We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but expensive American-style hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Ranked #125 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful but expensive American-style hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I have now stayed at four hotels in Brazil, and this was the only one of the four that could be mistaken for a nice American hotel. I had a junior suite, which included a queen bed and a sitting area separated by a swiveling TV stand. The room was very nice and clean. I did find a box of trash under the sink by the minibar (?), but no big deal. Otherwise the room was excellent. Two surprises that are not typical in Brazilian hotels or homes: a tub in the bathroom instead of just a shower, and carpet (!) in the bed half of the room.

One great surprise about the hotel was the fitness center. It was well equipped, immaculate, and inviting, much nicer than most other hotel fitness facilities I have used. The pool was gorgeous too, though it was closed at night so I was unable to use it after returning from my business activities each day.

The hotel restaurant is very expensive, but most of the restaurants in the area are nearly as expensive. I only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was a delicious buffet with cooked-to-order omelets. There are a few nice restaurants within a few blocks in both directions. I did not find a market or supermarket nearby, but those are available via a cheap taxi ride if needed.

If you're hoping to see traditional Rio--Copacabana, Ipanema, Sugarloaf, Christ the Redeemer, downtown, etc.--Sheraton Barra is far from all that. It will take you an hour to get to those areas by taxi, more during commute times. But if you want to get away from the traffic and relax in a less crowded area with a beautiful beach, Sheraton Barra is a great choice.

The hotel provides free Wi-Fi access in the lobby and has free Internet stations in the lobby, though look out for the Brazilian keyboard layout which makes it tricky to type. Wi-Fi is available in the rooms at an expensive rate. Internet speed was not great but about what one would expect in South America.

My only complaint about this hotel is the expense. A colleague selected this hotel. I probably would have gone with something cheaper in Copacabana or Ipanema. My room with tax was about US$500 per day, and that is for a room on the opposite end of the hotel from the beach. Breakfast was about US$30 per day, and Internet was almost US$20 per day. Yes, the hotel was nearly flawless, and yes, it was in a beautiful location in one of the world's great tourist locations. But at the rates they charge, it's pretty much impossible to get what you pay for.

That said, the service was excellent. The few times I did need to ask the desk for something, they helped me right away. They also allowed me to check out late, which was very convenient for my evening flight. The concierge found us a couple of great restaurant recommendations. I think all the desk and concierge staff speak English (though I'm not sure because I speak Portuguese).

In summary, what a wonderful, unforgettable hotel, even if it is very pricey. I highly recommend it if you have the means.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shepshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    425
    258
    131
    90
See reviews for
330
324
62
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week in mid-March for a business trip. For a Sheraton I was very shocked at the lack of service and dinginess of the rooms, especially for almost $300 USD/night. The location - across the street from the beach - is nice, but you have to pay a BIG premium for a decent view, which I was not willing to do. The room I had was very tired and the bathroom very small and shaped weirdly - you had to wedge yourself between the wall and toilet to get in the shower.

The bed was comfortable, but I had stains on my comforter which was not switched out during my stay. The housekeeping service was inconsistent – one day they picked up my dirty towels and didn’t provide new ones. The AC worked well in the bedroom but didn't reach the bathroom at all so after a shower it was like a sauna in there. I had a nice size balcony, a sitting and kitchen area but no microwave, coffee maker or other kitchen items that might have made it useful.

The worst part of the hotel is the rude, unhelpful staff in reception and the pool side bar. My colleague and I arrived together at the normal check in time (on the weekend) after overnight flights from the US. There were originally 3 people on the desk, but as soon as the check in line started to form one of the staff disappeared, without a word, never to return. I had to wait 20 minutes just to be helped and my colleague waited at least 35 minutes to be helped - this is NOT acceptable. She also had problems with her door key not working, which resulted in 4 trips to reception and her insisting she be given a new room (and refusing to pay more for it like they tried to get her to) before she was able to settle in - 1.5 hours later!!!!

The pool is nice but the chairs and tables are old and falling apart. The food at the poolside bar is MUCH better than the main restaurant, but the wait staff are completely disorganized, and hard to chase down for service. The room service food was OK. I was very unimpressed with the main restaurant food - which was usually a buffet. The only other decent restaurant we could find within walking distance is at the Windsor hotel, a nice Italian restaurant.

I'm told that there is a hotel shortage in Rio and especially so in Barra di Tijuca area (where this hotel is located) but if you have a choice I'd recommend the Windsor hotel - the reviews are better there too!

Room Tip: Try the Windsor Hotel down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mostly_business1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton TN
Level Contributor
133 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The sound of thr gently crashing waves was ever so peacefull. Fantastic view from the 15th floor balcony. Sthe satff was super and went out of their way to makle sure I had everything I needed and then some. Would stay again.

Room Tip: High floor, close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJulia_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank your for sharing your review in Trip Advisor.
We are all very happy that we could reach your expectations and provide you a real Sheraton Experience.
We hope to have you back soon in Rio.
Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Nice located in front of the beach...Typicall business place altough you always have the chance to go to the beach at the endo of the day....
Regretelly the place is in urgent requirement of some investments...and not to speak that because of Brazilian prices the ROI is absoutely not there. Rooms are smelly and resting there is more a mater of fortune.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pasing87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontaria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Sheraton Hotel tower Barra Tijuca was a huge disappointment in service and quality of faculties
At 650 USD per night a person would think that the hotel staff would be tripping over themselves to keep you happy

I arrived at 430 in the afternoon and had to wait 1.5 hours for my room to be ready, after working all day looking at equipment in 36 degree heat I returned to the hotel 5 pm and guess what again my room was not made up, so no clean towers to shower with, yesterdays room service leftover permeating the air in the room. It was just not comfortable to walk into after being in the heat working all day
The Air con could not cool the room below 24C the thermostat could be set a 5 C, but the room never went below 24 C, which made it not unbearable but uncomfortable to sleep.
Now at 650 USD per night one would think that internet would be include NOPE that is another 18 USD for 24 hours, oh YA now at 650 USD a night you would think you’d get a least a bottle of water and for the small sum of 5 USD you can have a bottle of water to make your coffee with in the morning, but bring your own milk or creamer as that is not supplied either.
Now for the real fun, I was on my way out to dinner so I stopped at the front desk to request a wakeup call. The front desk personnel wrote down my room number and the time and off I went to dinner. The following morning I was woke up by my driver franticly knocking on my hotel room door I was late as it appeared no wakeup call was initiated from the front desk. After running through the shower I picked up the phone to call the persons I was going to meet to inform them I was running late, guess what the phone in the room did not work. I reported this to the from desk and went about my business, on returning to the room at around 5 pm finding the room not cleaned and the telephone still not working I report the issues to the front desk again went and had a drink and returned to my room, this time the room was clean but the phone still did not work and was never fixed over my 2 day stay.
I would not recommend this hotel to business travelers

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OFTOilFieldTrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Completely disapointed with this hotel from Sheraton Starwood. We booked for an executive suite $475 per night plus SPG for an upgrade that never occurred, no access to Club level . Room smells terrible and there is moho inside the room. We both suffer from allergy, it is impossible to rest on this kind of room. Nobody from guest relations did anything to solve the problem. We talked to more than 5 different people on this issue with no action from them. AC was unoperative for the whole resort, the still working on it.



We never will back to a Sheraton - Starwood property.

Room Tip: Please, do not trust on hotel's website pics to chose your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJulia_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is really important to us to know all opinions regarding our service.
Unfortunately, we had an unexpected breakdown in our air conditioning system during some days, making the temperature unstable and higher than the ideal.
This incident intensified the humidity in the room, as the air conditioning helps to dry the air when working properly. The air conditioning issue is already solved and we will purchase dehumidifier devices to install in the more affected rooms.
We apologize for the discomfort caused and for the unhelpful staff attitude.
The experience you had is not a quality service expected from a Starwood hotel, and we hope to have a chance to receive you back and demonstrate the real Sheraton service.
Kind regards,
The Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

north england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked a three night stay , minimum allow during the carnival period at a huge inflated cost . We expected the normal Sherton standard but now at a Loss to know why Sheraton would put their name to such an awful hotel, it degrades the brand name. We booked a club room which was dirty(especially the bathroom) and had shabby furniture but the worst problem was the rank smell of mould . It really is very over powering. We tried three different rooms but they were all the same . We stayed out of the room as long as possible but after the first night and damage to my health( I had asthma attack ) we were forced to find alternative accommodation which was difficult and expensive (carnival time) . We asked that due to the room condition if we could have a refund for the two remaining nights , we got an abrupt NO and that was it. It turned out that the mould problem is well known to the staff and nobody seemed surprised by it and despite previous comments on tripadvisor by management the problem has not been resolved !!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hermia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJulia_ShBarra, On Behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all we thank you for giving your feed back through Trip Advisor. For us all guests comments are really important when it is about to improve our service.
Regarding the room odor, we would like to explain that Rio de Janeiro is a very humid city. This humidity was overrunning some guestrooms through the large glass door of the balconies, which, in contact with the lower inside temperature, due to air-conditioning, it was causing the unpleasant ambience smell. Therefore, aiming to exterminate that, we are in the process of installing a sensor which automatically shuts down the air-conditioning when the door is open. With this device installed we will reduce the humidity in the rooms.
We apologize for the inconvenience experienced in our hotel. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back and could offer you the Sheraton service as expected
Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#20 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Barra
Windsor Barra
#30 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#22 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#45 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
#12 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
#6 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel

Property: Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 3150, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22630-010, Brazil (Formerly Radisson Hotel Barra)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#60 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the ocean and mountains in the city’s most modern neighborhood, Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel is surrounded by extensive lakes, stunning beaches and the exuberant Atlantic Forest. With modern design and impeccable decoration, Sheraton Barra offers 292 spacious guestrooms and suites, all with private balconies and overlooking the ocean. For your relaxation, Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel offers 2 outdoor pools, one for adults and another for children, an international cuisine restaurant, Fitness Center with modern workout devices, open-air hot tubs, dry and steam saunas, a squash court, playground and beach service. Located in the middle of a thriving garden is the Vila Spa, - with 5 bungalows for body treatments and exclusive bath rituals and massages that ensure a harmonious balance between body and mind. For all types of events, the Hotel offers 9 event rooms that hold up to 400 people, with all the required equipment infrastructure and technology, in addition to an experienced team of professionals to provide support for corporate or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Barra Hotel And Suites
Sheraton Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Sheraton Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sheraton
Sheraton Barra Rio De Janeiro Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing