We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but not modern and poor street appeal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #14 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but not modern and poor street appeal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in January. We arrived very late and the check-on process was very quick and smooth. The room had a limited view of Copacabana beach, which was nice. Since this is a beach hotel it wasn't surprising that the room was fairly "sandy" on the floor. The breakfast was great - large and plenty of seating, good quality. The best thing about the hotel for us is the location. It is across the street from Copacabana beach, and in a good spot on the beach for just hanging around, walking the beach, proximity to restaurants. Overall, very good experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mlrstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our room with a beautiful view to Copacabana beach breakfast and location.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    781
    191
    57
    22
See reviews for
362
1,132
120
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Porto Bay Rio in December. On arrival we were greeted with a drink in the roof top bar where there is a swimming pool and wonderful views of Copacabana beach and Christ the Redeemer. Our room was spacious and comfortable.There was a wide variety of choice for breakfast served in the dining room overlooking the beach. The hotel is in an excellent location with many restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Rio. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We hope to welcome you again!

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I traveled in a business/vacation opportunity to Rio and enjoyed very much the stay at the Porto Bay Rio. The people at the reception were very friendly and helpful, the doorman also very nice, and overall we had a great stay there. It was a bummer that the pool was under renovation and could not use it during our 10-day stay, but the beaches compensated for this. Copacabana beach area is great, there was a space reserved at the beach for the hotel guests, which was fantastic and the guys in charge of the towels and chairs were terrific.

The neighbor hotel, Copacabana Palace, is more traditional and luxurious, but honestly I do not think worth the money compared to ours. Porto Bay was a much higher building with an spectacular view of Copacabana (we had a corner room, 8th floor). Honestly we did not have any negative issues, the breakfast was also generous with lots of delicious tropical fruits and pastries. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a nice distribution. We had two rooms and the ones in the corner had a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiyadhI_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, beach service and rooms. Your lovely comments about our staff will be certainly shared with everyone.

Warm Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

You wont find a hotel with a better location than this one! Right on the beachfront of the Copacobana, with stunning views of the water and the buzzing street on both sides. There is always a fun and active vibe in this area, with people running, cycling, playing soccer & volleyball from when the sun rises to long after its set. Our suite was sea-facing with a balcony, definitely worth it for that view! The suite itself was very clean and well kept with a well stocked barfridge. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we had in Brazil and again a stunning view of the beach. The staff were very helpful with how to get around, especially the frontdesk staff and the porters. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ericvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service, rooms and breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel has a great location in Copacabana.
The rooftop is amazing and probably one of the best places to watch the fireworks in the New Years Eve. Really AMAZING!
The food is great and the staff very helpful and kind.
I recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharkcuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor. We are really proud that your overall impression was excellent, and we are very happy to know that you will highly recommend us. We hope to welcome you again!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Font Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent three nights here and can't fault the location, the room, the meals or the reception staff. We had a suite (601) and the verandah was a lovely addition to the large room (with huge bedroom but very small bathroom!). The hotel is right opposite the beach about 50 metres from the famous Copacabana Palace Hotel. There have been recent renovations to the swimming pool area on the 20th floor and it's very pleasant, however, there are very few loungers that are taken all day. But go across to the beach and there are free towels and loungers there at the hotel's beach cabana. The reception we received at check-in was wonderful having had mediocre reception staff elsewhere. We had two dinners at the hotel and the food each time was excellent, far better than street restaurants we tried and worth eating in. The breakfast buffet has to be seen - fantastic array of tropical fruit, juices, patisseries, cold meats etc. really excellent. The bedroom was clean, bed was comfy, huge king bed, decent pillows but no pillow menu, lovely bathroom toiletries (L'Occitane) and mini bar that was well stocked but no glasses! Room service was a little slow but hey, it's South America! I would recommend this hotel if you stay in Copacabana but if I came back to Rio, I'd stay in Ipanema because the restaurants are better and better shops. WIFI was free and worked well. The taxi ride from the airport cost $AU55 (Radio-taxi)and return (Yellow taxi) was $AU25!! We had read reviews that the yellow taxis were rip offs but everyone we caught used the meter and were excellent value and clean. There seems to be a push to clean up the taxis for FIFA and the Olympics!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your words. It was an honor to welcome you at the Porto Bay Rio Internacional.
I will be delighted to share your comments with the entire team, and we were very happy to have our work recognized, because it is really important to us that our guests have a unique experience with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went for New Years. View from room, spectacular! Service, phenomenal! Staff is super!
Can't wait to go back! BTW, we were there during the busiest period, and the service never faltered! They always were smiling, courteous, and helpful! The best!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room, however I think any room has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it.

We are really proud that your overall impression was excellent, and we are very happy about the comments regarding our staff. We will be informing all the staff about your positive observations to motivate them even further.

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#46 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing