We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location beach front lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Excellent location beach front lovely staff”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent three nights here and can't fault the location, the room, the meals or the reception staff. We had a suite (601) and the verandah was a lovely addition to the large room (with huge bedroom but very small bathroom!). The hotel is right opposite the beach about 50 metres from the famous Copacabana Palace Hotel. There have been recent renovations to the swimming pool area on the 20th floor and it's very pleasant, however, there are very few loungers that are taken all day. But go across to the beach and there are free towels and loungers there at the hotel's beach cabana. The reception we received at check-in was wonderful having had mediocre reception staff elsewhere. We had two dinners at the hotel and the food each time was excellent, far better than street restaurants we tried and worth eating in. The breakfast buffet has to be seen - fantastic array of tropical fruit, juices, patisseries, cold meats etc. really excellent. The bedroom was clean, bed was comfy, huge king bed, decent pillows but no pillow menu, lovely bathroom toiletries (L'Occitane) and mini bar that was well stocked but no glasses! Room service was a little slow but hey, it's South America! I would recommend this hotel if you stay in Copacabana but if I came back to Rio, I'd stay in Ipanema because the restaurants are better and better shops. WIFI was free and worked well. The taxi ride from the airport cost $AU55 (Radio-taxi)and return (Yellow taxi) was $AU25!! We had read reviews that the yellow taxis were rip offs but everyone we caught used the meter and were excellent value and clean. There seems to be a push to clean up the taxis for FIFA and the Olympics!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your words. It was an honor to welcome you at the Porto Bay Rio Internacional.
I will be delighted to share your comments with the entire team, and we were very happy to have our work recognized, because it is really important to us that our guests have a unique experience with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    792
    194
    57
    22
See reviews for
370
1,149
121
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went for New Years. View from room, spectacular! Service, phenomenal! Staff is super!
Can't wait to go back! BTW, we were there during the busiest period, and the service never faltered! They always were smiling, courteous, and helpful! The best!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room, however I think any room has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it.

We are really proud that your overall impression was excellent, and we are very happy about the comments regarding our staff. We will be informing all the staff about your positive observations to motivate them even further.

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

On our first trip to Rio, we stayed at the Porto Bay. It is well situation on the beach and close to the metro station. The breakfast and the service are fantastic, especially the fresh fruit. Wonderful views from the 20th floor pool and bar, and the health club on the 21st will have panoramic views. Only two slow lifts however.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you in Porto Bay Rio Internacional! Thank you for you feedback, we are delighted you enjoy your stay with us. It is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the porto bay hotel for three nights over my birthday. The rooms were nice, everything was clean and it is just a very nice place to stay.

What made our stay fantastic was the personalized service we got: I received a book and a CD as a birthday present, a hand written card and a bag, all that even though I usually don't celebrate my birthday! It was a very nice gesture and definitely something a little extra that they did not have to do but did anyways.

Absolutely delighted!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful detailed review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service and rooms. I already shared your appraisal with everyone and they were really happy to know that they exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional and we hope to host you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The view from the rooftop is amazing...absolute must to go up there and have a drink at night.
The location is perfect becuase you can walk across to the beach, they provide you with chair and towels. Ipanema is great but I still prefer copa cabana.

The breakfast was excellent. The fruit spread is unlike anything I have ever seen. The view from the breakfast room was breathtaking.
The rooms were nice....but the hotel common areas needed a bit of a facelift.

Wish the rooftop bar was open past 10 p.m.

Room Tip: Partial water view is a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetravelbug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We hope to see you soon back in Rio and I will be very happy to welcome you personaly!

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I would like to say only good things about this hotel. I stayed here in May with my wife and what a nice surprise, this hotel passed all my expectations and competes highly with Sheraton/Westin and is certainly maintains standard of Hilton Properties.

I stayed in a ocean-view Suite and what a charming room I had. The bed was comfortable, the shower was excellent and in room amenities were sufficient. The wifi speed was good. The roof top restaurant is worthy of spending time. The breakfast in the restaurant in delicious and have plenty of varieties.

The concierge staff is pleasant and helpful. They will do things out of line to please all the customers; the hotel cars are decently priced and drivers speak fluent English. The only grump I have is about the elevator conditions that need to be improved.

I have stayed at Sofitel Copacabana and I can say for sure that I will never stay at Sofitel again. I would rather return to this hotel next time in Rio. Keep it up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwajustdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review
Feedback such as yours that enables us to reinforce the quality of our service and we really appreciate your all your comments. It´s going to be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Best regards from Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel.
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent five nights in a partial sea view room over Christmas 2013. The room and hotel in general are modern and tastefully decorated. The breakfast features lots of choice (good tropical fruits and juices) and the Christmas dinner buffet was also comprehensive and good quality. The staff in general were professional and the pool area is amazing. For the location and quality of the accommodation (given that Rio is pricey) we felt that the prices were fair. Free welcome drink and flip-flops were a nice touch too as were the little Christmas gifts. Cleaning of the rooms was also good. Overall we would return but there are a few problems we would love to see addressed.

A few downsides: the price of the room excludes an obligatory 15% (service charges and service tax) which is a hefty sum to add onto the already high prices. Perhaps some nationalities (such as US citizens) are used to extra taxes and fees being added on to their bill at the end but it isn't common in Europe and, even though we were made aware of it when booking, would much prefer the transparency of being quoted an all-inclusive price upfront. It's also quite unclear exactly what the charges are and whether or not they are obligatory (i.e. is it a tip or an obligatory tax?).

Number two on my list of things that could be improved: the organisation of the beach service. The first day we were told (by reception) that there would be a stand set up on the beach where we could get towels and sunloungers for free but unfortunately after asking at other stands on the beach we realised that the Porto Bay stand had not been set up on that day... Lack of communication between reception and the beach staff it seems! On other occasions there were not enough loungers for all guests or the loungers did not have cushions. It is important that this problem is fixed as the hotel is a beach hotel and this service is therefore very important.

Third issue: soundproofing. We were unlucky to have very noisy neighbours (who we asked politely to stop shouting in the hallway but who, unfortunately, did not oblige) but in general the rooms are not well soundproofed. The door in particular is quite flimsy.

Fourth point: We appreciated that we were able to access a room to shower in on our last day after check-out before our flight however when we called the day before check-out to ask about availability for a late check-out we were told to call back on the morning of our last day (although it would appear that reception would already have known at that point that the room was indeed already booked so we could not check out late). This was quite inconvenient as we didn't know until a few hours before whether we could have the room for an extra few hours or not. We also received phonecalls on several mornings around 8/9am (waking us) to tell us that our rep/transfer was waiting in reception (wrong room). It seems that reception wasn't so organised about these things.

These issues wouldn't discourage me from coming back but if there were remedied I certainly wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

All your informations are very important for the improvement of our services , focusing on making each stay the best experience to our guests .
We really appreciate your constructive comments, because feedback such as yours truly enables us to reinforce the quality of our Standards. We hope to welcome you again in the future and have the opportunity to make this next stay a more pleasant one.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,192 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#40 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing