We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service on par with a view of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Ranked #42 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The first of our stay, we stayed in a fabulous junior suite with ocean and city views in multiple directions. What truly made it special was the fact that we could see Corcovado and Christ the Redeemer every night from our bed!!

We moved to a deluxe ocean view room for the remainder of the two week stay. The room was due for updating (furniture, decor), however the bathroom was well-appointed.

SERVICE was simply outstanding. The staff should be recognized by hotel manager(s). From the front desk to the concierge to the housekeepers, they were always friendly and helpful. My wife and I booked several tours, asked lots of shopping & eating questions, and generally chatted with the concierges. The front desk (with manager's support) extended our package stay one more night due to flight issues. We did not have to move as the hotel worked out a rate that was well within within per diem after the package expired. Wonderful folks all around!!

The LOCATION is priceless in Ipanema. You are literally across from the beach. There are plenty of formal & informal taxis that pass by. City bus options are plentiful as well. Shopping and eating is a cornucopia of choices. Even Copa is a short ride away (5-15 mins).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has already been remodeled for best value of stay (until all are remodeled)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alton_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear guest,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema.

It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and acknowledge that our services were up to your desires and expectations.

We are glad for the kind complements.

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Sincerely

Maurizio Romani
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

If you can afford paying for an apartment overlooking the beach, the view is great. Otherwise, the so called "city view" means looking at somebody´s else window or rooftops. Location is convenient for restaurants and shops. No parking space available. My room could do with a new carpet. Overpriced, like most Rio hotels.

Room Tip: North-facing rooms up to 11th floor look over another building, i.e. no decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cbertoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear Sir,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for making your remarks to us at the end of your stay.

Every comment made by our customers is taken very seriously by us, as they contribute to the maintenance and improvement of our standards. Please be sure that your note concerning the carpet was carefully analyzed and we are providing changes.

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Maurizio Romani
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Much better than its sister hotel in sao paulo. Relatively expensive but still good value and service.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourtheplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear Sir,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your compliments to us at the end of your stay.

It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and acknowledge that our services were up to your desires and expectations.

We thank you again for your cooperation and really hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Rest Regards,

Maurizio Romani
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Sadly, I only spent two nights at the Caesar Park and didn't get enough time to savor the view from my window, but watching the sun rise over the South Atlantic was spectacular. The hotel staff was helpful and professional, the room was comfortable and clean, and the room service was quite good, especially the breakfast, which was a plate full of luscious tropical fruit. My Brazilian colleagues recommended this as the best (and safest) place to stay in Rio de Janeiro and I agree with their assessment -- when I am in Rio next, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Mr. Ihpotter,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your comments to us at the end of your stay.

It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and acknowledge that our services were up to your desires and expectations.
We totally agree with you, Ipanema beach is wonderfull, as well as all the Rio de Janeiro's city atmosphere!

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Rest Regards,

Maurizio Romani
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Caesar Park had never been at the top of my list of Rio hotels, but my recent stay has changed my mind. While the location is first rate, it has the atmosphere of a business, rather than a resort hotel. That being said, it is due to an excellent staff, most particularly Rodrigo at the front desk, and Celia at concierge that guests are made to truly feel like GUESTS, not just customers to be handled. Because of the warm hospitality of a truly professional staff, Caesar Park Ipanema is now at the top of my list of Rio hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Mr. Robert,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your comments to us at the end of your stay.

It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and acknowledge that our services were up to your desires and expectations.

Rodrigo and Celia, and all our team are so happy to hear that cumpliments from you. We are always looking forward to the improvement of our standards.

We thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Sincerely

Maurizio Romani
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The hotel does have a good location…but a good location only goes so far… the overall experience has not been good and I’m trying to put this softly . Upon requesting an upgrade because I’m paying with American Express Platinum, they said they never honor that. Upon entering the room, the view looked out upon air conditioning units on the adjacent building with a tiny, tiny side view of the beach if you walked up to the window and from the corner of the window you can see the beach…

I never had hot water ~ tepid, at best…I HATE that! The towels are thread-bare…..The room temperature is what they want it to be…you can move the dials but nothing happens except what they want to happen. We booked a massage and the spa changing room was about 10x10 and I almost had to turn sideways to change clothes between the lockers…it was a total joke complete with plastic chairs in the tiny waiting area that looked out onto a pretty good view if you could have seen through the fifthly windows that must have never been cleaned since the building was built. The entire place was fifthly from top to bottom. The carpet in our room was badly stained, the spa was horribly fifthly.

The charges are unbelievable from $25USD to use the internet and $100USD for breakfast for 2. The only redeeming quality has been the people…except for registration…really wonderful, helpful and very nice. I have never paid so much for so little! And if you have forgotten…$440 per night USD

This was truly a disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linda33701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Mrs. Linda,

I thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your comments to us at the end of your stay.

It is with concern that I receive your remarks and acknowledge that Caesar Park Ipanema has not attended your demands.

Regret the inconvenience concerning the service at Reception Desk and Spa. Our entire team is taking an immediate action to improve it, in order to prevent this from happening again and truthfully express our deepest apologies.
Concerning the American Express Platinum card, we would like to inform that the Caesar Park Hotel is no longer affiliated to it.

Also, will much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further, and verify the air conditioning system of the room you had. Please contact me directly here at general manager's department though assistgg.cprj@caesar-park.com.

I do hope that we are able to restore your faith in our hotel and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Looking foward to hearing from you,

Maurizio Romani
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

You can walk out your front door and be body surfing on Ipanema beach within seconds. The rooms are decent and equivalent to a US 3 star hotel. Watch for WiFi charges (R40/day).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach view. Many beach view rooms are from side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Mr. Nodrama1,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your comments to us at the end of your stay.

It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and acknowledge that our services were up to your desires and expectations.


Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Rest Regards,

Maurizio Romani
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#90 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,551 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,170 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#7 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,497 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,450 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#81 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema

Address: Av. Vieira Souto, 460, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-006, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £159 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema combines sophistication and elegance to the minutest detail alongside friendly service. Its restaurants stand out for their high-quality cuisine, while its famous international stores are also an instant hit. Ipanema also offers a cosmopolitan, elegant and upbeat atmosphere. Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema is recognized as one of the best places to stay in the world and, definitively, one of the best options for those seeking subtle luxury and constant comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Park Ipanema
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Ipanema Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing