We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel. Not helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
Ranked #62 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Mercure hotel is pretty comfortable. My room had good space, nice work desk and even a balcony with a view. The hotel has a small gym, restaurant and pool. Botafogo, the neighborhood where it’s located is not a tourist must, so it’s a good option for those doing business nearby. However, be aware, the staff is not helpful – this point needs improvement. Oh…free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrazilAca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAFAEL A, Gerente geral at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just fine and with a good view of Christ the Redeemer, the room was exceedingly spacious with a balcony, secure, and very well located for a number of attractions including the cable car to Sugar Loaf mountain which is only 15 minutes walk away. Botafogo is a pleasant enough albeit low key destination but one can catch the metro to Copacabana and Ipanema with ease. My only quibble would be a pet hate of hotel stays - 'did you use the minibar last night'. Answer - 'no' - response - a call through to the room service people anyway. Why ask then?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoehmBawerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAFAEL A, Gerente geral at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We checked in and received an upgrade to a lovely small suite on the top floor with a balcony and a fabulous view of the christ statue. We liked the staff at the hotel who where v helpful, breakfast was adequate and varied.
On our second night as we were reading in bed and during a big storm our hotel ceiling fell in! This was directly over the tv which was fortunately switched off as along with the ceiling came a big stream of water pouring into the room.
We called the front desk and they immediately helped us gather our belongings and evacuated us to the same room on the 5th floor.
This hotel is in a good location for walking around Botafogo, and on business we would stay there again. The view is fabulous...

Room Tip: Definitly go for the the small suites on the end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAFAEL A, Gerente geral at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Thought I'd come back and add to my recent review of this splendid destination and Hotel as on return to the U.K., we have heard more of the 'Riots' in Rio. We have no doubt that there are problems but we feel we must point out that in our 10 day wonderful break there in April 2014 we had not one bad experience. We are seasoned travellers but we are non Portuguese speaking and yet found getting about easy with lots of friendly people to help both in the hotel and on the streets. Our advice would be to be sensible as you would in any large city in any part of the world.

The scenes we are seeing on our TV's relating to Rio are very isolated and well contained. Don't be put off by this! The traffic is far more of a problem!!

We do feel that the City is wonderful but at present the Airport is ill prepared for the World Cup and Olympics - however, we also recall all the doom and gloom merchants who said the same about London. But, Rio does seem to lack the capacity that London had - but the people may yet make up for all that as we near these spectacular events just as the UK's 'game makers' did here.

Go for it Rio and the very best of luck! I only wish I could join you all as I think you are in for a treat!

Steve

Room Tip: The higher the better and front facing so that you look out on Christ the Redeemer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAFAEL A, Gerente geral at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Sao Jose Dos Campos, Brazil
Reviewed 24 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RAFAEL A, Gerente geral at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2014

An inflexible and nickle diming staff will ignore your needs unless you top up every service with $$$. The hotel is inconvenienced by a huge street repaving and public works construction right in front of the entrance. The furniture is old and dingy and the surroundings very much reminiscent of 1980's Rio. STAY ELSEWHERE!

Room Tip: Stay away, better options are in the Copacabana and Ipanema districts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAFAEL A, Gerente geral at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

While the hotel has some nice amenities, to me, the staff is the best I've encountered; and I've stayed at some spectacular hotels in cities around the world! They were very helpful with their recommendations of places to see in the area. Rodrigo was careful to identify foods that were safe to eat, once I made him aware of my food allergy. Patricia makes the best cappuccino on this side of Italy. The chef takes special care to accommodate my food allergy as well. Felipe, Alber, and Henrique helped make my stay memorable. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TryooNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAFAEL A, Gerente geral at Mercure Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. Hóspede.

Agradecemos pelos seus comentários, de suma importância para atendermos às expectativas de todos os nossos hóspedes.

Ficamos gratos aos itens positivos apontados e confiantes que estamos no caminho certo , e continuaremos fazendo sempre o possível para melhor atendê-lo.

Estamos extremamente lisonjeados com seus elogios , que nos motivam ainda mais a darmos toda atenção e carinho que pessoas como o senhor merece em nosso Hotel.

Aproveitamos para convidá-lo a retornar e vivenciar uma nova experiência em nosso Hotel , onde será um prazer tê-lo conosco novamente.

Estaremos sempre à disposição para maiores esclarecimentos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
213 reviews
Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hot...
#50 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,912 reviews
Botafogo
Quality Suites Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
Quality Suites Rio de Janeiro Bo...
#140 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Zii Hotel
Zii Hotel
#131 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
98 reviews
Botafogo
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
#15 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
395 reviews
Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
#97 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Botafogo Mourisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Botafogo Mourisco

Address: Rua da Passagem 39 | Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22290-030, Brazil (Formerly Caesar Business Rio de Janeiro Botafogo)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#48 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Botafogo Mourisco 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of our main options in Rio de Janeiro. This accommodation is a 5-minute walk from the beach. Situated in Botafogo, 2.3 km from Copacabana Beach, the 4-star Mercure Botafogo Mourisco offers a pool, bar and gym to relax during your stay in Rio de Janeiro. For your convenience, free WiFi is available. The air-conditioned rooms have cable TV, a safe, a minibar and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. The hotel features a restaurant, 24-hour front desk, business center and meeting rooms. You can also enjoy the bar for refreshing drinks. Mercure Botafogo Mourisco is just 300 meters from Botafogo Metro Station, 2 km from Sugar Loaf Mountain and 5 km from Copacabana Fort. Santos Dumont Airport is 5.4 km away, while Tom Jobim International Airport is 22 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Botafogo Mourisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Business Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing