We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Pleasant Beachfront Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #20 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Having been a little underwhelmed by the Porto Bay's sister hotel in Buzios, our faith in the chain was restored by a short two night stay in Rio.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (this seems to be a Porto Bay hallmark) and the room was nicely sized and very comfortable, with wrap around windows with spectacular views down the Copacabana that entranced us by day and night (although late afternoon can be a little greenhouse-like). The air conditioning has a an annoying setting that only goes down to 18 degrees, and a strange ventilation grille that restricts the flow of air unnecessarily. A quick tinkering with this enabled full flow to be restored and this made all the difference at night to a good sleep.

Breakfast was very pleasant, with a good selection of food and drink (though no egg station, perhaps because of space constraints) and there was a nice deck on the 20th floor with great views again, although the pool was not really much more than a paddling pool as too small to swim in.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for a high room to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Grand_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Client,

On behalf of the Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay, especially about our staff. We will be informing all the staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further. All your information are very important for the improvement of our services, we are passing the points you highlighted to our maintenance manager, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warms Regards from the Porto Bay team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

The only reason I gave this hotel an overall 4 is because you have to pay for wifi and its not great. Kicks you out constantly but apart from that. I loved it here. The rooms are great really big with everything you need. The balcony looked right onto the beach so we had a great view of stevie wonder on Xmas day night. The pool is really relaxing and great views. Good was great staff couldn't do enough. We paid 600 pounds for 3 nights as stayed 24 to 27 December so a more expensive time. But worth it for location and amenities. Defo stay here

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor. In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments. Certainly we have a great location for the shows that happen on Copacabana´s beach, and we are glad you could enjoyed!

We were delighted to have you as guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

THE GOOD:
The location of this place is ideal to enjoy Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon.
There is a Bike station right outside and it's very near Copacabana Palace which is "the" hotel in Rio.
The rooms are a hit or miss, if you are lucky they are large and have a great layout (I don't remember our number but the ones on the corner, to the right of the elevator are my favorite, unless you can afford the sea view).
All the rooms have a small terrace, so working, eating or reading there is pretty nice.
People working at this hotel are great! In particular the bellmen.
The breakfast is amazing and the breakfast area has a great view of the ocean.
The hotel is very clean.


THE BAD:
The hotel is a little old, but let's face it, there are no good hotels in Rio. The best hotels are Fasano if you can pay the rates or St Teresa if you want to be away from the beach. Copacabana is the best compromise but doesn't offer the same value of Porto Bay, considering breakfast and rate.
The beach right across the hotel, which is the hotel's beach is not the best one. However we rented a Samba bike and rode to Arpoador every day to the beach, this was our favorite beach.
If you don't get the the right room, the hotel is just, really just, ok.

THE UGLY:
Nothing really that ugly, except for the elevator, which is very slow.
If you walk to the store at night you will pass by a little strip club, nothing crazy, if you don't pay attention you won't even notice, but maybe just a precaution at night if you have kids.

THE BOTTOM LINE: Great value and location, a clean hotel with a great breakfast. Nothing spectacular or for a honey moon but definitely great to have a good Carioca time!

Room Tip: I like the one right to the elevator on the corner, rather than the ones in the middle. Unless you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

I would like to thank you for choosinh Porto Bay for your stay in Rio.
Your remarks have been carefully noted and we can assure you that the necessary steps have been taken to consider improvement in those aspects in the future.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact me for any request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The hotel is located directly on the beach of Copacabana. From our balcony we saw the beach on one side and on the other the Christ-statue. reat in the morning was the view of the empty beach and the feeling of the Copacabana view. The hotel has 20 floors with roof terrace and pool, as well as a small fitness center with panoramic windows. The rooms are neat and of sufficient size. The restaurant is located on the fifth floor and you can get at the breakfast with a big selection of cold and warm dishes, different sorts of bread, also brown bread, as well as freshly squeezed orange juice, which is more than enough and tasty.. In the near vicinity there are many shopping possibilities and different restaurants. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Youenn255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Many thanks for choosing Porto Bay for your stay in Rio.
We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest´s satisfaction in our primary concern.
If you require any special assistance during your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

Excellent position , great service , good value , fantastic view from pool . We enjoyed our caipirinha's absorbing the view
From the 20th floor pool deck. In fact we saw 2 brides with their photographers at 6pm when the lighting is perfect.
However we found fleas in the bed and in the room. We had a superior lateral side
Sea facing room with balcony.
Good idea to get a room away from the lifts
Especially the service lift that kept rattling
In this compact hotel.
The free slip slops were a nice touch!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linakoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Guest Relations at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

First of all, let me say that I am extremely concerned to read about what happened during your stay with us. Please, accepty my sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have had.

I would like to inform you that situations such as this are not common at our hotel, Porto Bay have a pest control wich is regularly updated. According your information, it will be making a complete inspection once again.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We spent three nights at Porto Bay and we couldn't have made a better choice. The setting on Copacabana Beach is fantastic, with stunning views from the rooms, the restaurant and especially the rooftop pool. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or polite and all the facilities are extremely good. Breakfast in the restaurant is a great experience, with a superb variety of tropical fruit and other goodies and a fabulous view over the beach.

Room Tip: A room with a front view would be best. 19th floor has great views but may suffer from noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Byron28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor.
Thank you for choosing Porto Bay for your stay in Rio and looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Staff was very nice. We stayed in an ocean side suite with small balcony. This hotel is starting to show it's age. One window in the room wouldn't close all the way because of a busted hinge and allowed lots of street noise into the room, asked for a different room and was told they could put me on the back of the hotel (not happening). The veiw was very nice and loved having the balcony for people watching, we were in room 701.

Probably the worst thing about the room was the bed. It was as hard as a rock, I've never felt anything like this in what is suppose to be a quality hotel. Both my wife and I sleep on our sides and woke up every morning with our hips hurting and in my case from broken ribs from an old war injury (ok, I fell off a bike), they were painful for days afterwards. As I told you, they could put me in the back of the building for a change of rooms.

The second worst thing about the room was the showers, not ours the neighbors. Their bathroom was right along side the entrance into the room. When they turned on their showers it sounded like someone was discharging a fire extinguisher inside of our room. This is not an exaggeration, there is no way anybody will sleep in room 701 when room 703 (I'm guesing about the number) runs a shower.

The food was awful, I mean so awful, that though we paid for the breakfast, after the first time, we only used it for getting coffee. We were there for 4 days and sat down in the restaurant for day 1. We also did the dinner buffet, on day 1, couldn't figure out why at 8:00pm there were only 4 people in the place and then we ate the food, or started to eat the food, then we understood.

The only reason we stayed here is the Copacabana was under construction and this was the highest rated hotel left. Location is wonderful, the beach fantastic. People watching great. The balcony even with traffic noise was very nice for eveing drinks, so I gave it two stars, but if you can't eat or sleep well??????

Room Tip: I don't know if all the oceanside suites are like 701, but I would imagine so. So if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cozama1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, we would like to thank you for the information regarding our services during your stay. We sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations.

All criticisms are taken constructively, as they are a valuable path to helps us get our services better.

We hope to welcome you again in the future and have the opportunity to make this next stay a more pleasant one.

Yours faithfully,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,854 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#67 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,447 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,996 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,550 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#29 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £69 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing