We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel with great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #11 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
295 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We booked suite 1801. Luxury hotels are pricey in Rio (roughly $500 per night). Our room was spacious; certainly not the posh elegance you would expect at this price point (bathroom had L'Occitaine, room had Nespresso machine, welcome champagne drink...but tub was plastic). Still it was nicely decorated and the view (bay/beach) from our balcony was delightful. Great buffet breakfast with incredible views of bay included in room rate. Rooftop pool was awesome. I would stay here again. Service was friendly and fast. We used hotel service for return booking to airport. It was convenient. Used prepaid taxi into city from airport.

Room Tip: Given that there were 3 of us, I would recommend ponying up for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    772
    191
    57
    21
See reviews for
358
1,118
120
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

My guests there complained that they were treated rudely by staff. When they had questions about restaurants or activities, the hotel was unhelpful. When they miscommunicated with a tour guide on a start time, they refused to help and made the guests resolve it on their own. The breakfast was reported as very good, and the rooftop pool enjoyable. But the staff treatment of guests must improve. I doubt I would send a guest there in the future given the complaint.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Craignicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Let me tell you why we loved it.

First, the rooms are big, clean, modern -- we had a HUGE bed, large bathroom and a flatscreen TV. Our room looked out at Copacabana beach and the main drag, which, from memory, is the Avenida Del Sol (avenue of the sun).

Then there's the roof-top bar and pool -- which was pretty quiet while we were there. Which was great. Because we had it pretty much to ourselves, and we sub-baked, ordered drinks and splashed around in the pool. (Note, it's only a bit over waist-deep, but that was perfect for us, because we just bobbed down, glided a bit and splashed around.)

They gave us a free glass of champagne on arrival.

It's right across the road from Copacabana beach, which is always full of people playing volleyball, soccer or this weird soccer/volley ball hybrid.

We hired a driver from there to take us to Sugarloaf Mountain and the big state of Jesus... He looked after us all day long, and always bobbed up at the right time (when we were just starting to think "hey, where is this guy" -- bang, there he was.)

The hotel guys did everything we wanted them to -- getting us a car to the airport, letting us borrow their DVD player etc.

It was kind of expensive. But we budgeted for it. (We had roughed it in other parts of the country and wanted this to be a bit more luxurious.) And had a great time. Highly recommend to anyone travelling to Rio.

P.S. The buffett breakfast was brilliant.

Room Tip: I don't know what other people's rooms were like, but we really enjoyed ours -- it was on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Rio is an expensive city and you don't get value for money for hotels. The same applies to the Porto Bay, which is why my rating is 4 stars not 5. Having said that, the hotel itself is lovely. Location is perfect, room was clean and comfortable and yes, as mentioned in some of the other reviews the rooms face a side street, but when you're on your balcony and can see Copacabana Beach in one direction and Cristo Redentor in the other, you can't really complain. We arrived at midnight after a delayed flight and were greeted with a glass of champagne. Breakfast was a fantastic buffet. Rooftop pool and bar is a great place to watch the sunset. The staff were all polite and helpful. If I came back to Rio, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojom999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Rio has never been a cheap holiday relative to the rest of South America and staying at the Porto Bay Rio International will reinforce this. The hotel was perhaps once fashionable but now it’s just old and needs gutting from top to bottom. Our room came complete with mould in the shower and a toilet door that was rotting from the ground up. Breakfast is just ok. Roof pool has a good view but like the rest of the hotel is well past its use by date. The most annoying aspect is they charge considerable fees by the hour for WiFi access…. Just walk down the road to a free internet café..... The place really needs to get itself into the current century.

Room Tip: The best roome are somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I went to Rio from 12/20-12/25/11 as part of an extended South America holiday. We wanted a hotel that had direct views and access to Copacabana Beach. And we were meeting friends there who are also picky. From the minute we entered the hotel and were greeted with Caipirinhas we knew it was the perfect place. The staff were terrific, the room had panoramic views of Copacabana Beach, and the included breakfast buffet was out of this world. The hotel had beautiful accommodations on the beach, but we were surprised to discover that the water was cold in the middle of their summer. But the hotel saved the day! Our friends said that I did such a good job picking the hotel, especially the rooftop, ocean view pool. I said that I didn't know they had that. As it turned out the Porto Bay has an incredible rooftop warm pool with spectacular views of the beach, the mountains, the Christ statue and Sugar Loaf. This hotel is outstanding and perfectly located with excellent amenities. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an upgraded room with the curve windows, it's awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Porto Bay is listed as a 4-star hotel but it is hard to say if the quality standard is really fulfilling the rating. I am torn because the service is great but amenities and interior are average if you counter the room rates against it.
However, its location and in particular the view from the rooftop is marvelous! Being on the 20th floor you have a great vantage point over Copacabana, towards Sugar Loaf, and Christ the Redeemer.

+ Staff
The staff is very friendly and tries to help with sightseeing ideas, restaurant tips and further requests like best shopping, partying etc. At your arrival you are even greeted with a cold glass of sparkling wine that can be pretty relaxing and cooling after a long flight.

+ Amenities
The complimentary breakfast is delicious and offers a huge choice of fruits, juices, pastries, some meat and cheeses and warm dishes. The breakfast room faces the beach and most guests are distracted by the beautiful view.
The hotel’s highlights are by far the rooftop with the sundeck and pool, and the breakfast room on the 5th floor. The room rates are definitely overpriced but this is common in Rio and happens with other hotels, restaurants, bars, and shops. At least the Porto Bay provides some complimentary flip-flops for their guests and a beach service, including sun chairs, beach towels and umbrellas.

+/- Rooms
All superior rooms are facing the side street but still offer a partial view towards the beach. The deluxe rooms and suites have full ocean view but since Avenida Atlantica is very busy 24/7 I highly recommend requesting a high floor. The interior is very but modern but some rooms already are in need of a touch-up after 4 years.

Good to know:
The area along the beach is safe during day and you can easily walk up to Ipanema and Leblon along the shore feeling comfortable. From time to time you might be approached from retailers but they leave you alone as soon as you wave them away friendly. During night the atmosphere changes and you should either take a cab or private driver to go out or to dinner. It even can happen that some hookers and their pimps are lining the street.
Along Avenida NS Copacabana you will find some shops and supermarkets, such as Zona Sul and Pao de Acucar. The most pleasant area is located between Rua Figueiredo Magalhães up to Rua Bolivar.

From GIG the International airport you can take a radio taxi for Reais 100, one of the yellow cabs using a meter for 60-90 Reais (which might be higher depending on the traffic) or a prearranged cheap shuttle service for Reais 15 per person. The company is called ShuttleRio and only services specific hotels along Copacabana. So the trick is to book a shuttle to Orthon Lancaster Hotel and to walk next door to Porto Bay.
This shuttle service’s downside is that it is not very reliable. In terms of a flight delay they might don't check on you and just leave. In this case you either have to call them checking on a later pickup or finally go with the cabs.

If you are irresolute where to stay in Rio I highly recommend the tourist areas at Copacabana, Ipanema or Leblon. Although neighborhoods like Santa Teresa, Lapa or Flamengo are the cool rising stars of Rio you will have a hard time to get a cab during night. Since these neighborhoods are surrounded by favelas it happens that you are even forced to walk or stay at your accommodation since the drivers try to avoid any insecure situation during nights.

By the way prepare yourself for driving experiences similar to computer games. There are no rules in Rio and some cab drivers play kamikaze! So you better buckle up all the time.

+ Scenic views,
+ safe location,
+ attentive staff
+ beautiful rooftop,
+ breakfast included

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor to escape the traffic noise along Avenida Atlantica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#14 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,126 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#15 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#47 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing