We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra
Ranked #131 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I had a wonderful stay for two nights. This must be the best local hotel as I saw no less than 6 wedding groups during my short stay.
I had a high level room, with a lovely view of the beach. In fact all rooms have a sea view, when if it’s a side view, but once on your generously sized balcony you have an amazing view. I sat for a good hour or so just looking at the view with a coffee.

The room was of good size well, nice to see a hotel room with a micro wave and a cold fridge. The hotel has a large pool area, I’m not sure why with such a lovely beach over the road which is not too busy. If you show your hotel key card to the guy across the road you get a chair and towel for free, he will where a Sheraton T-shirt. Also the staff are very friendly.

The pool area bar staff are very friendly, however I was not impressed with the food and a little expensive compared to the quality and the cheap outlets across the road on the beach. My only other fault was the amount of time I had to wait after I called for help getting into my safe, no one turned up. Lucky I was able to get help from someone else I travelling with.

The hotel was clean, however my room did have a slight damp smell at first.
I will stop here again.
And I agree with the other poster about the slopping breakfast bar top. Crazy needs to be changed.

Room Tip: High view with a low end number so you are closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and for your detailed feedback. We are glad to hear that you have nice moments in our Hotel. |We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Hotel in in a wonderful place, and with a very beautiful view to the Barra Beach. The Hotel is very expensive, but the overall quality is very good.
The Rooms are big enough for a nice stay, with a very good bed, a small "Kitchen" with a microwave for quick meals, a nice desk to work and a very nice area for rest. The balcony is bit enough with a wonderful view to the beach of Barra.
The service is OK ... People are overall nice and friendly, but the service lacks some quality. The hotel looks very ncie from the outside, but on the inside it needs already some work.

For the price, it is hard to say that it is a nice deal, but as i was in a business trip, i enjoyed the quality of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Well...there really isn't much positive or negative to say about the Sheraton Barra. It is incredibly expensive for starters...and frankly not worth it. It is badly in need of a makeover. It just seems like the management of that hotel is lazy. The lobby area is sparse and impersonal. The bar is small...and lacks any appeal at all. It's worth little more than a place to grab a beer while you are waiting for your party to assemble before going out. The bar by the pool isn't much better and the staff is inattentive.

The only option for breakfast (unless you want to order room service) is an overpriced buffet at the restaurant. Again, the service is lackluster...and the food mediocre. The problem is that there are no breakfast options near the hotel. There is a bar and grill about 2 blocks to the west and a steakhouse restaurant about 2 blocks to the east. So...not much choice for lunch or dinner either.

Now for the rooms...wow. Talk about a waste of space. The rooms have tiled floors and cheap woodworking...All of the rooms have an ocean view and the walls on one side are sliding glass doors...which makes it all better. The furniture is tattered. The good news is that the corners are clean...and that matters to me.

the beach is right across the road...which is pretty convenient.

Overall...it's just OK, but at $400 plus a night...That's just not OK.

Room Tip: I have stayed in two different rooms and they were identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheFly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here for only 8 hours as part of a business trip. People were friendly. Room was very well sized. Nice view from the beach (which I never even touched). All these Hotels in Copacabana are beach front but you need to cross the crowded street to get there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpllanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much to choose Sheraton Barra for your stay in Rio de Janeiro for your business trip. We appreciate that you’ve enjoyed our hotel and we hope you can give us another chance of hosting you again in the future.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok, old and u can smell humidity everywhere especially in the room.
No heater in the room, room was quite cold at night.
All in all, too pricy for the quality.
The rate is excessive as well.
The facility is ok for a quick stay and if you want to stay in barra.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank ametwalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference and for sending your feedback through this channel. We are disappointed to know that our room’s condition didn’t meet your expectation. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences this may have caused you.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Hotel is ok, pretty average business hotel in a stunning location right on the beach at Barra. Rooms are clean and well maintained. dissapointing that I did not have a view of the ocean but as I was there on business and only spent time at the hotel to sleep it did not make a lot of difference to me.

The pool bar is a bit run down and in the back away from the Ocean and quite gloomy.

I would use this hotel again but next time I will ask for a room with a view....

Room Tip: Ask for an even number room, that's on the ocean side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worjacky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Three night stay for a work trip.

The hotel is comparable to a nice Sheraton in the US. Room was comfortable and large, and had a nice patio with a view of the ocean.

Ocean and beach are across the street. This is not Rio de Janeiro. Barra is quieter (but still plenty of traffic on the road out front), and there are not as many restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel staff was fine, and everyone I talked to was able to communicate well in English.

I did not try the restaurants, but I did have room service. Room service food rarely is spectacular, but this was a bit less impressive than you would usually good. Moral of that story is to get out and have a decent meal rather than working in the evening in your hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Barra
Windsor Barra
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,546 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,595 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#29 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
#20 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,113 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
#14 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
660 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#19 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra

Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 3150, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22630-010, Brazil (Formerly Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#60 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £79 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the ocean and mountains in the city’s most modern neighborhood, Gran Nobile Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel is surrounded by extensive lakes, stunning beaches and the exuberant Atlantic Forest. With modern design and impeccable decoration, our hotel in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil offers 292 spacious guestrooms and suites, all with private balconies and overlooking the ocean. For your relaxation, Gran Nobile Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel offers 2 outdoor pools, one for adults and another for children, an international cuisine restaurant, Fitness Center with modern workout devices, open-air hot tubs, dry and steam saunas, a squash court, playground and beach service. Located in the middle of a thriving garden is the Vila Spa, - with 5 bungalows for body treatments and exclusive bath rituals and massages that ensure a harmonious balance between body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Sheraton Barra Hotel And Suites
Sheraton Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sheraton
Gran Nobile Rio De Janeiro Barra Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing