We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Ranked #38 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    605
    199
    75
    60
See reviews for
301
642
97
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have been going to Rio for 10 years now, and have stayed at well over 20 hotels in the city. I am also an Accor Clube member.

On this Rio work trip I stayed at this hotel for the first time having previously stayed at Marriott and Sofitel and a host of other Rio hotels.

The good: It's managed by Sofitel now, and it shows. The staff is very good, and uphold the same high Sofitel standards. The spacious rooms are better than average for Rio. The breakfast is one of the best I have had in Rio. Located on the beach.

The bad: While the rooms are better than average for Rio, that isn't saying much. The bed is very nice, but overall the rooms are not at the Sofitel level. They need upgrading before I would consider this a true 5 star hotel. The pool is a joke. It's more like a bathtub for 5 people. Very expensive. I was there during New Years Eve high season and paid about US$500 a night. Welcome to Rio!

Overall review: Not a bad hotel, and one that is improving under Sofitel management based on what I have heard. But for this price point, if you have the option, go with the Sofitel or Marriott as the rooms are significantly more luxurious. However if Marriott and Sofitel are booked, this is a respectable backup option on the high-end scale if you want on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sampa01425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Ipanema Rio de Janeiro Managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

In my opinion this is not the best hotel in Rio for only 1 reason... it's old and with lots of maintenance problems.

In both rooms I had (7 days at tge beginning and 5 days at the end of december), i experienced problems.

In one of them (702) there was water licking from the ceiling in rainy days. Very annoying!

And in the second room (1302) the bathtub's painting was coming off and the switcher between shower and bathtub needed a screwdriver (or a knife, my wife's solution) to work.

Other than this, the view is amazing and the service (especially the consierges) impeccable.

So amazing that regardless the problems, I would come back tomorrow...

Looking forward for the renovation!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank piernicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Bonjour.

Thank you for your comment about Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel.

We are sorry to not reach your expectative but at the same time pleased that you understood that we are working to improve our installations .

We are glad that our staff services were nice and helpful, be sure that we are going to share your feedback with our teams.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caear Park Rio de Janeiro
Managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

First time there after Sofitel took over the administration. Service is notably better. Location remains excellent, beach service is very convenient and although not spotless, it's still one of Rio's best options. Still needs a general remodeling, but they'll do it after the World Cup. If you manage to get a rate around R$600 / US$300 it's definitely worth it because the other 5* hotels are way more expensive.

Room Tip: Oceanview - front or side, preferably higher than 10th floor not to be obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Bonjour.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel.

I am very glad to read about your “Magnifique” stay with us.

It is our goal to satisfy all of our guests needs and provide unique moments of joy, and always a pleasure to read that it has been reached.

We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Rio de Janeiro.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caear Park Rio de Janeiro
Managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Main quality of the hotel : location in Ipanema near posto 9, in a wonderful bossa-nova quarter.

Other excellent point and not the less : fabulous team of "concierges", always present to give good advices. Special mention to Célia, who guided us effectively during our stay, with a lot of professionalism and always with smile.

Negative point : the size of the swimming-pool which is very small for a five star hotel (and if you compare to copacabacana palace 's pool..).

Conclusion : we recommend highly this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Bonjour.

Thank you for your feedback for Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed buy Sofitel.

Indeed we are perfectly located in famous neighborhood in Rio, Ipanema.

I am very glad to read about your “magnifique” stay with us.

We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Ipanema Rio de Janeiro Managed by Sofite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our room overlooked the Ipanema Beach and had everything that we could have wished for. The staff were helpful and the hotel was across the road from the 'Patio Bullrich' upmarket shopping mall. It was close to the general shopping area as well as the beach. We would definitely consider staying there again should we go back to Rio.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BepeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Bérengère C, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 19 May 2016
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive improve to continuously the quality of our services.

We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Thank you,


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Yes it's expensive but the rooms are spacious and bright with an incredible view - ask for a corner room!
Very good breakfast, when served at the top floor tastes even better. Avoid crowds when staying there if you can.
With daily complimentary water bottles, armchairs and sun umbrellas.
Professional and courteous front desk staff.
Excellent location.
Do recommend!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasadoConsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I hope we can welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Ipanema Rio de Janeiro
Managed by Sofite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#85 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,514 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#69 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,148 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,471 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,400 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#25 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema

Property: Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Address: Av. Vieira Souto, 460, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-006, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema combines sophistication and elegance to the minutest detail alongside friendly service. Its restaurants stand out for their high-quality cuisine, while its famous international stores are also an instant hit. Ipanema also offers a cosmopolitan, elegant and upbeat atmosphere. Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema is recognized as one of the best places to stay in the world and, definitively, one of the best options for those seeking subtle luxury and constant comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Park Ipanema
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Ipanema Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing