We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding personalized service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #18 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding personalized service!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the porto bay hotel for three nights over my birthday. The rooms were nice, everything was clean and it is just a very nice place to stay.

What made our stay fantastic was the personalized service we got: I received a book and a CD as a birthday present, a hand written card and a bag, all that even though I usually don't celebrate my birthday! It was a very nice gesture and definitely something a little extra that they did not have to do but did anyways.

Absolutely delighted!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful detailed review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service and rooms. I already shared your appraisal with everyone and they were really happy to know that they exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional and we hope to host you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    803
    200
    58
    22
See reviews for
384
1,163
121
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The view from the rooftop is amazing...absolute must to go up there and have a drink at night.
The location is perfect becuase you can walk across to the beach, they provide you with chair and towels. Ipanema is great but I still prefer copa cabana.

The breakfast was excellent. The fruit spread is unlike anything I have ever seen. The view from the breakfast room was breathtaking.
The rooms were nice....but the hotel common areas needed a bit of a facelift.

Wish the rooftop bar was open past 10 p.m.

Room Tip: Partial water view is a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetravelbug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We hope to see you soon back in Rio and I will be very happy to welcome you personaly!

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I would like to say only good things about this hotel. I stayed here in May with my wife and what a nice surprise, this hotel passed all my expectations and competes highly with Sheraton/Westin and is certainly maintains standard of Hilton Properties.

I stayed in a ocean-view Suite and what a charming room I had. The bed was comfortable, the shower was excellent and in room amenities were sufficient. The wifi speed was good. The roof top restaurant is worthy of spending time. The breakfast in the restaurant in delicious and have plenty of varieties.

The concierge staff is pleasant and helpful. They will do things out of line to please all the customers; the hotel cars are decently priced and drivers speak fluent English. The only grump I have is about the elevator conditions that need to be improved.

I have stayed at Sofitel Copacabana and I can say for sure that I will never stay at Sofitel again. I would rather return to this hotel next time in Rio. Keep it up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwajustdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review
Feedback such as yours that enables us to reinforce the quality of our service and we really appreciate your all your comments. It´s going to be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Best regards from Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel.
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent five nights in a partial sea view room over Christmas 2013. The room and hotel in general are modern and tastefully decorated. The breakfast features lots of choice (good tropical fruits and juices) and the Christmas dinner buffet was also comprehensive and good quality. The staff in general were professional and the pool area is amazing. For the location and quality of the accommodation (given that Rio is pricey) we felt that the prices were fair. Free welcome drink and flip-flops were a nice touch too as were the little Christmas gifts. Cleaning of the rooms was also good. Overall we would return but there are a few problems we would love to see addressed.

A few downsides: the price of the room excludes an obligatory 15% (service charges and service tax) which is a hefty sum to add onto the already high prices. Perhaps some nationalities (such as US citizens) are used to extra taxes and fees being added on to their bill at the end but it isn't common in Europe and, even though we were made aware of it when booking, would much prefer the transparency of being quoted an all-inclusive price upfront. It's also quite unclear exactly what the charges are and whether or not they are obligatory (i.e. is it a tip or an obligatory tax?).

Number two on my list of things that could be improved: the organisation of the beach service. The first day we were told (by reception) that there would be a stand set up on the beach where we could get towels and sunloungers for free but unfortunately after asking at other stands on the beach we realised that the Porto Bay stand had not been set up on that day... Lack of communication between reception and the beach staff it seems! On other occasions there were not enough loungers for all guests or the loungers did not have cushions. It is important that this problem is fixed as the hotel is a beach hotel and this service is therefore very important.

Third issue: soundproofing. We were unlucky to have very noisy neighbours (who we asked politely to stop shouting in the hallway but who, unfortunately, did not oblige) but in general the rooms are not well soundproofed. The door in particular is quite flimsy.

Fourth point: We appreciated that we were able to access a room to shower in on our last day after check-out before our flight however when we called the day before check-out to ask about availability for a late check-out we were told to call back on the morning of our last day (although it would appear that reception would already have known at that point that the room was indeed already booked so we could not check out late). This was quite inconvenient as we didn't know until a few hours before whether we could have the room for an extra few hours or not. We also received phonecalls on several mornings around 8/9am (waking us) to tell us that our rep/transfer was waiting in reception (wrong room). It seems that reception wasn't so organised about these things.

These issues wouldn't discourage me from coming back but if there were remedied I certainly wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

All your informations are very important for the improvement of our services , focusing on making each stay the best experience to our guests .
We really appreciate your constructive comments, because feedback such as yours truly enables us to reinforce the quality of our Standards. We hope to welcome you again in the future and have the opportunity to make this next stay a more pleasant one.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We extended our South American tour for an additional two days in Rio. We used Trip Advisor to book Porto Bay and could not be more satisfied. The high level room with balcony gave us a phenomenal view of Copacabana Beach and beyond. The newly redone pool on the top level was awesome. The bathrooms were a little small. However, the best kudos go to its staff. Each person could not be more helpful and pleasant. Particularly, thanks goes to Rosana who answered every question at the desk and gave us a wonderful Italian restaurant suggestion nearby and a Bosa Nova bar experience.

Room Tip: Higher levels better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MHKLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful detailed review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about the service from our front office staff, especially the one you mentioned, was a pleasure to have you staying with us. Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. Stayed over Christmas in 2 rooms at the front of the hotel with balconies with fantastic views of Copacabana. Reception staff are excellent and housekeeping was superb. The suite 1201 was very spacious and light. Breakfast buffet and staff also very good.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front with number ending in 01, 02 or 03 on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayfarersAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our services. We will be informing her of your positive observations to motivate her even further. We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

What a wonderful hotel in a wonderful location. We cannot say enough about our stay. We had an oceanview room and every morning we woke up and opened the shades to see the full view of the ocean!!

We cannot say enough about the staff at the Porto Bay Hotel - they are all very special people.

Our daughter had to make a trip to the emergency room and the general manager of the hotel drove us there --- where else would this happen!?!?! They were all so caring for our daughter - it was very special and made us feel like family.

The renovated pool area is spectacular -- all wood and glass -- beautiful.

We will definitely go back to the Porto Bay for a visit!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMAlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our service. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast. Also, I would like to thank you for your lovely comment about the staff. It's very important for us the well-being of our guests. We will be informing all the staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,661 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#22 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,878 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,273 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,176 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing