We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiting until 3pm for your room to be ready is such a bummer...Great Hotel though!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #72 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Waiting until 3pm for your room to be ready is such a bummer, but 'hanging out' on the Sofitel pool deck (there are two) is impossible to complain about!

Complimentary soft drink, followed by lunch (had to pay for that..) was a pleasure, an exquisite Caesar salad. They also offer a gourmet buffet, R$95 which really looked fabulous - on the first day the main offering was meat loaf.

3pm soon comes round and you can can finally access your swimwear wardrobe and that all important sunscreen!

This hotel has a slightly old fashioned but fully equipped gym, at least forty machines, plus free weights etc. There is also a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and various treatments on offer. There are three gym instructors and personal training is available. I had a training session everyday in the downtime between 'too late to be on the beach' and 'too early to go to dinner' - highly recommended.

We had a really nice spacious room, great view, comfy bed, fantastic huge walk in shower, proper shaving mirror, glass desk with loads of accessible plugs for laptop, iPad, iPhone, Camera charger etc. - just lots of features that are always so nice to have.

Breakfast is a feast of cereals, soft fruits, breads, pastries, cheeses and eggs any way you like them (with Champagne if that is your thing). This all takes place in a beautiful setting on the deck overlooking Copacabana Beach and around the pool, there are also tables inside. Breakfast is popular and can be pretty busy!

We enjoyed the food and excellent service in the hotel so much, we ate in on quite a few evenings, which I can recommend.

It was my Birthday during the trip, and the hotel must have picked up this detail from check in because room service turned up with Complementary Champagne and a Cake, which was a very nice touch - just as well I had been using the gym!!

WiFi is available all over the hotel including in the rooms, but we had to keep logging back in, which is a little annoying.

Around 45 rooms are allocated to airline crew, who exude unbelievable confidence and treat the hotel like their personal club, sometimes they seem to take over the breakfast deck, but this a minor detail really.

This is great hotel in a superb location and we will be back - very soon!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deptforddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,373)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights last week, for work and then for the weekend. As an Accor Gold member, they upgraded me to a junior suite with a sea view, which was simply amazing. The service was impeccable, the room very tasteful and modern and I had two private balconies overlooking Copacabana Beach. They provided a free welcome cocktail in the poolside bar while I waited for the room to be ready (it was ready at 2:30, half hour before official check-in time, so no problem there, although they still apologized for the wait.) My only criticism is the very slow check-in and check-out process. This hotel should focus on improving that, especially as Carnaval and the Copa Mundial approach. But I love this hotel and will definitely stay again next time I am in Rio.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a very mediocre establishment. Arrived early after an overnight flight, permitted to check in early but charged £120 for the privilege. The room was quite small and, surprisingly for such an expensive hotel,had no bath.Apart from that ok.
Breakfast was buffet , very crowded restaurant and unsmiling staff.Food was perfectly adequate.
The hotel is fantastically situated opposite Copacabana beach and that is why you pay a premium.
The pool area was very nice but the hotel has a dated 60's feel about it.
When checking out, we needed a taxi to the port, they tried to sell us the hotel limo at twice the cost of a normal taxi.Interesting for such an international hotel English was not widely spoken, even the clerk in the currency exchange and tour office spoke no English. There must be better hotels than this on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
1  Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Sofitel Copa is an old style 80s massive concrete structure. A lot construction going on inside. I am alergic, Mold, humidity were in the room, floors, Ceilings, toilets. Location great - stay outside

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Copacabana Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the Housekeeping situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best Regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel is located across the street from Copacabana Beach and has a beautiful view of Sugar Loaf, and it may have been a premium hotel at one time, but it is tired and in need of TLC. The public areas and rooms are clean, but carpets are tattered, grout is missing between tile, cement broken off here and there. Our room was oozing water and felt soggy between the bathroom and mini-refrigerator. Not sure where the moisture was coming from, but we had to keep a towel on the floor to absorb the puddle.

The registration and guest relations staff were nice and helpful, but issues reported never got addressed.

We also encountered communication difficulties in the restaurant and bar. Even trying to order things that were on the menu, most of the wait staff were not proficient in English. We don't expect everyone in the world to speak English, but a hotel that is catering to American tourists (a large pre-cruise group booked on Regent Seven Seas) should at least be able to take orders or items listed on their own menu in English.

Our stay was for three days in January 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Bonjour. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Copacabana Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations – neither do ours - so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I am taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#41 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,726 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,424 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#95 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
41 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#116 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
781 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#4 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#37 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Southall Travel, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing