We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An expensive option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #69 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Santos Dumont, MG
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An expensive option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

It´s a clean hotel, good location for tourists. Rooms at average. Service could be better. Sleep quality superb. ( bed , pillows and double glass doors ). French breakfast.
Very expensive choice. Rio de Janeiro becomes an expensive city as world cup lies ahead ! Sometimes is difficult to find a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    715
    318
    143
    96
See reviews for
305
852
135
683
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Itapiranga-SC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

It was your second stay in
Sofitel Rio. Now we travelled with my daughter (baby - 6 month's old) and my wife's parents. The club milesime is terrific. The Best service we ever had. The room is Nice, just a little noise of The air condition system, which is above The room. Your baby was treated like a princess, well, she deserves it. Hehe. Very Nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed here for four nights during a South America trip related to my husband's MBA program. A travel agency booked this for our group, however, looking at the hotel web site and then seeing what the hotel actually looks like is night/day.

Our room was honestly like a really bad Holiday Inn from the 80s. Nothing had been updated in 20 years, I was afraid to look in the corners in fear of what I would find! HOWEVER, when we checked in I noticed there were about 12 categories of rooms. The room across from ours I got a peak of when it was getting cleaned and it looked very modern and MUCH more updated. So, we may have been staying in rooms that were lower priced and were not updated.

The pool I thought was amazing and has ridiculous views. The breakfast each day was fantastic! You could skip lunch if you wanted. The fitness center was also very generous. Hotel staff was 50/50 as far as being warm and courteous.

The location I thought was superb. Right on the corner of Ipanema and Copacabana.

Looking at other hotels on Copacabana and Ipanema, I'm not sure it is better elsewhere. Everything seems a little dated.

Not a bad place to stay, by be wary of the room category you book. Also, the bar/lounge they have is the most insanely overpriced place I've been to. $30 mini pizzas and rud servers. Definitely pass on that!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UofATess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova
Level Contributor
194 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Good Hotel, nice and confortable rooms, in an excellent position at the west end of Copacabana. The Hotel has a nice strech of private beach. just if front:

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabioDaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Only 30 minutes in the hotel was enough! Always stay in Sofitel's group, but this time was terrible! A trully deception! In midsummer, the bigger swimming pool was off, everything in the hotel seemed extremely old, not antique! Extremely used. And the worst, they charged half rate for 30 minutes.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Prisasakisosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed in the Sofitel and booked the Club Millesime floor. The check-in is on the top floor and is done at a desk. We were offered champagne, which was a nice touch on arrival.
We had our breakfasts in the Club Millesime lounge, which is always staffed, generally with two people. The choices for breakfast were not great and in hindsight, we should have eaten a morning or two in the normal restaurant.
The hotel rooms are just okay, with the exception of the exceptional bed. All else was just average. Because we stayed over New Year's, we were obliged to stay at least three nights. We also booked the New Year's dinner, the better one of the two on offer and could watch the fireworks from the hotel pool balcony, which was a real treat. The party afterwards was a disappointment, though, as it was a make-shift dancefloor in a conference room area and we weren't allowed to go to the bar because the other group was there. The pleasure of this was a sizeable sum of money.
The hotel is showing its age. The outside really needs work. The carpets were in need of replacement, the corridors were very dark, etc.
I think for the price, we would try the Fasano next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroAmiCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

The hotel charged me and my 2 colleagues for additional night (which was agreed to be payed by the company organizing the event there). At the check-in the man from the reception confirmed that extra night had already been payed for us. So all seemed to be fine until we found out that Sofitel charged our credit cards with 657,30 RS, each. Then we exchanged few emails with the hotel service but they always "kindly" presented their explanations bringing the conclusion to nowhere… The service of Sofitel seems to be simply unreliable saying not truth and cheating the customers. They have never given us money back. They just "apologized for any inconvenience caused" and wished "best regards." Parody! We will never trust Sofitel. Shame Sofitel, shame on you!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter-diesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#38 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#80 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#59 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#13 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Property: Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing