We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only the AC had worked...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #68 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“If only the AC had worked...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent two nights here after a 12 day cruise. The location is superb, and the rooms were a good size. But January in Rio required AC. Not to sound like Goldilocks in the AC department, but our first room the AC was going overboard and there was water everywhere having dripped from the vent in the ceiling. We called and asked for another room. This room was very warm and VERY humid. We called again and were told to give the AC more time to cool down. We did, and it didn't. We called again and they sent a technician who said it was fine. Both of our passports were warped from the humidity in the room, and our luggage was 6 pounds heavier. Seriously. This had big impact on our experience. The property is quite nice. Pretty good gym. Great location. Concierge very helpful in arranging driver / tour guide.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your stay in our property apparently did not happened in the best conditions. I assure you our complete compassion and wish your perception would have been otherwise regarding AC and humidity. We will check immediately what may have happened. Despite all that, we really appreciate your comments, specially about our gym and concierge. We hope that you give us another chance to provide you a better experience next time.
Kind regards,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    712
    314
    140
    94
See reviews for
301
846
135
680
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, perfect view of the beach, room was large and with excellent interior fittings. The rom balcony was of right size and provided excellent view. Special mention of well thought of conveniences in the bathroom. Worth the money we spent

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AshokJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. We are very glad to know that we met your expectations and that we could provide great moments during your stay.
It is really rewarding when we please our guests. We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My second time to stay here, and was even better than the first. The executive club floor rooms are well worth the extra expense, as they provide a lounge that serves breakfast, snacks during the day, and wine and light snacks in the evening. Rooms are spacious and well designed. There is some strong smell of anti-mildew spray, a citrus like odor, that is very strong in the hallways in the morning hours, but this dissipates by evening, and is the only negative about the hotel interior. Location is great - on Copacabana, but a short walk from Ipanema.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranknDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest, it is a great pleasure to receive you once again at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. We are very glad that our Club Millesime floor overcame your expectations. It means that our main purpose was reached, which is to provide a memorable stay to our guests. Regarding the smell, we will check what may have happened, and we apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused.
Best regards,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff are excellent ,the rooms spacious and airy. We stayed here twice in a 3 week period as bookends to a South American trip. First 3 day stay was in a standard room,second 4 day stay in a one bedroom suite . Both had ocean views, the suite's was incredible with a wrap around balcony all facing the ocean .The location was second to none. They are upgrading the building ,I suspect just to keep the 5 star rating. The restaurants were good but more expensive than they needed to be. There are lots of places to eat outside the hotel. This is more of a business oriented hotel.

Room Tip: We prefer ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest, bonjour. Thank you for taking time and sending us your feedback. We apologize for not meeting all your expectations.
We are glad to know that you had a good impression about our staff and rooms. We hope you give us another chance to provide you a better experience next time.
Sincerely,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not your typical beach hotel - in a good way! The Sofitel Rio is a fantastic property with first class service. From the moment you enter, the marble lobby tells you that you're not going to encounter the musty, dank rooms that so many beach hotels can have. The wood paneled elevators confirm that impression. Our room was a very nice two room small suite (as Platinum members, we received a complimentary upgrade) overlooking Copacobana beach. While a little crowded with furniture, the room was well appointed and clean. The bed was super comfortable, a Sofitel trait. Services were excellent throughout the hotel. Paulo, however, deserves special mention as a top-notch concierge. Pleasant and helpful, he steered us to two great restaurants for meals, and helped us on our way to Christ the Redeemer (not as easy to arrange as one would think!). Overall, a great visit, and we would gladly return!

Room Tip: A large structure has been built on Copacobana for the World Cup. If you ask for a room with an oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest, we appreciate your compliments and feedback. Be sure that we will let our Concierge Paulo know about your pleasant experience.
Your satisfaction is our satisfaction. It will be a pleasure to have you at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana in a near future.
Sincerely,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Clean hotel, friendly staff & great location location. Booked a club room but didn't really make the most of it as other colleagues were on another floor, still I think it's good value for what you can get. We also used the business suite for a meeting which was very convenient and the facilities were very comfortable.

I'm returning to Rio in a week or so and will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OFoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments. We are truly happy that your stay met your expectations. Indeed our Club Millésime brings good value to your experience at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. We are looking forward to receive you again.
Sincerely,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#35 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#13 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#79 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#11 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#54 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Property: Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing