We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"business vacation"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Ranked #128 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Emmen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"business vacation"”
Reviewed 14 April 2011

The hotel is outside the city of Rio de Janeiro, but located right at the beach. There is not much around the hotel. I had an executive suite which was very nice, spaceous and clean. The breakfast is excellent (try the egg station), service in general up to standards.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have balcony from what I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipp_J1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    451
    269
    141
    96
See reviews for
357
336
61
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I was very pleased with the property. I stayed in a standard room. They were of a great quality & unique design I really like the suite style with a separate seating area. Space near the beds was a bit tight though. Bathroom was nice, although it fogged up & there was no fan. Loved having a balcony overlooking the ocean

Location was rather far from the city, but I finally figured out you could take the #2113 bus from Copacabana/Ipanema beaches directly to the hotel. I took the bus at all hours and always felt safe. In fact, i felt like the drivers were watching over us, making sure we got off at the right stop.

While it was far from the city, if you prefer a more relaxed vacation, this is your place. I would certainly go back to Sheraton Barra.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Classcair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Very posh hotel! Great staff and well appointed guest rooms. It is a bit of hike to rio's main beaches, but that was not really an issue.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhcdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

A spacious suite style room with views of the ocean. The room had two sliding doors that opened to a balcony which allowed good airflow in the room. If you kept the doors closed there was a distinct smell of mildew, even with the ac on. The pool area looked nice as did all the common areas of the hotel. Lunch at the pool was decent as was the room service. I walked to the Shopping Cittá América which was not too far away but some spots lacked sidewalks. The beach in front of hotel is beautiful and peaceful, many more locals than tourists. Overall a great location for a relaxing break, but far from any tourist attractions in Rio.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dc2005b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJulia_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed our accommodations and the view from our rooms.
It is always very rewarding to know that a guest could relax and have fun at our hotel.
Thank you for sharing your review with the world.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Resort hotel, great for a vacation. Ever felt trapped in a hotel - then this is the place. Only one bar/restaurant within walking distance, hotel is a no go for eatibg. Breakfast costs US$ 30.00 for a buffet, internet connection cost US$20.00 per day, staff are indifferent. Great pool and staff plus pool bar and restaurant, must be a franchise, closes at 8.00pm.
During my visit, on check out they tried to charge me double for items I had charged - beware all travellers, these people feign a lack of english to just rip you off like a blind man.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louraboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The Pros: Location - clean, uncrowded beach is across the street. Never felt like we were in danger, even at night.

Very clean hotel and room. Great bed, perfect climate control. Balcony was wonderful. Breakfast very good. Pool area is simply fantastic, especially for young children, not crowded.

The Cons: Location - far from everything, even the local Mcdonald's - MUST take taxi, or bus if you're feeling a bit more adventurous. However, you can do whirlwind tour of Rio in a day (the one arranged by the hotel wasn't exactly cheap, but ZERO complaints, the tour guide was fantastic). Overall, Brazil is very expensive though. The local food joints are pricey too. Even the nearby mall wasn't cheap.

Other misses: it's a pricey hotel, but don't expect perfection, i.e., little things like things missing from your room service orders, everyone a bit tardy, etc. We had perfect weather, so perhaps it affected our judgement, but overall a positive stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJulia_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Sheraton Barra with your family, specially our pool area.
Thank you for writing this review. We hope to receive you and your family again at Sheraton Barra
Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We decided to try the Sheraton Barra as it looked newer and nicer than the Sheraton Rio Hotel. This was a huge mistake.

The Sheraton Barra in a taxi to Copacabana took 45 minutes in a very expensive taxi at 7 PM. Do not stay at the Sheraton Barra if you are wanting to enjoy the main Rio areas of Ipanema and Copacabana. The location while on a beautiful beach is very far removed from central Rio de Janeiro. The beach is across a busy road but the beach is beautiful and uncrowded. The hotel is very far though from where most tourists want to stay --- Be forewarned!

We were staying in a two bedroom suite. Awful suite design - horrible. Small rooms, cramped and cheap furniture with cheap tile floors. Tacky 3 star decor. The bedrooms were so small that the beds barely squeezed into the space. The floor of the living room was a stained cheap ceramic tile. The bathrooms were tiny. Nothing about the suite was remotely luxurious nor meriting the $700 USD per night we paid for it. Housekeeping was mediocre.

The hallways had a very strong mold / mildew smell. Disgusting. Even one of the prints in our guest room had mold on the matting. Humidity is a huge issue in this hotel.

Service was frustrating and difficult. Only the front desk staff spoke English well. The rest of the staff either didn't speak a word of English (literally) or were struggling with the most basic phrases.

Room service was exagerratedly overpriced and extremely poor quality.

Swimming pool area is nice and pool is heated. This was the only worthwhile feature of the hotel.

We checked out after one night with a $1,000 USD bill and a bitter dislike for this overpriced, poorly located mediocre Sheraton. Stay closer to the main areas of Rio and avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJulia_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Dear guest,

We are deeply disappointed you faced so many issues during your stay at our hotel.
All feedback we receive is important to help us on making of improvements on our service and accommodations.
Thank you for letting us know about your experience.

Regards,
The Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#25 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,538 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Barra
Windsor Barra
#40 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,522 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#24 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
#7 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
604 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
982 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#23 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel

Property: Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 3150, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22630-010, Brazil (Formerly Radisson Hotel Barra)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#60 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the ocean and mountains in the city’s most modern neighborhood, Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel is surrounded by extensive lakes, stunning beaches and the exuberant Atlantic Forest. With modern design and impeccable decoration, Sheraton Barra offers 292 spacious guestrooms and suites, all with private balconies and overlooking the ocean. For your relaxation, Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel offers 2 outdoor pools, one for adults and another for children, an international cuisine restaurant, Fitness Center with modern workout devices, open-air hot tubs, dry and steam saunas, a squash court, playground and beach service. Located in the middle of a thriving garden is the Vila Spa, - with 5 bungalows for body treatments and exclusive bath rituals and massages that ensure a harmonious balance between body and mind. For all types of events, the Hotel offers 9 event rooms that hold up to 400 people, with all the required equipment infrastructure and technology, in addition to an experienced team of professionals to provide support for corporate or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Barra Hotel And Suites
Sheraton Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Sheraton Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sheraton
Sheraton Barra Rio De Janeiro Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing