We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Rio!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Rio!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of a touring holiday in Brazil. Excellent hotel. Spotlessly clean and with great facilities. Rooftop terrace and bar a bonus as views across Copacabana beach are stunning. Breakfast was fantastic too - so much choice and beautiful fresh fruit. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were nervous about staying in Rio, but this hotel is in a safe place and we had a lovely walk around the seafront and side streets in the early evening and it was wonderful! Definitely recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Rio.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the service from our staff, it´s really good to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    798
    194
    57
    22
See reviews for
376
1,156
121
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Porto Bay is located right across the street from Copacabana Beach and just one block away from the beautiful Copacabana Palace. We preferred the smaller hotel for a couple of reasons, price and service. The service and attention to you is 10 on a 10 scale. Price is very reasonable for what you get and the location. Need directions or a recommendation for a restaurant or just need some help with anything they are right there for you...you are the most important think in their life at that moment.
Did I mention the incredible breakfast brunch as part of your stay? Fabulous!
The only possible negative is their beds, they need replacing. The four of us did not sleep all that well. Should this deter you from staying there...not in the least. You will be happy with your decision.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor.
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast, and service from our staff. We are happy to hear you´ve could take the most of our hotel and had a pleasant stay with us.

Best regards from Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel.
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and cannot fault our experience in any way. The hotel was welcoming, the staff very helpful and courteous. They all spoke excellent English and nothing was too much trouble. The gym overlooks the pool and beach and is up on the top floor which makes exercising a pleasure and the roof top pool and bar area are immaculate. The hotel is very clean and the rooms modern, very well equipped and have a balcony with a great view of Copacabana beach. Plenty of very reasonable places to eat within five minutes walk. The breakfast in the hotel is exceptionally good and very extensive and a delight compared to most hotels I have stayed in.
The hotel is a very short walk from the metro station and a five minute walk to the minibuses that go up to Christ the Redeemer. It takes about 30 mins to walk to Ipanema beach and the hotel neighbourhood fells very safe both in the day and evening. We were delighted with the whole experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel overlook the beach but rooms on side of hotel still have great views and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fran578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to qualify us on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased with your compliments regarding our staff, service and facilities from the hotel, it is really gratifying to know that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you very much and see you next time!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very well located on Copacabana beach : take a room with a view ! it's a great location. No traffic noise even on the 8th. Rooftop pool and bar on 20th floor with fabulous. very helpful staff everywhere, gave us a complementary late checkout. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Porto Bay Rio hotel is about a third of the way along Copacabana beach, and easy to spot as it is dark brown when all its neighbours are white. The location is perfect for exploring anywhere in Rio, and there is an ATM in a bank just around the corner. The rooms are comfortable with great views over the beach. The breakfast is great and the staff helpful, as are the staff at the rooftop pool/bar, such as when I had adaptor problems they sorted for me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IPC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, and also that our staff helped you during your stay, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very well located on Copacabana beach : take a room with a view !
Roof top is perfect and modern, rooms are confortable.
Restaurants are ok and services / staff are really good as everywhere in Brazil !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agirlfromparis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we read your comments about your stay at Porto Bay Rio Internacional. We would also like to let you know that we are working on the constant improvement of our restaurants and hope to better please you next time in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Amanda Vieira
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Right on Atlantic Ave at Copocabana it's a great location. Some traffic noise even on the 19th floor but not bad. Rooftop pool and bar on 20th floor with fabulous fresh coconut, top sliced and a straw:) very helpful staff everywhere, gave us a complementary late checkout. Great breakfast and the restaurant is very good. The room isn't the biggest but it's big enough and a good bathroom and shower. The bed is very comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dizlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your kind words. It was an honor to welcome you at the Porto Bay Rio Internacional.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Porto Bay, I will be delighted to share your comments with the entire team, and we were very happy to have our work recognized, for it is really important to us that our guests have a unique experience with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Amanda Vieira
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,854 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,360 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,215 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#34 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,072 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing