We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hammer wake up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Ranked #37 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hammer wake up”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My room was on same floor where there was a construction. i wake up with heavy hammer noise. considering price paid (almost 400 usd) this is inacceptable and management should be ashame. renting these rooms is no respect to guests and against high standard hospitality rules. furthermore when i was checking out i saw receptionist (frederico) who did my checkin and made my commentary. he look at me and ignored my complain and left reception desk.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Fadi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear "FadiA",
Thank you for leaving comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. We strive to provide a superior experience for every customer; this would include product and service. We are currently refurbishing some of our areas, and we do apologies for the inconvenience. Please rest assured that we are acting appropriately to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.
Sincerely,
Marie-Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    594
    191
    74
    60
See reviews for
290
629
97
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great location right on the beach. Other plus points include free wi-fi (great that this is not becoming standard) and super buffet breakfast. But expensive - not super luxurious and only a small pool and gym. Laundry costs are horrific.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear "DTW101",
Thank you for your time and comment!
We have been working on several points of improvements in the hotel and are happy to read the changes are noticed. Accor has bought this property recently and we will be having some work done, this includes a new pool and gym project.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.
Sincerely,
Marie-Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was more than surprised at the internal state of the hotel as the standard of cleanliness was unacceptable - thick dust and dirty light switches, no "in-room" information, pictures crooked, furniture fabrics badly stained, windows dirty (shame as the view was stunning). The front desk staff and manager I spoke with were trying to be helpful - but what can you say when you have such an aged old product - however, there is little excuse for dirt?

The restaurant on the 23rd floor provides a fine view and start of day - here again the experience was bitter sweet with some staff caring and others not explaining at all how breakfast worked and little eye contact.

My advice is to steer well clear of the hotel. There is no doubt refurbishment in progress meantime the high price of rooms and poor ameneties makes this a poor choice.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can to avoid all-night road and reveller noise. I had a corner room with main wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear "TechnoPro",
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We strive to provide a Magnifique experience for every customer, and as you have mentioned we have started with the refurbishment process. Your feedback is very important to us, please rest assured that we are acting appropriately to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Marie-Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Pros: in front of Ipanema beach, good beach service, attentious staff, large rooms, nice views, quick valet parking service. We asked for a late check out and the front desk staff went out of their way to let us stay up to 2 pm instead of noon and it made a difference as we could enjoy the beach much longer in the last day of our stay, which by the way was a very beautiful day.

Cons: hotel needs an upgrade, premises look ageing and in need of a refresh. Very expensive breakfast, served on the second floor in the days we were there instead of the usual rooftop restaurant, what was a shame. Noisy air conditioning (glad I had earplugs with me).

Looks more like a 3 or 4 star hotel but priced as a 5 star hotel. Expensive for what you get.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Bonjour Mr. "Luis S",

Thank you so much for all the comnets regarding your last saty at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema - Managed by Sofitel. Regarding your comment on hotel refreshment, we happily inform that we have begun! The group bought the property recently and we have already started with refurbishments. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your days at the "Cidade Maravilhosa".

We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

First time in Rio de Janeiro as part of an international study trip. This hotel is right at the beach of Ipanema (next to Coppacobana), which is one of the nicer neighbourhoods of Rio. It has everything I expected from a hotel managed by Sofitel, great infrastructure, great service, etc.. When I go back to Rio (which I am planning to do), there is quite a big chance I will go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive improve to continuously the quality of our services.

We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro
managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Most hotels in Rio are overpriced. This one is no exception. Great location on the beach. However quality of room does not compare to the rest of the hotels in the Sofitel family. Rooms are old (think peeling paint, old fashioned furniture, well used carpets) but the bed is comfortable and shower works well. They upgraded me to a room with ocean view, which was very nice of them. However as it is a hotel built in the 70s or 80s (?) the windows are single glazed. The room is noisy as there is a busy road in front of the beach. Noise seems to be a common problem for other hotels in Rio that are bordering the beach. If I were to return to Rio, I would probably pick a hotel on a quiet street.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are acting appropriately to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great hotel, staff on reception could be better but once the duty manager is engaged then they come to life. I arrived very early and although my room was not ready I waited for 3 hours. I know the person who checked me in and I will not deal with him again.........useless other than that this a great place. The concierge was the best she really helped, rooms are great, location is great so I am not going to let the incompetence of one lazy person ruin a very good stay. I am sure they know who he is. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil-Angie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro managed by Sofitel, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive improve to continuously the quality of our services. I regret for the checkin service, we are already addressing the situation to avoid it from happening again.

We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro
managed by Sofitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#63 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,125 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,455 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#84 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,471 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,357 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#26 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema

Property: Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Address: Av. Vieira Souto, 460, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-006, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema combines sophistication and elegance to the minutest detail alongside friendly service. Its restaurants stand out for their high-quality cuisine, while its famous international stores are also an instant hit. Ipanema also offers a cosmopolitan, elegant and upbeat atmosphere. Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema is recognized as one of the best places to stay in the world and, definitively, one of the best options for those seeking subtle luxury and constant comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Park Ipanema
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Ipanema Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing