We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been a 5!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #70 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Eu, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Could have been a 5!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed only 1 night at this hotel.... Excellent location, very well designed rooms (like most Sofitel's I stayed at). Unfortunately we had several issues.

The plus
- staff very professional
- excellent location
- well designed rooms
- outstanding view from our room and pool

The minus:
- The AC system made a dripping noise all night
- we could hear the bases from the nightclub located below the hotel
- the cover on the bed should be used in IcelanFd not Rio
- matress too soft in my opinion.
- the Sofitel beach is located near a fish market and the smell makes it difficult to stay. There is a gas engine that pumps fresh water but makes a horrible noise. You are better of going to Ipanema for the beach.

Room Tip: 616 has a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Bonjour. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Copacabana Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the Maintenance situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I am taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best Regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    716
    320
    145
    96
See reviews for
307
855
136
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm,Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The location is very good and most of the common areas of the hotel are very well kept while our room could have benefitted from some minor refurbishments.
On the positive side:
+ free beach service, chairs, towels, mineral water, fruit etc.
+ two great pools, meaning you can enjoy both morning and afternoon/ evening sun which is quite unique for Rio hotels as the sun hides behind the hills relatively early
+ lots of staff all being friendly and most of them multi lingual
+ fitness center (being more like a complete sportsclub)
+ room amenities being top of the line from Occitaine
+ we had a late flight out of Rio but could still enjoy a full day at beach and pools before freshening up in the showers of the fitness center
+ main bar has a wonderful view over Copacabana and the Sugar Loaf

Negative
- food at the pool bar did not match our expectations at two occasions
- info provided by concierge about travelling time to the airport (GIG) turned out to be completely wrong, even as we specifically asked if a Friday evening could mean longer time than usual she insisted one hour should be more than enough...the actual 1h 45 min almost made us miss our flight.

But to summarize we would absolutely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: If possible make sure you have room facing the Ocean. As the first floors of the hotel are common ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Bonjour. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the Restaurant and Concierge situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I am taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed for three nights and from check in where smiles and helpfulness abound, and why not when you are on the corner of Copacabana and Ipamena Beaches! so a wonderful position to people watch and wander around.
Rooms, very good, clean and well maintained with a good response from maintenance with a query on the a/c. It was us!!
Restaurant for breakfast, excellent with great viewpoints, although I did have to ask for fresh cutlery when each plate was used. I do not use a used breakfast knife for marmalade, especially in a 5* hotel.
Concierge and front desk really helpful for restaurants and tours.
Would I stay here again? Definitely

Room Tip: All deluxe rooms are sea facing, but just double check that you are not in the middle section as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Here in Jan 2014 and had a deluxe room,315
There was nothing deluxe about it. Smell of damp, maybe due to bad AC filter maintenance or building structure. No bath. Outer patio door very difficult to slide. Room generally feels dated and tired as with the rest of the hotel. Brown switches everywhere against brown fittings, difficult to see and to know what switch was for what light.
One small bottle of complimentary of water in the room each day was miserly, especially considering the climate.
Maybe it was deluxe because it had a view of the "Beach". It is just a beach and I have seen better!!
Atlantic dining area poor, staff insist on greeting you with "Bonjour", it is Brazil and the language is Portuguese. This doesn't happen in London hotels of this chain.
Staff are dis-organised and slow in clearing tables at breakfast. Staff cannot use handles on cups to lift them, they grasp the cup around the rim, what is the handle for!!
Whole hotel looks tired and drab and in need of refurbishment.
There needs to be a better liaison between Regent Seven Seas Cruises and the hotel regarding the timing of embarking and dis-embarking passengers.
All staff that we met throughout the hotel were friendly, polite and helpful, especially the front of house, around the pools and the fitness centre.
Front of house especially were mostly trio-lingual, very impressive
I would like to see a British newspaper print-out along with those from France and USA in the foyer.
The facilities allowed to guest in the fitness centre between 1200 check out and transfer to airport was most welcome and a good consideration for the guests.

Room Tip: Wait until you hear about a refurbishment being completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golliwogMojacarSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Bonjour. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the Restaurant and Maintenance situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I am taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Best regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Perfect service, nice, even though "old fashioned" rooms with direct access to the Copacabana beach - including the Sofitel beach service. Excellent breakfast, great lounge and perfect spot to begin the experience to Rio de Janeiro.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SpotReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. We are glad to read about your Magnifique stay with us.
We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best regards, Frédéric Ribault,Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel is very expensive and my room (Double room) was very small and old, with an old red moquette on the floor. The position is good but you can have a better stay other hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuniorVicePresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback and choosing Sofitel Rio de Janeiro . We are sorry about the issues encountered. Please believe that it is our priority to satisfy all of our guests and deliver a Magnifique service and experience throughout your stay with us. We were truly pleased to welcome you and hope we will satisfy you more on a next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best Regards, Frédéric Ribault, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The service and facilities at the Sofitel on Copacabana beach are some of the best I have experienced.
The staff were all helpful, they spoke many languages (to varying degrees) - I heard portuguese, spanish, french and english. Free still or sparkling water was replenished in my room throughout the day, and was provided poolside or on the beach. A complementary fruit salad was delivered poolside or on the beach at lunchtime. I was offered fresh towels in the room at least once during the day aside from the morning servicing.
Location-wise, the hotel is right on the beach and rooms have small balconies with 2 chairs (some rooms overlook the beach and others the pool in the back). The rooms are not massive but more than adequate - I had a large bed, flat screen TV, massive armchair, desk and desk chair. The bathroom had a waterfall shower head (water pressure was not the best) - no bath in my room (but too hot for a bath anyway).
There were 2 small-ish pools - with deckchairs surrounding to catch the morning and then afternoon sun. There were deckchairs, umbrellas and towels on the beach as well. The food was good - drinks were perhaps a little pricey, but that comes with the quality of the hotel.
I will most definitely go back to the Sofitel in Copacabana.

Room Tip: I selected a beach view which I recommend. This had mid-day sun only, but that was all I needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieeballantyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. Indeed we are perfectly located in famous Copacabana and a few minutes from the most trendy neighborhood in Rio, Ipanema. I am very glad to read about your magnifique stay with us. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best regards, Frédéric Ribault,Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#36 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#81 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#60 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#15 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Property: Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing