We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was nice, but the price was high for "nice".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Ranked #42 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at Caesar Park for 5 nights. The hotel is nice, good location, easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. The Impanema beach is right across the street, and is all that is hyped to be. The pool on the rooftop is small, but that seems to be the norm in Rio, which is very beach orientated. However the set up is a little weird as you need to go through the breakfast area to access the pool, and in the morning the pool area is utilized as a dining area.
Breakfast was included in the room, after a "discussion" with the front desk. It was clearly stated on our reservations that breakfast was included, but the front desk tried to skip that part when checking us in. The buffet was very good, nice selection and varied choices.
The lobby is impressive, the gym and its showering facilities need remodelling.
The rooms... ah the rooms. Given the price paid for a room, I expected a lot more.
To me the rooms were on par with a Hilton Garden Inn, though the cleanliness was not.
The bathroom was not "immaculate" and the roach I found and killed (and you know there is never just ONE....) was yucky. The enclosed shower constantly leaked out into the bathroom, and since for some bizarre reason the marble floor tilted towards the door which meant that unless you used the towels to block the flood, the carpet in the bedroom was soaked. The housekeeping staff needs better training. They do a turndown service and late tidy up, which is nice, but one evening before going for dinner, I had left out a map and invites to a gallery. I'd been trying to plan our next days adventures. I didn't realize until the next morning that the maid had removed all the paper items from the desk and disposed of them. We were not able to go to the gallery, and we had received a free offer which was lost. I've read complaints of dirty bedding, old decor, our room was fresh and bright. We had a side view of the Impanema looking towards the fort and it was bright and quiet (except for Friday and Saturday night... but it wasn't annoyingly loud).
I was travelling with my 13 year old son, and had been told that he would receive a treat nightly. Truffles, fruit, cookies, well, that only happened once.
One benefit of this hotel is that ALL the cab drivers know it, so you just have to say the
name and you'll get there, the downside of that is, this is a 5 star hotel in Rio, so watch what the driver charges. Three times, the driver attempted to overcharge us on the ride.
Make sure you are in a metered cab, and the meter is running. Watch the meter, and see what the cost is when you get close to the hotel, one driver cleared the meter while pulling up in front of the hotel, and tried to double the fee.
Basically, this is a decent, relatively clean hotel. Way overpriced for what you recieve, but for Rio that is the norm.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jas11563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear Mr. Jas11563,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your remarks to us at the end of your stay.

Every comment made by our customers is taken very seriously by us, as they contribute to the maintenance and improvement of our standards. Please be sure that your suggestion concerning the remodeling and other items was carefully analyzed.

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Maurizio Romani
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed here on a business trip due to the location in Ipanema on the beach. Front desk service lacked warmth, and was infused with some old soviet style "these are the rules". Public spaces in the lobby area are not bad. Rooms seriously lacking- think 1970's Holiday Inn with an attempt to put granite on the bathroom counters. Musty smell. Restaurant lacking in much choice. Pretty poor value for $450 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globetrekker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Dear Mr. Globetrekker63,


We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your remarks to us at the end of your stay.

Every comment made by our customers is taken very seriously by us, as they contribute to the maintenance and improvement of our standards. Please be sure that your suggestion consideration concerning our hotel and staff service was carefully analyzed.

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Maurizio Romani
General Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Location is great, staff great, service great, breakfast great, room clean, & view great. What more can you ask for in Rio?! Do not expect a low price for a hotel of this quality anywhere, and certainly not in Rio! This is a Rio 5* without doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Bérengère C, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive improve to continuously the quality of our services.

We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Thank you,


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Great spot
had room on 6 th floor over looking beach
Only downside was the Brazilians outside partying all night, even 5 am on a tuesday morning in the rain - still people at the beach kiosk
Suggest get a room high up so you can't hear.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kneemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Dear Mr. Castro,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your comments to us at the end of your stay.

It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and acknowledge that our services were up to your desires and expectations.


Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Rest Regards,

Maurizio Romani
General Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This IS NOT a 5 stars hotel. Lucky for 3 stars.
Rooms are old and dirty. Bed had stains that looked like "blood". Curtains are storn and old. Tube type TV from 20 years ago, probably last time it was renewed!!!
Beach service is the worst part. You are treated as an animal, not as a guest. Forget about courtesy or terms like "good morning", "have a nice day" or "you're welcome".
Bath towels should be used on the floor.
DONT GO if you expect anything like Ritz or similar 5 stars hotels.

Room Tip: Ocean front view, is the best you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SylvioRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Bérengère C, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are acting appropriately to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better you in the near future.


Thank you,


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

There are good things and bad things at this Hotel. The first thing you see when you enter, the lobby, is gorgeous and very luxurious. But as soon as you hit your floor (almost any floor), you can already smell the stale cigarettes. Yuck! When is this practice going to be abolished? Smoking indoors is always garanteed to leave the place smelling like an ashtray!
My room had a very nice view and the location of the hotel is fabulous. But the bed covers, carpet and curtains are in serious need of a change. The bathroom was NOT thoroughly clean when I arrived - hairs in the bathtub, yuck! And there the hairs stayed for the duration of my stay (5 long nights), in the same spot. Meaning the cleaning lady could have done a better job.
On the bright side, the Concierge was always upbeat (I especially would like to mention Sergio - thanks for everything!) and helpful, even with the most difficult demands. The front desk was also helpful, except for one grumpy lady.
All in all, I would still recommend this hotel for the location. Be sure to ask for a non-smoking room and you should be fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2011

Dear Mrs. Ninabark,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your remarks to us at the end of your stay.

It is with concern that we receive your remarks and acknowledge that Caesar Park Ipanema has not attended your demands in cleaness matters, specially the bathroom. We are training the maids better.

Every comment made by our customers is taken very seriously by us, as they contribute to the maintenance and improvement of our standards. Please be sure that your suggestion concerning the carpet, bed cover and curtain changes will be seriously analyzed.

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Maurizio Romani
General Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I stayed at Caesar Park Ipanema in two occasions in Feb/11, as I was working in Rio. Despite the high price (more than R$500 or USD 300 per night at a corporate rate - you have much better hotels at equivalent or lower prices), the hotel`s facilities are average (relatively old decoration in the rooms, small gym) and the service is TERRIBLE.
1. When I checked in for the first time, the attendant decided to give me an upgrade. The attendant next to him (Mari), who seemed to be his boss/manager, was really upset about the upgrade, told me that the upgraded room was "out of order" and downgraded me back to the original room! (the other attendant kept saying the room was fine). This was a room with two twin beds instead of a king, as I preferred.
2. The gym is small and gym staff is terrible. In one situation, there was no air conditioninguntil 7h40am (don`t forget this is Rio in the summer, and the gym was supposed to open at 6am). In other situation, the gym was still closed at 6h50, and after I complained and waitied a few minutes for the guy who was going to open the gym, I just gave up.
3. The second time I stayed there, despite my previous reservation, I had to stay in a smelly smokers room.
Stay away! If you want to pay such rates, you can get something much better!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoaoAGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2011

Dear Mr. João,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your comments to us at the end of your stay.

It is with concern that we receive your remarks and acknowledge that Caesar Park Ipanema has not attended your demands.

We regret the inconvenience concerning the happening at our front desk, we are taking an action in order to prevent this from happening again and truthfully express our deepest apologies. Your preference for King bed is already in our records.

We have an employee's training program ongoing, emphasizing the fitness center opening time and consequently the air conditioner system.

Unfortunatelly we couldn't check your reservation as we only have your first name on your message. But we have 10 floors for non smokers, please let us know in your next visit.

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.


Best Regards,

Maurizio Romani
General Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#90 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,551 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,170 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#7 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,497 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,450 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#81 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema

Address: Av. Vieira Souto, 460, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-006, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £159 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema combines sophistication and elegance to the minutest detail alongside friendly service. Its restaurants stand out for their high-quality cuisine, while its famous international stores are also an instant hit. Ipanema also offers a cosmopolitan, elegant and upbeat atmosphere. Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema is recognized as one of the best places to stay in the world and, definitively, one of the best options for those seeking subtle luxury and constant comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Park Ipanema
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Ipanema Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing