We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #76 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 11 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
1  Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Sofitel Copa is an old style 80s massive concrete structure. A lot construction going on inside. I am alergic, Mold, humidity were in the room, floors, Ceilings, toilets. Location great - stay outside

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Copacabana Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the Housekeeping situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best Regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel is located across the street from Copacabana Beach and has a beautiful view of Sugar Loaf, and it may have been a premium hotel at one time, but it is tired and in need of TLC. The public areas and rooms are clean, but carpets are tattered, grout is missing between tile, cement broken off here and there. Our room was oozing water and felt soggy between the bathroom and mini-refrigerator. Not sure where the moisture was coming from, but we had to keep a towel on the floor to absorb the puddle.

The registration and guest relations staff were nice and helpful, but issues reported never got addressed.

We also encountered communication difficulties in the restaurant and bar. Even trying to order things that were on the menu, most of the wait staff were not proficient in English. We don't expect everyone in the world to speak English, but a hotel that is catering to American tourists (a large pre-cruise group booked on Regent Seven Seas) should at least be able to take orders or items listed on their own menu in English.

Our stay was for three days in January 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Bonjour. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Copacabana Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations – neither do ours - so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I am taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The high standards set by this delightful hotel would be hard to beat. They provided one of the best buffet breakfasts we've had anywhere in the world. In particular the fruit was awesome. The dining room overlooking the beach is the perfect eating venue. Our room had a balcony looking out to sea along the beach, with stunning views. Our room was excellent. The swimming pools were good, though getting a sun chair wasn't easy. However, I have no complaints. I'd love to go back there sometime.

Room Tip: Sea facing, 3rd floor or higher. Pool facing are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. I am very glad to read about your Magnifique stay with us. It is our goal to satisfy all of our guests needs and always a pleasure to read that it has been reached. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best Regards, Frédéric Ribault, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

No advertising necessary for this nugget. Air France crews are on contract here. Need I say more? No hyperbole, no false advertising…heck…they don’t need advertising…the high-velocity service sells itself via word of mouth. Heavenly comfort surrounded by sights and smells of all that is celestial. Breakfast sets the bar for innkeepers world-wide! Palmer Innkeepers take note!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. I am very glad to read about your “Magnifique” stay with us. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro, Best regards, Frédéric Ribault Hotel Manager “

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed only 1 night at this hotel.... Excellent location, very well designed rooms (like most Sofitel's I stayed at). Unfortunately we had several issues.

The plus
- staff very professional
- excellent location
- well designed rooms
- outstanding view from our room and pool

The minus:
- The AC system made a dripping noise all night
- we could hear the bases from the nightclub located below the hotel
- the cover on the bed should be used in IcelanFd not Rio
- matress too soft in my opinion.
- the Sofitel beach is located near a fish market and the smell makes it difficult to stay. There is a gas engine that pumps fresh water but makes a horrible noise. You are better of going to Ipanema for the beach.

Room Tip: 616 has a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Bonjour. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Copacabana Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the Maintenance situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I am taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best Regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#44 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,780 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#15 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,285 reviews
Copacabana
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#72 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,508 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,792 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing