We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but needs refurbishment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Ranked #111 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great location, but needs refurbishment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Ipanema Plaza is ideally located in the best part of Ipanema, next to really cool restaurants and bars where you can just walk to. In addition, the beach is just two minutes away on foot, and it is not too far away from the Copacabana area, so, if you want to see a bit of "old glamour" of Rio, it is almost around the corner. My conclusions are as follows:

(a) common areas: are dated and need to be refurbished. The pool area located in the roof top is "hostel like"...old, a bit dirty, and not worth of a 4 star hotel. The sauna was closed and used as storage room, and the showers were filthy;

(b) breakfast: very, very, very basic, with low quality products. Again, this is not worth of a four star hotel (I have better breakfasts in much worse hotels!). In addition, the breakfast room is tiny...therefore, get up early if you don't want to wait!;

(c) staff: very friendly. One of the reasons (together with the location of the hotel) why I have rated it with 3 stars; and

(d) room: very big, but, again, needs to be refurbished, as it all feels dated. Please note also that, although there are great views the higher your room is, we were in the last floor, and we could hear every thing from a private party organized in the pool area (just above our room). So...we had to change rooms at 1 am, since the parties was supposedly going on up to 4 am. The hotel management shoud choose on renting the rooms located on the last floor, or celebrating parties in the pool area, as both activities are not compatible!

Conclusion: I would choose this hotel mainly because of its location, as it is unbeatable. However, take into account that the whole place needs to be refurbished, but, if you just are going to go there for some hours of sleep, this will be good enough.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor to get the best views and get away from the street noise (but avoid the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanarioViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    501
    266
    115
    77
See reviews for
182
460
81
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nagano Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
224 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

The hotel is half a block back from the beach, on a reasonably quiet side street. I stayed one night on a business trip, checking in late, and out early. On check out the bellboy offered me a fixed-price deluxe taxi, but it's very easy to get a regular cab on the cross street 5 yards from the entrance.

Check in was efficient but not effusive (typical of Rio hotels). The room was a modest size, with comfortable twin beds, and good working space. The aircon worked, but was noisy and not very adjustable; it needed to be replaced. There were no tea/coffee facilities. Internet was included in my room rate (I don't think it is always - check!) and wi-fi worked well.

The bathroom was a good size, with nice toiletries. The bath, tho', was too short to lie in properly - after 30 hours' travel and Brazilian airports I needed to zone out in a hot bath! The shower/bath controls were a little idiosyncratic but I worked it out.

Breakfast was a standard buffet - plenty of choice, fresh breads, plenty of fruit and of course good coffee. I didn't use any of the other hotel facilities, but generally it felt well-maintained (tho' as an old hotel it could do with a complete makeover one day to take it up one star), and comfortable. The staff are pleasant but not obsequious.

As always in Rio, value is in the eye of the beholder. I'd booked through a local associate who got a good corporate rate and I felt it was good value. Having stayed in RdJ many times as an independent traveller I suspect that many guests may not share that sentiment.

But as a good quality mid-range hotel, in the heart of Ipanema, it fits the bill.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Let's get one thing out of the way. Rio, and especially Ipanema, is a very expensive place to stay. Even during the low season, hotels close to the beach generally cost US$200-300 per night regardless of quality or level of luxury.

This hotel is no exception - it's not cheap, although it's not more expensive than other hotels in the area. For that price, this hotel seems right. The location is fabulous, just a block from the beach (close to Posto 9, considered the hippest beach within Rio itself). It's also quite close to a stop on the Metro system, which is convenient for people who want to take public transit to sights such as Corcovado. This location also works well for exploring both Ipanema/Leblon (where the city's best restaurants are) and Copacabana.

The room was fine. Not spectacular, but clean, in good shape, and with good amenities (nice bathroom with good shower and hair dryer, flat screen TV) and a comfortable bed. We had a superior ocean view room, and (probably by luck) we had a room on a high floor which meant we had a great view of Ipanema as well as a decent view of Corcovado. The superior rooms (which are not much more expensive than the standard ones) seem to be a fair bit better, and I'd recommend those.

Breakfast (included) was very good, and the hotel staff was friendly and spoke good English.

Room Tip: The superior rooms (which are not much more expensive than the standard ones) seem to be in better s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is well located : all but a 2 minutes walk to the beach, including waiting 1 minue to cross the street!

The room was nice and had a great luxury feel ; however it showed sign of wear and tear easily (e.g. the faucet was a bit rusty).

The swimming pool on the top floor was small but a very nice touch. The gym seemed to be under renovation or potentially kinda closed for good.

The breakfast (included, which is the norm in Brazil) was a well stocked buffet served in the attached restaurant. It had it all, from pastries, to cold cut, fruits, cereals, eggs, bacon...etc.

We used their luggage service due to both an early check in and a late check out and had great service and full confidence.

The front desk staff spoke pretty good English, which may not be that hard to find in Rio, but can be quite a challenge in other large cities.

The hotel first offered a taxi transfer to the airport for 75R$ ; we mentioned paying a little over 50R$ from the airport to the hotel and the price suddenly dropped to 60R$ (which make sense as taxis are more expensive at night).

The hotel rate may appear too expensive but is well within the price range for similar quality in the same neighborhood.

Overall, a more than decent hotel in a safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincentmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

There are lots of negative reviews for this place, not sure why.

We found the staff friendly and helpful for all requests, porters helpful and ready to assist.

We were on the 17th floor and notified of 2 functions on the rooftop and the possibilty of noise and to call if we heard something - we heard nothing.

The rooms aren't that flash, but clean and functional - cough up the bit extra for a beach view if you can.

Hotel is a little expensive by world standards for the condition and rating, but Rio is expensive, and the location is great...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky_66sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while on our honeymoon. We were in town to run the Rio de Janerio marathon with a running tour group. This hotel is conveniently located near everything! Ipanema beach is just a block away and there were many restaurants/bars right outside the hotel's door and they all stayed open pretty late. Two blocks from the hotel was a main shopping area. We found a grocery store and were able to buy juice, fruit and snacks. There were also a number of banks (a few US based banks) and a Money/Cambio Exchange which provided the best exchange rate (as compared to the airport, the hotel and the local banks). The subway was also just a few blocks from the hotel. We were able to easily travel to our tourist destinations and back with ease. The hotel staff was very helpful and everyone we spoke with at the front desk spoke English. They staff was professional and offered us maps and suggested places to visit. The hotel also has a listing of local tour companies offering local tours. (The tours offered were pretty pricey, so we did most of our tours on our own. We got around just fine using public transportation. If you want a tour group I suggest looking online for another tour companies as I am sure you will find better rates.) The included hot breakfast at the hotel was very typical of most Brazilian breakfasts. The hotel restaurant has a nice patio overlooking the street leading to the beach. It was a nice place to sit out, eat breakfast and people watch over hot coffee and muffins. The roof top pool has great views of the City and the ocean. At night it lights up and is a great place to grab a drink at the pool bar at soak in the atmosphere. The hotel also has a business center. There is a charge for Internet use, but I believe they will give you a free code good for 20 minutes to print out your flight boarding card. This hotel is part of a larger chain hotel called Tulip. The chain is worldwide and caters to business and luxury travelers. They have high service standards, so you know what level of service to expect no matter which hotel in the chain you visit. We later stayed at a sister property in Salvador, Bahia and experienced the same level of quality service. If you want to know that you are getting a safe, convenient and good level of service then I would recommend this hotel. I will stay here again when I come back to visit.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the side facing the street toward the beach be prepared to hear the music comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobeMarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We arrived at the hotel in from our flight at about 10am hoping for a early check in as normally wasn't until 3pm. We got the room at 2pm. We stayed 5 nights. The room itself was pretty good & had a nice view, with the only downside being that the walls seemed to be quite thin so could hear some noise from the neighboring room, when they flushed the toilet, had a shower, dragged a chair etc. We found the reception staff to be very nice & helpful. The bell boys however were unfriendly & do not get a taxi from them as they seem to have some kind of deal going on with the drivers. Just walk to the corner & hail one on the street. Breakfast was good but got trying after 5 days. The rooftop pool & bar were great with excellent views, a rooftop massage was also enjoyable. The location if the hotel was very safe with restaurants & beaches within walking distance. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#29 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#65 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#19 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#74 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#96 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza

Property: Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Address: Rua Farme de Amoedo 34, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-020, Brazil (Formerly Ipanema Plaza Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Plaza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing