went down to sign the agreement the girl (Amanda) told us it was unneccessary to pay for an hour past their usual late check out of 2pm What a wonderful surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that look directly to the beach, not the rooms with a partial beach view. They cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canddlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Bonjour and thank you for your feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed our restaurant.

I am sorry, however, to hear that your room did meet your expectations. I remain at your disposal to discuss more about the matter through the email sofitelrio@sofitel.com.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenVC
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 July 2012

staff are very good and well trained, rooms reasonably good but rest of hotel is dated and bordering on 3 star accommodation, the location is very good and security is evidently very high, this hotel badly needs refurbished and will loose business until it is, i would not recommend this hotel and is not what i expected with Sofitel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rod238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Bonjour and thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and location.

I am sorry, however, that the hotel did meet your expectations. I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you, please feel free to contact me directly with your feedback at sofitelrio@sofitel.com.

Kind regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

An efficient hotel in perfect location. A separate lounge/breakfast lounge for the top executive floors is the best plus about this hotel. Suited for business visitors as well as tourists. Nice and flexible staff, service minded. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Bonjour and thank you for your nice feedback.
Indeed Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is ideally located and I am glad to hear that you felt the staff was very nice and helpful.
I hope to welcome you back soon at our Club Millésime.

Kind regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

First of all I will start my review with thank to the people working in the Lost&Found section in this hotel. I was attending a conference last week in this hotel (I was leaving in another hotel at that time) and lost my iPhone, which also had 300 USD in cash (in the holster), my Visa credit card and my Drivers' ID... Unfortunately I found out that I lost it after sometime and started searching for it in my bags and stuff...when I tried to call it, nobody answered and I didn't hear it ring anywhere near me. I was certain that it was either stolen or lost. Much to my surprise a few minutes after I got a phone call from it and a very nice lady from the Lost&Found who told me that the cleaner found my phone and gave it to them. Another few minutes later I got it back at the concierge desk. Everything was in tact! The money, ID, everything. They didn't even take a tip which I offered! Thank you very much! I would like to ask the management of the hotel to thank their staff on my behalf.
As mentioned above I was staying in another hotel (which was a total disaster and I will write a separate review on it a bit later) and from the first day I was trying to move to an another hotel, unfortunately all were booked and overbooked, due to the RIO+20 conference. Luckily on Tuesday I was told that on Wednesday they might have a room for me for the rest of my duration of stay. And they did;). Remy (hopefully I got his name right) from the reception went a long way helping me get the room and was very helpful in all matters. We got a wonderful suite overlooking Copacabana beach with a few balconies.
The hotel itself is nice, breakfast is magnificent, the lunch buffet is highly recommended and you will get some exceptional service in their French restaurant. The location is great, they have a Beach Service (that provides you with chairs, towels and a security guard for your belongings). Please be advised that it is better to ask the concierge if the service is working (as I understood it operates during good/sunny weather). The pools are rather small 1 meter and 1,2 meters in depth. We didn't use the massage room, so no comments about it, but I did get an impression that they have only one person during the massage, as we didn't manage to book a massage for us as a couple at the same time.
The concierge service is ok, but they did forget to call us back once and we did have to wait twice for about 20-30 minutes for our tours (but this is not the fault of the hotel - it was the same travel agency). The delay was explained to be due to heavy traffic...
Laundry/dry-cleaning was very professional, they if took out a tiny stain that I had on my suit and that I didn't show them.
Housekeeping wasn't on the best level - we left the sign "Please, make up our room" a few times at breakfast and didn't get it serviced until late in the afternoon.
Overall, I have a good impression of the hotel and the staff (especially the staff) and I would definitely recommend this hotel if you decide to visit Rio.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mekvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

I thank you for your feedback. Am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana and that you appreciated the friendliness of our team and our restaurants.
I am sorry to hear that your room was not cleaned in the morning, when asked. I will certainly pass your feedback onto the Executive Housekeeper.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, allowing to create some more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro.

With my best regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

For an international city with such appeal, beauty and miles of spectacular beaches, one would expect to be "wowed" by hotels in Rio. Not so. I own a travel company, and recently inspected several hotels. Since my only prior experience was at Caesar Park in Ipanema (which - aside from its location - is mostly disappointing), I looked forward to staying at the Sofitel. My impression: it's better than many others in the city - which isn't saying much.

What I liked: the balcony (many hotels don't have them); the view (although the view from many of the rooms is probably not very good); the location (at the confluence of Copacabana and Ipanema); shower (great rainshower); comfortable bed (with pillow menu) ...

What was just okay: breakfast (nothing special - but the fruit was wonderful); room size (smallish - but you don't get big rooms in Rio); service (no complaints - but nothing was stellar); ...

What I didn't like: first impression: nothing about the hotel give you a sense of place; it's dark and corporate-like; nothing is bright and colorful (as you'd expect from such a colorful city); lobby ceiling is low; staff uniforms are brown ...

My room was complimentary, but the rates (like everywhere in Rio) are outrageous. Still, Rio is one of the most beautiful and compelling cities in the world!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's oriented toward Copacabana - not the other direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Bonjour and thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will certainly assist me in improving our overall service level.
I am glad, however, that you enjoyed our great location and room.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#43 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,739 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,450 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#84 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
45 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#78 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,421 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#124 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing