We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but rooms has some details that need to be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Ranked #36 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but rooms has some details that need to be improved”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We went one week with my wife . We had a very nice stay. The service is good and the staff very cooperative. Breakfast is great.location is superb.The beach service is excellent. The only thing is that the room is very small and the desk wast deteriorated full of scratches and the refrigerator does not have a proper temperature to have things inside cold. Carpet was with a lot of stains. Room # was701

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro.

We appreciate your notes concerning the room you had, so we can work on it, the carpet and cleaness. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Ipanema Rio de Janeiro
Managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    593
    191
    74
    58
See reviews for
289
623
96
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Caesar Park, Rio de Janeiro is now part of Sofitel since early in 2013. It is managed by Luciano Fontana who I was lucky enough to meet. Customer feedback is important to him and to his Guest Experience Coordinator the charming and very helpful Ximena Salaverria.

Probably the best position on Ipanema Beach with 23 floors and a fine restaurant on the top. Buffet breakfast and lunch and a turning into a Gourmet Restaurant at night under the care of Chef Willans.

Our mini-suite on the 13th floor was very nice indeed. Large bedroom with big double bed and an excellent bathroom with bath and separate walk in shower. The small sitting room overlooked the beach and was very adequate and of course had the views. Air conditioned throughout and free Wi-Fi. ` `
Bottled water for the suite. Good glazing kept the beach road noise to a whisper.

The only disappointment was the hotel bar. But I know for a fact it is being worked on! Amateur I think at best with lack of availability of various drinks one night to the next. Limited but passable bar menu.

However this is a class hotel and it will get better. It is in my opinion the best value and location on Ipanema and the shopping district is just a few hundred metres behind. TRY IT.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mail4paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro. It is a pleasure to receive such a kind comments about our team you specieally mentioned.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Ipanema Rio de Janeiro
Managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We booked a junior suite with a preference for two beds through Booking.com. After a long flight of 13 hours and a very long wait at the customs (oh my God, how will this work out during the world soccer cup) we were eager to check-in. No way, here in this hotel! We told them that we mentioned a preference for twin beds about three times. After a while we were send up with a porter and our luggage and got a junior suite with a kingsize bed. We went back to the reception and said that this was not what we wanted. It took another 40 minutes before a lady collaegue arrived and a solution was found as there were no junior auites left with two beds. We were being offered room 1910 whichbwas a good room with twin beds. We were also offered free breakfast for the remainder of our stay and the promiss they would clean junior suite 805 with twin beds as soon as this would become avaialable next morning. We had a very good breakfast next morning on the 23rd floor. The view from there is amazing. The pool is small but you know that on forehand. The whole pool area seems to be neglected and needs a paint. After a morning at the beach we checked with the reception at 13h30 whether the junior suite was ready yet. the lady told us that the just started cleaning and it would be ready with an hour. After two hours we checked again and were told they still had to start. This means they can't keep their promiss and don't make the guests feel very much appreciated. So, we were giving junior suite 805. This suite was on the 8th floor with a separate sitting area with frontal ocean view which was very nice. The advantage was that yiu can close a sliding door between the sitting and sleeping area and you don't hear the noise from the boulevard. The room was fine, be it a bit old fashioned. Often there were no small towels, wifi was not always working and the cold water tab in the washing basin was not working well.
We were pleased with the breakfast and restaurant staff. The location if really outstanding. We will not return to the Ceasar Park in the future and wish the Dutch football teamball all the best during their stay and hope all their needs will be fullfilled.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you found and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Ipanema Rio de Janeiro Managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

this hotel is located on the beachfront, with shopping and dining options around the corner. Checked-in at midday and 2 out of 3 rooms were available. Check-in staff were fantastic. Got up to the room and the bathroom stank like crap. Rang house-keeping for an extra pillow and it never arrived! No bath towels in bathroom. Rang house-keeping twice over a 40 minute period to receive some. Partial sea-view room (711) was appalling. We had another room (1212) where the same class room had an amazing view of ipanema beach thru to Copacabana beach. our third room (1101) was extremely small compared to the other two rooms, but the view was amazing towards leblon and the two brothers. concierge are very quick to push you towards their tours. wanted to do Corcovado/Christ the Redeemer by taxi as it was much cheaper. was told the queues were 5 hours long and by taking the tour we were guaranteed to return within 3 hours. took the tour but could have done it ourselves in under 3 hours!! the hotel has private drivers out the front. approach them to negotiate a price for city tours, etc. works out cheaper when in a group. The restaurant on level 23 was outstanding. Food was delicious, view is incredible, and the staff are very courteous and well versed in English. the pool is not really a pool, but a rather large Jacuzzi. very nice seating area around it.
a very expensive hotel with very expensive tours and very expensive food (70 real for breakfast!!)
stay downtown and catch a taxi to ipanema. its cheaper!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Ipanema Rio de Janeiro
Managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Caesar Park Hotel on Inpanema beach recently during high season. The location was perfect, right across from the nicest beach in Rio. Our room had a lovely view of the beach, and the hotel was very chic, modern and clean. The staff were all English speaking and very helpful with booking us tours and giving recommendations. When you arrive at your room you are given a pair of Ipanema sandals which are yours to keep. Great touch! The breakfast in the morning is delicious with interesting fruits, and champagne to make your own fruit cocktails. The dining room where you eat breakfast provides to you an amazing view of the beach. I would say with confidence that Caesar Park (Part of the Sofitel hotel group) is the best place to stay in Rio. I would highly recommend this hotel to any couple traveling through Rio!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaraFreizer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

In deed the beach of Ipanema has a breathtaking view ant excellent atmosphere!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Ipanema Rio de Janeiro
Managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We've travelled the world, stayed in all sorts of hotels. Large chains, small boutiques. We know what to expect from a hotel which declares itself 5 star.

We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours before check in officially began and we were told there were no rooms available, fair enough. When we came back at 3pm we were allocated a room. It stank of sewage and the air conditioning was blowing out warm air. The bell boy tried to call down to reception but they just told him they would call back which they never did. So we went downstairs to explain. The receptionist told us there were no other available rooms. Of course nonsense seeing as check in had only just begun! We asked to speak to a manager who explained that they had spent the least year trying to improve things in the hotel (a year?!) and that he would have a room ready for us in 10 minutes. He came back and provided us keys for a room in the next grade up. It was a massive difference.

Note that the rooms are all tired and in desperate need of refurbishment.

We tried to book several tours offered by the hotel but all seemed over priced and were booked up for the next 2 days. We organised a favela tour via the internet. Half what the concierge was charging!! The tour of Corcovado and Sugar Loaf we booked through the hotel was expensive and the tour guide was average at best. We were told when booking that we would be able to skip all queues, a big advantage we thought, but we only managed to skip one queue at the Sugar Loaf base.

Note the concierge expects all tours to be paid fully in cash to confirm your place. No cash, no reservation.

On the last day we requested a late check out as our flight was not till 9pm. They offered to extend our room for an hour explaining that the hotel was fully booked. We went on the hotel website to check and each room class was available, it seems they always use the "fully booked" line. Nonsense!

To conclude the hotel is a disaster. The staff all have a negative attitude, the rooms are tired and the concierge service is expensive and useless.

Dont stay here! It's expensive! Find a smaller boutique in Ipanema or try Leblon. Such a disaster.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Fun_traveller_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Caesar Park, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Ipanema Rio de Janeiro Managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#64 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#25 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema

Property: Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Address: Av. Vieira Souto, 460, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-006, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema combines sophistication and elegance to the minutest detail alongside friendly service. Its restaurants stand out for their high-quality cuisine, while its famous international stores are also an instant hit. Ipanema also offers a cosmopolitan, elegant and upbeat atmosphere. Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema is recognized as one of the best places to stay in the world and, definitively, one of the best options for those seeking subtle luxury and constant comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Park Ipanema
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Ipanema Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing