We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost There”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #18 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked this hotel for it's great location on the Copacabana Beach during Carnival. It is a great location! We had a suite on the 15th floor facing the Ocean. It is a great view. Plus you are basically in the heart of the beach area so everything is close. We were a little disappointed in the suite. There are rugs right when you get out of bed and they were old and dirty. The bathroom had a great shower with the water pressure being very strong. No wash cloths only hand towels and bath towels. You get many TV channels with maybe about 5 being in English. In the morning they have this huge breakfast buffet with windows looking out at the sea and beach. They have hot foods and cold foods. You won't go hungry. Lots of fresh fruit too. The service is very good too in the restaurant. The reception desk in the lobby is fully staffed and they are very accommodating. On the top floor they have their pool. The pool is really small and not deep. It's just for getting wet. No swimming takes place. They do have some great lounge chairs that are very comfortable. There is also a bar up there where you can get a drink. At the bar in the lobby they have half priced drinks from something like 5-8 pm. No one is there even with this special and it looks depressing siting in this area. Unfortunately this isn't a 5 star hotel. Maybe a 4. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning works great. Also Wi-Fi was free and it worked great. If they worked on some room maintenance issues it would have been right up there. Also be aware they have coffee pods on the desk and a machine to brew them. When I got my final bill we were charged for every pod. At the price we were paying this should have been free. I know the mini-bar costs money but coffee? 99% of the places give you free coffee. Come on??

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has great sea and beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Southjerseywalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. We greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding the suites and the charge for coffee at the minibar.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!

Warm Regards from Rio de Janeiro!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights during our Rio trip in March. We got upgraded to the 19th floor upon checking in because although we paid for 8 nights, we didn't get there until the 3rd night, so we missed 2 nights that we paid for. Anyway, I'm glad we got the room we were in because we had the view of the ocean (although not a direct view) and we got a view of the Corcovado hill and could see the Christ the Redeemer statue.

The 20th floor was the pool and bar area. I was so surprise at how small the "pool" was. It looked mored like a jacuzzi. I didn't get to go in the pool, but it looked like it was only 2ft deep haha. The lounge area was nice. It looked pretty chic.

Service was great. Everyone was really nice and room service was fast. The location is great too. If you go around the corner, the street behind has some cafes and food places, souvenir stores and a cambio, a place to exchange money. If you walk the next block over, there's a bar and some more restaurants. They do have a mall, Rio Sul, but it's a little walk from the hotel. You have to walk under the tunneled bridge, which get a little sketchy at night. So if you want to walk to the mall, do it in broad day light.

They has a free samba concert on the beach which was almost right in front of the hotel. You can walk along the street on Sundays because the close the other side of the road.

They also have a daily buffet breakfast from 6a-10a, if you pay extra for it. Great selection and great view from the restaurant. The only thing is, they serve pretty much the same food, but still good.

Overall, great place. The only reason why I gave it a 4 was because there were some maintenance they could work on. Like some chipped paints on the wall. An area in the shower roof was a bit dusty. Although, I do have to comment on their shower. The shower head was like jet stream so it was a perfect amount of pressure! They also only have 2 elevators and 1 service elevator and the elevators were super tiny.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our staff service that's always trying our best to assist all the guests with their doubts and their needs. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the up grade and the service from our staff. It's very important for us the well being of our guests.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact me for any request.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 and there were 7 of us with 3 in 1 room and 2 per room in the other 2 rooms.

Although rooms are good standard, but when you put an extra bed in them you cannot swing a cat in there.

Hotel has a great rooftop bar which we used practically every evening there is Dj that plays Thu - Sun and it's not too expensive and greate sea breeze and views.

Please be warned this hotel has a very odd policy if you have a double room and there are 2 of you staying in that room you are not allowed to bring friends/guests back to you room and if this happens to be late night guests its a definite NO NO.

Hotel is situated half way down Copacabana beach and it's stone throw away from great bars and restaurants.

Staff in the hotel are very friendly and gave us great tips and booked most of our excursions.

Pool is on the roof top and is very small you can swim it in 3 strokes, but nonethless sun loungers and beds by the pool make it a relaxing place.

When we stayed there was no Gym in the hotel but 1 was being built above the rooftop.

Room Tip: There are 2 types of rooms - ask for deluxe room they have extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vik t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for sending your comments. We read carefully all the issues you pointed out and we assure you that we will take the necessary corrections and improvements.

We would like to have another opportunity at the Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
to present our services once more, so that we could rebuild an impression matched to
the standards mostly our guest usually experience.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to host you again in a near future.

With best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I chose the hotel based on location, gym & pool....Unfortunately, as a previous reviewer commented the gym was being renovated.... the pool area although renovated is soul-less....and the bar just as bad.

After reading previous reviews we booked a suite and were allocated a room with a large balcony on the 10th floor. The floor common areas (corridors etc..) clearly need renovating, as do the lifts....all are showing many signs of age. The suite itself was large, but very dated....old bathroom, old wardrobes....with barely any effort to furnish the room. It just felt empty....although the view of Copacabana is amazing from the balcony.

On the positives...the location near the end of Copacabana beach is excellent....and access to the beach is simply a short walk across the road infront of the hotel.

The breakfast was the highlight, excellent with a huge selection of hot and cold food, with the waiters also providing good service.....as we found with the reception, where we always were greeted with a smile.

Paying approx BRL1100 per night I would have expected far more....and in addition booking through the hotels website and not being informed about the gym being renovated, is disappointing.

It was expensive, the hotel needs far more renovating...but the service was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireViking7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

All your informations are very important for the improvement of our services , focusing on making each stay the best experience to our guests .
We really appreciate your constructive comments, because feedback such as yours truly enables us to reinforce the quality of our Standards. We hope to welcome you again in the future and have the opportunity to make this next stay a more pleasant one.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Having previously stayed, several times, at Porto Santa Maria and Cliff Bay Hotels in Madeira (both excellent) we decided to select their sister hotel, Porto Bay Rio International when staying in Copocabana, This hotel is in the perfect location and we had a lovely room overlooking the beach, Cleanliness, comfort and facilities are all 100%. The breakfast is as good as you willl find in any excellent European hotel. The most pleasing aspect of this hotel was how the staff were happy to help. The manageress (Francesca), the gentleman serving us in the breakfast room (Carlos), the room cleaner (Adrianna) and the Lobby staff all gave us fantastic service and this really made a difference. They all went the extra mile to ensure that we were happy with everything.These members of staff are a credit to Porto Bay.
Having free use of loungers and towels on the beach was a nice touch.\
Would we return to this hotel again? YES! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A deluxe corner room (xx03) is a nice choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our services specially your comments about our beach service, breakfast, confort, facilities and our staff. We will be informing her of your positive observations to motivate her even further. We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here during the carnaval time Feb 26th - 5th March 2014.
The service we had from the front desk from a young lady was fantastic..she was very polite, professional, helpful and gave us plenty of advice.
The rooms are on the little side but the balcony made all the difference to us, we loved sitting out there for sunrise or sunset or any time of the day for that matter....well worth paying extra for.
The breakfast was beautiful, not over done with too many items... our favourites were the selection of fresh juices & the good coffee along with more fresh fruit and a small amount of the cooked breakfast...the service was great again!
The only small disappointment was that the gym facilities and sauna were closed for refurbishment...i find that it being closed in one of the busiest season (&the most expensive) quite annoying as we were paying top dollar for the rooms and facilities...although we were offered to go next door...if we would like but trundling in and out of the hotel or wanting to go for a sauna next door is not appealing :(

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a balcony and beautiful views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our frontdesk service, our room and our breakfast. This is feedback such as yours that enables us to reinforce the quality of our service and we really appreciate your constructive comments about our gym and sauna been closed, we are working to have a better and renewed hotel for our guest, hopefully you can come back to see how it is. We were delighted to have you as guest.

Best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My friend and I are at the hotel just now leaving for tha airport tonight.

We had booked a side sea view and on arrival delighted to be given a full sea view on the 10th floor. Lovely room very clean great free wifi.

Food is plentiful and excellent. The fruit at breakfast is tropical different and refreshing.

The staff are extremely helpful and efficient. The service is very good.

The roof top bar and pool are fabulous with feet views and facilities very comfortable and quiet despite the constant busy traffic.

We would highly recommend for a relaxing stay in Rio.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockchickUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We are happy to know you enjoy the food of the restaurant and our new pool area. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,769 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,948 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#68 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,489 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,378 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £105 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing