We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort & luxury away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #16 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Windsor Hotel is luxury hotel located right across the street from Copacabana Beach, and the view from my 24th floor room was spectacular--picture worthy, definitely. Being a stone's throw from one of the world's most beautiful beaches and resting in the lap of comfort was a real treat! By the time I reached here, I had already stayed in four other hotels throughout Brazil, and this the place where I slept the best. The large king-size bed was firm and comfortable; the room was clean, large, tastefully decorated with prints and furniture and outfitted with all the modern accoutrements that five-star hotels come with these days; and the walls were thick enough to keep other's noise away. Simply put, this is a really lovely, classy and modern hotel. The bathroom toiletries were ones worthy of taking home. And this chocolate lover was supremely impressed with the truffles left by my bed at night. The breakfast buffet is varied and delicious, enough diversity to have a different type of breakfast daily if you're there for a week. I am certain that I would stay here on my next trip to Rio.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Prudala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoKawa, General Manager at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We are very honoured for your preference and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Windsor Atlantica.
With our best regards,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager
Windsor Atlantica Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

749 - 755 of 2,728 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very clean and nicely appointed rooms with a wonderful location directly across from the beach. Everyone that helped me during my stay was lovely. The Internet was basically unusable it was so slow, which is frustrating trying to be in touch with business back home. The breakfast was incredible with tons of choices. Overall, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dcurtis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It was marvelous!
The hotel is very good located, at the end of Copacabana. Great view!
Rooms are in a reasonable size, very well equipped. Very comfortable bad, very clean.
Good service, very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giovanni17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoKawa, General Manager at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Trip Advisor!
We are very pleased to learn that you experienced a marvelous stay with us.
We really hope to welcome you again in a near future.
With our best regards,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager
Windsor Atlantica Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Compared to the Windsor Barra hotel, I would rate the Windsor Atlantica with one more star. The location of both hotels is very good. For someone who has never been to Rio before, the Windsor Atlantica located right on the Copacabana is probably the better option.

The staff is very friendly at both properties. Communicating in English is not a problem at all. Also communicating with room service or house keeping services in English is not a problem at all.

Definitely better is the breakfast at the Windsor Atlantica. A great buffet option with a perfect view on the Copacabana if you are lucky enough to get a seat by the window. It can get pretty crowded at breakfast though and if the room gets too full then there is an option of opening up an adjacent room. Just ask the staff.

The fitness center is not very big, but has everything one needs to keep in shape. The equipment is almost new. Unfortunately there is a no-see-through foil on the windows, so one can not enjoy the beautiful view of the Copacabana from the 38th floor. Instead the room is relatively dark with no natural light.

One of the highlights is the terrasse on the 39th floor. The view from up there is amazing! One can see the Beach, the Sugar Loaf or the Corcovado and enjoy the sunset from inside the small pool. You can order a snack or coffee and drink at the bar, but unfortunately the tables were dusty and there is no decoration at all. This terrace could be much more inviting than it is.

The rooms are OK. Nothing special but clean. Try to get a room facing the beach. The rooms are relatively small. Unfortunately it is almost impossible to close the door without disturbing the rest of the guests. One can also hear normal conversations taking place in the neighbouring rooms.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Corner rooms are bigger and have the better view. Try to get a room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foti340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoKawa, General Manager at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Windsor Hotels during your stay in Rio!
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our location and service, speacially our staff attitude and breakfast.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Windsor Atlantica.
With our best regards,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager
Windsor Atlantica Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I just returned from a great trip to Rio and stayed at the Windsor Atllantica. It is a great location onnthe Copacabana Beach. The service was great and the restaurant one of the best in Rio. The location gives a great opportunity for the Copacabana Beach, shopping and reataurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TarHeel810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoKawa, General Manager at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review!
We are very pleased to know that you had a great time with us.
We really appreciate your comments about our Alloro Ristorante!
It will be an honour to welcome you again at our Windsor Atlantica!
With our best regards,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager
Windsor Atlantica Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having travelled to Barra, Rio de Janeiro for work last month, I decided to stay an extra night at my own expense in Copacabana so that I could fit in a day of sightseeing. Arriving at 8pm at the Windsor Plaza which I had booked at the recommendation of a colleague, I was informed there were no rooms available. Internal panic ensued. However, the staff there were very helpful and they moved me free of charge to the Windsor Atlantica. Walking through the door into this beautiful, classic lobby, I felt incredibly lucky. When checking in, I was upgraded to the 30th floor with a wonderful view all down Copacabana beach. I could even see the Christ the Redeemer statue from my pillow! The room was immaculately clean and stylishly decorated. The room wasn’t huge, but it was well appointed with two comfortable beds, a table and chairs, spacious cupboard and smart bathroom.

Swimming in the 39th floor rooftop pool was a wonderful way to start the next day. The views were absolutely fantastic, although it was rather windy with being so high up. It woke me up very effectively anyway, and even if you don’t go for a swim, I recommend going up there to take photos of the scenery.

My only meal in the hotel was the breakfast where there was an excellent choice with a range of freshly squeezed juices, pastries, hot dishes, yoghurts and fruit. The waiters were very attentive and kept the coffee topped up. Located on the beachfront side of the hotel, the view of the sea and islands while you eat breakfast is lovely.

The hotel’s location is also excellent. It is right on the beachfront in the heart of Copacabana. There are some great restaurants within walking distance.

I couldn’t leave a review of this hotel without mentioning the staff, who were outstanding. As a woman travelling alone, I had been advised by a number of locals that I shouldn’t get a taxi on my own at night. As I had an overnight flight requiring me to travel to the airport late evening, I was nervous about the journey and had requested to book onto the shuttle from the Windsor Plaza to the airport rather than get a taxi on my own. They didn’t offer this service from the Windsor Atlantica; however, they went above and beyond to make sure I was on that shuttle. By the time I checked in, the shuttle office was shut, so the staff on reception kept me updated with letters through my door and messages on the machine in my room so that I knew exactly what was happening. Every time staff changed on a shift, every person working on reception and the front door was told of the situation and whether anything needed to be arranged. The shuttle was late due to horrendous traffic, so they kept calling the shuttle company to keep me updated on when the bus would arrive. They had told me beforehand that they thought I would have to pay a little as they actually ended up booking me onto a shuttle which didn’t even work with Windsor; however, before I got on the shuttle they gave me a voucher paying for the journey. I was touched and incredibly impressed by the huge efforts they went to to ensure that I was able to travel safely.

My only gripe was that the wifi was frustratingly slow in my room; however, the good aspects of the hotel utterly outweigh that single downside.

I have raved about the Windsor Atlantica to everyone I have told about my trip to Rio. It is a beautiful hotel with excellent staff, and well deserving of its five stars. If and when I go back to Rio, I will be staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miss_r_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoKawa, General Manager at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for so kind words!
We shared your comments to our staff who are very honoured to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We really hope to have the opportunity to host you again at our Windsor Atlantica.
With our best regards,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager
Windsor Atlantica Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Use this as our base during our 8/14 to 8/17 short vacation in the Marvelous City, Excellent location and readily accessible. Particularly recommended for beach lovers with Leme and Copacabana beaches just across the street. The included breakfast buffet was superb and service, if you need it, was prompt and satisfactory. Got a minor problem with the room safety deposit box and it took less than than 15 minutes after reporting it to be fix by a man in a suit!

We are help wonderfully by their concierge, Renata, discouraging us to delay our one day tour of Rio because of the weather. We spent half of that day strolling from Leme to Leblon (Copacabana and Ipanema in between) along the beach promenade! A once in a lifetime experience.

Security was strict with only guests allowed beyond the lobby. We welcome this for our own safety.
We will stay again on this hotel whenever we have the opportunity. We got our money's worth.
The only thing that should have made our trip perfect is the free Wi-Fi connection on our floor- 35th. It was slow but the connection on the lobby, we found out when we are in line for our check-out, is good.

And yes, this is the tallest building along the Zona Sul beachfront!
Thank You Windsor Atlantica for a wonderful vacation! Obrigado!

Room Tip: The higher your room is, the better. If you can not get a full view of the ocean, at least request o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sh1nyT0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoKawa, General Manager at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on TripAdvisor!
We shared your review with our staff, specially with Renata who are very proud to be recognized.
We really hope to welcome you again at our Windsor Atlantica!
With our best regards,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager
Windsor Atlantica Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#5 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,335 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,450 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,241 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,382 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1020, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-000, Brazil (Formerly Windsor Atlantica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £152 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ultimate vacation on the world-famous Copacabana Beach. Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is the biggest hotel in town and offers 545 guest rooms - 85% of them with ocean view, 36 flexible meeting rooms, two sparkling swimming pools, a full-service wellness spa, restaurants and bars, and beachside service at Copacabana’s waterfront. In addition, the hotel provides an enviable location near, local attractions, multiple dining options within walking distance, downtown and international and local airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Iberostar Rio De Janeiro
Iberostar Hotel Copacabana
Hilton Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing