We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but needs to work on some details.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #16 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you want to be near Copacabana Beach, you cant get any closer! We spent 5 nights here in February, part work, part mini break. Corner room on the 33rd floor had amazing views and was a good size plus it came with VIP check in and check out in a private area. Breakfast is also taken in a private restaurant on the ground floor which was a lot nicer an experience than the main restaurant.

There are some issues with the hotel that needs sorting out. There were a couple of cardio machines in the gym out of order for the entire stay. Its a small gym and a number of times was too busy and not enough equipment, especially with machines out of order.

The wifi in our room was pretty hit and miss, kept on dropping off and having to log in again frequently and select payment choice. This may well have just been the location of the room as within the rest of the hotel it worked pretty well. This did make it difficult for working in the room.

The indoor spa is well maintained and kept very clean. On the roof top pool deck and on the 4th floor pool deck, there are a number of tables and chairs with umbrellas but none for any of the pool loungers.

Towels are provided for the beach but getting them from a bell boy is a pain. They are too busy to be dealing with this task which requires finding a bell boy, requesting towels, signing a voucher for them and then doing the same thing when you return the towels. Takes way too long.

The beach service is a bit hit and miss and there are times when the beach attendants for the hotel run out of beach chairs and umbrellas. When you do get a beach chair, they are over due reupholstering and are downright uncomfortable because of loose fabric.

Room cleaning was friendly and fairly good but a bit more attention to detail wouldn't go amiss.

The concierge service on the ground floor is too busy for the number of guests. Renata was helpful but sometimes you had to queue for 10 minutes at times just to speak to the concierge which is frustrating.

Food served at the pool was not particularly good. The burger from the pool menu is pretty awful and synthetic with really bad burger patties, and the chicken nuggets were so overly salted and tough as to be inedible.

I would have liked to have given this property a slightly higher rating than average but don't think it deserves a tripadvisor rating of 4. It has real potential but needs to up its game.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 2,732 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Arrived very late at night due British Airways schedule, had initial problem finding a room equipped for three adults which was disappointing, took nearly 2 hours before finally settled , following morning excellent breakfast, table by window looking out onto beach soccer and the beachlife was a bonus. Hotel security was up front and appreciated, swimming pools and lounge areas adequate and top floor one has great views. Reception very informative. Would have wished for easy access to hiring bikes and ability to check room bill on tv in room, found a number of items on check out that were not mine and time consuming to resolve

Room Tip: Sea view and above 20th floor as 18 floor building to Sugar Loaf side resticts view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Paying a lot of money to stay in a highly rated hotel does not always guarantee one a good stay. However our stay at the Windsor Atlantica Hotel was perfect. The breakfasts excelled in quality and quantity and the breakfast room on the fourth floor had panoramic views of the beach and sea. Our room on the 27th floor was dual aspect and offered us magnificent views. The room and bathroom were very spacious and had everything one needed. The hotel had two swimming pools - a small infinity pool on the 39th floor afforded one spectacular 360 degree views of the coastline and the mountainous interior. There was a larger pool on the fourth floor. The hotel also had a spa and gym. The staff were exceptional - polite, well dressed and willing. The concierges offered all kinds of help with regards what tours were available and how to get from A to B the quickest and safest way.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayseeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel has everything you could possibly want, amazing views, great location, excellent staff, two pool areas and well appointed rooms. Breakfast was absolutely amazing, Japanese style breakfast or omlettes made to order, everything was there and more. Thank you Windsor Atllantica for everything being perfect, you made my trip to Brazil!

Room Tip: All great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLCanadianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in this terrific hotel for two nights. To bad we didn't have more time. Our room and all the public spaces were clearly five star. We had a view of the Ocean and Copacabana Beach. The views from the rooftop pool are not to be missed. The most memorable experience was the breakfast buffet. The choices were multiple and it was scrumptious. To top it off, the dining room was elegant. We had a window table with an ocean view. We highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The view is great from rooms on the west side. Pick a high floor with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunset1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent 3 days in this hotel. Very professional and helpful staff, rooms very clean, fantastic breakfast, perfect location (amazing view from our room). Special thanks to Alex (receptionist), great, very professional guy with very good attitude . We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoKawa, Gerente geral at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for bringing to our knowlegement important impressions refering to your stay at our hotel.
We are really satisfied to know that our services had gone up your expectations.
Our receptionist Alex was very pleased with your compliments!
Thank you for your contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.

Cordially,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager
Windsor Atlantica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just spent 4 days in Rio at this hotel and I couldn't be happier. It is a luxury highrise at the end of Copacabana Beach in a great location. The roof top pool/bar is spectacular and the second pool on the 4th floor is great in the afternoon when the sun hits it right. The included breakfast is great (try the omlette bar) and is open from 8:30-10:30 which is great. A lot of complimentary features including wifi and beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels. Most of the staff speaks English, security was great, and they have US power outlets in the rooms. Rooms are modern, nice, and if you request a high level the views are great. Area surrounding the hotel is good, couple grocery stores, big shopping mall, and try Joaquin around the corner for dinner. Overall very happy with the hotel and our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for high up rooms with a view, corner rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#5 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,339 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,452 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,243 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,382 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1020, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-000, Brazil (Formerly Windsor Atlantica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £152 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ultimate vacation on the world-famous Copacabana Beach. Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is the biggest hotel in town and offers 545 guest rooms - 85% of them with ocean view, 36 flexible meeting rooms, two sparkling swimming pools, a full-service wellness spa, restaurants and bars, and beachside service at Copacabana’s waterfront. In addition, the hotel provides an enviable location near, local attractions, multiple dining options within walking distance, downtown and international and local airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Iberostar Rio De Janeiro
Iberostar Hotel Copacabana
Hilton Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing