We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageously overpriced for outdated facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #76 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Pros:
- location is convenient in arpoador, inbetween copacabana and 5mn walk to ipanema
- gorgeous views if you are lucky with the assigned room (paying extra for thr sea view is recommended if you dont want to end up with a seedy building front view)

Cons:
- facilities are decades old and have never been refurbished. For eg, gym areas feel like horror movie, incredibly old with no daylight. All aeras were so old and dodgy i prefered to stay in the room. Level 1 and 2 wher you have common areas are a disgrace for a so called 5 stars.
- air con is insanely noisy plus they are refurbishing the facade so you get waken up on weekdays early morning, which is intolerable when you go there to relax and you have paid more than 300 euros per nigh for that!
- tv is small, old first generation flatscreen, limited chanels, only 1 with english movies ( even the ibis botafogo has newer larger screens)
- food and beverage is pretty poor anh dull.
- management is not doing a great job as staff is unhelpful. Generally service is average.
- cleaning is incredibly poor: linen has not been changed once in a 3 night stay, glasses were left used, cans were left....
- free wifi is poor.

Overall:
This sofitel is a joke. As one of the most expensive hotel in town, it fails everywhere but on the location. One advice: do not stay there, go somewhere else. As a frequent user of sofitel, being a platinum accor member, i suggest to get the hotel close for major refurbishment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Mr Richard N,

First and foremost, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your stay in our hotel was not up to your standards and it did not meet your expectations. Customer service and satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and I appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with us.

I am truly saddened by the unfortunate experience you had with us in particularly you not being impressed with the interior of the hotel, which we are working on.
Here at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro we strive to exceed all our guest expectations and to provide them with the highest possible level of service and for failing to do so in your case, I sincerely apologize.

I remain at your disposal to further discuss the matter through the email sofitelrio@sofitel.com.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerely,
Philippe Seigle
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable. Nice hotel in a great location. Staff was attentive. Sweet view from the restaurant overlooking the bay and Copacabana Beach. Rooms are not as bad as soon of the reviews indicate. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cypirkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear guest, it is a great pleasure to receive your comments. We are very glad that your stay overcame your expectations and that you enjoyed our view over Copacabana Beach, our staff and our rooms. It means that our main purpose was reached, which is to provide a memorable stay to our guests.
We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Philippe Seigle
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a great hotel in the perfect location. Unfortunately the car service provided does not match the standard of the hotel. The drivers clearly don't want to do the job, are grumpy and will only take you as close to the destination as they want to which means that they don't have to go out of their way but you have to. Take a taxi, it is a better service at less cost.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank GrahamDaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. We are very glad to know that our location pleased you so much.
Regarding the car service, we will check immediately what may have happened. We strive to provide a perfect experience at our hotel, from the check-in moment until the transfer out. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Kind regards,
Philippe Seigle
Area General Manager &
Guest Experience Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visited the restaurant and what a view, excellent choice of food and drinks available from the menu. Staff very attentive and cost less than you would pay on. A London hotel and boy what a view of the beach and very special evening out!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Teacher_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments. We are truly happy that your stay met your expectations and that we could provide a special anniversary experience. We appreciate your compliments on our menu, view and staff. We look forward to see you again at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro in a near future.
Sincerely,
Philippe Seigle
Area General Manager &
Guest Experience Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The most beautiful location probably of the copacabana beach and a few steps away from ipanema. Right in the middle of the of the attractions. Hotels has all the services you may need including gym (not so big), sauna and swimming pool outdoor. Restaurant with french cousine but above all the reserved area on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments and compliments regarding our services and facilities. We are truly happy that your stay met your expectations. Our location and neighbourhood indeed pleases our guests. We are looking forward to receive you again in a near future.
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived on the 16th July for 2 weeks, as I have MND I hoped the access ramp and room would be as described, they were! The hotel is fabulous in every way describable, the views over Copacabana beach and Sugar Loaf Mountain are breathtaking. All staff are so friendly and helpful, in particular I would just like to mention a few names of staff who went out of their way to make our stay memorable, Isobel, Boa, David and Anderson were so helpful. All staff however, were so friendly and helpful, from chambermaids to Hall a Porters and Concierges. Our room was accessible by my mobility scooter and the lifts easily accommodated my scooter too. We will definitely be back to Rio and the Sofitol just as soon as we can save up enough money. If you haven't been to Brazil, go, you will love it and the lovely people.

Room Tip: If you are disabled then you will have a room at the rear of the hotel, but even these have doom vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you for taking time to send us your feedback.
We are very glad to know that we met your expectations, including the accessibility to our facilities, and that we could provide great moments during your stay. We will pass your compliments to our staff.
It is really rewarding when we please our guests. We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Brilliantly located at one end of the fabled Copacabana beach, this hotel offers terrific views (especially from the higher floors). It also offers friendly and reliable service and comfortable rooms (I've had an enjoyable balcony each time). I've given it 4 stars because though i thoroughly enjoy it, I value it more for reliability than flair. One caveat: the view is currently marred by a large, ugly stand built for media events at the World Cup. Clearing it away is scheduled to take a long time.

Room Tip: The "Club Melissime" Executive floor is worth the extra cost ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CraigJCalhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear guest, we appreciate your comments. They are very important to us. We are quite happy that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. All of our rooms have balconies, so it provides an even better experience to our guests. Gladly we inform you that the construction in front of the hotel was built only for the World Cup and it´s being already dismantled. Be sure that when you visit us next time, the view will be incredible again.
Kind regards,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#44 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,780 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#15 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,285 reviews
Copacabana
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#72 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,508 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,792 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, ACCOR, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing