We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great " beach" stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Ranked #117 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Stockholm
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great " beach" stay”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location is great, one block from the beach where there is an excellent service with chairs and towels. In the neighbourhood there are lots of bars and restaurants or head for a walk along the marvellous beach for a sunset dinner.
The room was quite big and good with extra features to actually store two bags. The bathroom could do with some new paint.
The small rooftop pool and bar area are an extra bonus and also gives you a great view of Christ the redeemer.
I have read some bad thing about the staff but I have to say that all the staff was very polite and helpful. I liked the breakfast; maybe I hadn’t chosen the name Opium for a restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your opinion about us. Ipanema Plaza is really in the heart of Rio de Janeiro, near Ipanema’s beach and the bests places in the City.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and looking forward to receive you here again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    516
    273
    116
    77
See reviews for
187
469
83
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Its a good clean tidy hotel, yes its dated and yes its very expensive, but look where you are, if you went down the road to copa cobana you would pay more and its not as safe. Friendly staff big rooms good views well located, I will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrushent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the review, which emphasizes our good location and surroundings. We are happy to welcome you and hope you always offer a pleasant stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Warning, I stayed in this hotel, not poor service, looks lke a tourist trap, close to the beach
but price/value is not considerable. I checked out, paid with credit card for 3 nights.
Some weeks later I found an additional amount of ~35 dollars pulled from my credit card.
I contacted the hotel but without response and no chance to claim it with the credit card company. So big warning about the practises of this hotel - I suggest to book another place. I will do so next time I stay in Rio.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guest,

We are very concerned about your comment. I ask kindly to inform us the details of your booking as the date of check in and check out, for instance.

Send us an e-mail or contact our reception management so we can investigate this situation properly.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel stands at the most gay area of Ipanema, that said, if you travel at the high season and dont want to have to explain these facts of life to your kids, just dont live in this area when visiting Ipanema.
The hotel isnt so old in age but it is not well maintained, the lobby is trist and so is the pool area. The breakfast was at that asiatic hotel, I have to say that this was the worth breakfast I have ever eaten, imagine that they had everything I consider that could qualify it as a perfect breakfast but nothing tasted good, they managed to make very bad scrambled eggs, horrible cheese bread. Not to saying the complete lack of charm of the way things were cut or displayed.
The room we got was in theory a Suite, but it was all fallen apart.
They charged 25% for the 4 years old boy since we also had a baby with us, common practices in RJ, but they installed a crib and a single bad by he side of our double bad, so big it was the room. The bed sheets were old and had roles.
Do not stay there you find the same price or cheaper hotels in the area, or live in apart-hotels like Promenade which gives you exactly what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you are just looking for size their suite is big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GissBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guest,


Thanks for the comment.

We work with continuous improvements to better serve all clients, so your opinion is very important to us. Please be advised that we are undergoing renovations and we have already ongoing projects such as the renovation of the elevators, chiller, boiler and redecoration of the bathrooms, as well as the terrace of the 18th floor.
All this within one year.

We will forward your comments to responsible for the restaurant in order to serve our customers with the best quality as they deserve.

We hope to have the opportunity to receive it again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

For some reason, Rio has a lot of hotels that offer one or two star quality at four or five star prices. I guess the chains like Kempinski or Ritz-Carlton, Shangri-La, etc are nervous about building new hotels in a city where the favellas have all the best views. So the Ipanema Plaza is somewhat typical - it's an old, dark building with rooms that would be two stars in Europe and one star in modern Asia or Middle East cities, with high room prices because the hotel is near the beach and close to a range of restaurants and night life. If you're expecting luxury, keep looking but if you're prepared to accept tolerable service, basic breakfasts and old-fashioned rooms, the ipanema Plaza is typical of what's available in this price range.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing the Ipanema Plaza Hotel.

Your comments are of great importance to the continuous improvement of our services.
The Hotel is undergoing a process of reform and modernization of all housing units.
We constantly invest in the training and development of our employees focused on excellence and quality of care.
We apologize for the inconvenience and hope to see her soon in Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

If you're visiting Rio I would definitely opt to stay at Ipanema rather than Copacabana. The Ipanema Plaza Hotel is in an excellent location, close to the beach and lots of places to eat nearby. The roof top pool is small but pleasant. The hotel restaurant has a nice outside terrace and serves excellent food, it also had a reasonable selection of wine which some other restaurants didn't seem to have. The staff were very helpful but one word of warning - a taxi booked via reception will cost a lot more than one you hail in the street. Also, if you ask at reception the hotel does have designated beach loungers and umbrellas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your opinion about the Hotel. Ipanema Plaza is really in the heart of Rio de Janeiro, we are in a trendy area near Ipanema’s beach and the best bars in the City.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to receive you here again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This building must be at least 30+ years old, dont get fooled by the pics from the Hotel's website. The building is quite run down, rooms are old and shabby, the bathroom reminds me of Hotels in Easten Europe in the communist times if 1970's
Paid like 250 US$ for one night, the actual value for such a run down Hotel in Europe maybe 50 $ at most.
The reception staff (specially the male one) is totally incompetent and arrogant and acts as if each request of the guest is a big burden for them. Check in happened without any greeting, just interested in charging the credit card. checkout was even worse, the receptionist wanted to charge my credit card again and only after I told him it was charged/authorized at arrival he recognized it. He just gave me the bill without any comment or greeting, no goodbye any sign of appreciation.
Breakfast in their Restaurant which is just too small to handle the number of guests. Felt like in a youthhostel, staff (dont expect they speak english) runs around hectic and uncoordinated. Food quality mediocre at most.
Rooftop pool is extremly tiny, surrounded by filthy and rundown sunchairs you dont want to touch.
Even I stayed in an upper floor, the windows of the room are very old and not closing too well so you can hear the traffic noise starting around 6 a.m. until late night.
It is a surprise to me how such a Hotel can use the 'Golden Tulip' brandname. This Hotel should be avoided at all cost.
The only positive fact is the location is good, several nice cafes/Restaurants/Bars in the same street within 3 min walking and also Ipanema Beach is just 200 meters away.
Nevertheless, I will never stay in this Hotel again and also recommend my friends who vist Rio to avoid this Hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelKDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion and impressions about the hotel.

We are aware of hotel renovation is crucial for the comfort and satisfaction of our customers as well as for our growth.
We have ongoing projects such as the renovation of the elevators, chiller, boiler and redecoration of the bathrooms, as well as the terrace of the 18th floor. All this within one year.

Your opinion was very helpful for us and certainly will allow us to make better for the next time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#64 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#82 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#23 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#36 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza

Property: Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Address: Rua Farme de Amoedo 34, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-020, Brazil (Formerly Ipanema Plaza Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Plaza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing