We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Ranked #130 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Damp and disappointing”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the feel of past grandure. The lobby area is quite pleasant, as are the pool and spa. However the rooms are cold and damp. The wall that was between the bathroom and shower was bubbling from water damage and I saw several silver fish during my stay.
I had room service twice. It came promptly, but the food wasn't great. The chicken was bland, fries undercooked and veg boiled to death. I also had a salad - it was a generous portion, but very soggy and a bit gritty. The breakfast on the other hand is the best I've had in any hotel.
Staff can be quite rude. They don't like to listen to what the customer is saying and seem to jump straight in with a defence. My colleague's room had been entered by cleaning staff,although she had the green choice tag and do not disturb sign up. This didn't get taken very seriously. Another colleague had her room door left open by staff whilst out. It wasn't taken terribly seriously either.
The location opposite the beach and the balconies are wonderful. The hotel needs to train it's staff in customer service better, improve the food and update the bedrooms however.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fairy-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really sad to hear that so many problems happened during your stay. We would like to thank you for your feedback and for giving us the opportunity to improve the quality of our services. Please feel free to contact us if you have any other questions regarding your stay through the email gerencia.barra@sheraton.com

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    438
    262
    138
    93
See reviews for
344
333
61
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is very expensive, and it was full for he two nights I stayed there. However, we had a club suite which meant dedicated club lounge and check in, as well as a great room with a partial ocean view and a balcony.

The hotel pool is fine, I'm not really a pool person, but you get a decent lunch at the pool bar and ice cold cocktails.

The beach is great. Barra beach is more beautiful and less crowded than Copacabana. It has a great boardwalk area running along it, and we rented bicycles from a man just outside the hotel. The Sheraton has beach umbrellas and chairs available for guests, but the staff don't start until half 9. If you're looking for beach R&R, this location couldn't be better.

Breakfast was a well stocked hot and cold buffet and the staff were very quick to get you seated with tea or coffee. Perfect start to the day.

Cons include:
1. the free shuttle to the mall doesn't run weekends (my sis lives near the mall so would gave been convenient), and
2. it can take up to two hours to get to Zona Sul (Ipanema and Copacabana). The metro is due to reach Barra in 2016 since several Olympic venues are out here, but for now, it's a tedious taxi or bus ride.
3. The restaurant serves buffet for lunch at least when we were there, so it was the pool or room service if u wanted a la carte.

We ate at restaurants on Avenida Americas, some standalone and some in malls, and it was fairly easy to get taxis around, though it helped to gave addresses written down.

I'd definitely stay here, or at the Windsor just down the road, when I come back, as the location is unbeatable!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewfieGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I had a wonderful stay for two nights. This must be the best local hotel as I saw no less than 6 wedding groups during my short stay.
I had a high level room, with a lovely view of the beach. In fact all rooms have a sea view, when if it’s a side view, but once on your generously sized balcony you have an amazing view. I sat for a good hour or so just looking at the view with a coffee.

The room was of good size well, nice to see a hotel room with a micro wave and a cold fridge. The hotel has a large pool area, I’m not sure why with such a lovely beach over the road which is not too busy. If you show your hotel key card to the guy across the road you get a chair and towel for free, he will where a Sheraton T-shirt. Also the staff are very friendly.

The pool area bar staff are very friendly, however I was not impressed with the food and a little expensive compared to the quality and the cheap outlets across the road on the beach. My only other fault was the amount of time I had to wait after I called for help getting into my safe, no one turned up. Lucky I was able to get help from someone else I travelling with.

The hotel was clean, however my room did have a slight damp smell at first.
I will stop here again.
And I agree with the other poster about the slopping breakfast bar top. Crazy needs to be changed.

Room Tip: High view with a low end number so you are closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and for your detailed feedback. We are glad to hear that you have nice moments in our Hotel. |We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Hotel in in a wonderful place, and with a very beautiful view to the Barra Beach. The Hotel is very expensive, but the overall quality is very good.
The Rooms are big enough for a nice stay, with a very good bed, a small "Kitchen" with a microwave for quick meals, a nice desk to work and a very nice area for rest. The balcony is bit enough with a wonderful view to the beach of Barra.
The service is OK ... People are overall nice and friendly, but the service lacks some quality. The hotel looks very ncie from the outside, but on the inside it needs already some work.

For the price, it is hard to say that it is a nice deal, but as i was in a business trip, i enjoyed the quality of the Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Well...there really isn't much positive or negative to say about the Sheraton Barra. It is incredibly expensive for starters...and frankly not worth it. It is badly in need of a makeover. It just seems like the management of that hotel is lazy. The lobby area is sparse and impersonal. The bar is small...and lacks any appeal at all. It's worth little more than a place to grab a beer while you are waiting for your party to assemble before going out. The bar by the pool isn't much better and the staff is inattentive.

The only option for breakfast (unless you want to order room service) is an overpriced buffet at the restaurant. Again, the service is lackluster...and the food mediocre. The problem is that there are no breakfast options near the hotel. There is a bar and grill about 2 blocks to the west and a steakhouse restaurant about 2 blocks to the east. So...not much choice for lunch or dinner either.

Now for the rooms...wow. Talk about a waste of space. The rooms have tiled floors and cheap woodworking...All of the rooms have an ocean view and the walls on one side are sliding glass doors...which makes it all better. The furniture is tattered. The good news is that the corners are clean...and that matters to me.

the beach is right across the road...which is pretty convenient.

Overall...it's just OK, but at $400 plus a night...That's just not OK.

Room Tip: I have stayed in two different rooms and they were identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheFly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here for only 8 hours as part of a business trip. People were friendly. Room was very well sized. Nice view from the beach (which I never even touched). All these Hotels in Copacabana are beach front but you need to cross the crowded street to get there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpllanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much to choose Sheraton Barra for your stay in Rio de Janeiro for your business trip. We appreciate that you’ve enjoyed our hotel and we hope you can give us another chance of hosting you again in the future.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok, old and u can smell humidity everywhere especially in the room.
No heater in the room, room was quite cold at night.
All in all, too pricy for the quality.
The rate is excessive as well.
The facility is ok for a quick stay and if you want to stay in barra.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ametwalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference and for sending your feedback through this channel. We are disappointed to know that our room’s condition didn’t meet your expectation. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences this may have caused you.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#25 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Barra
Windsor Barra
#35 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#26 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#22 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#18 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel

Property: Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 3150, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22630-010, Brazil (Formerly Radisson Hotel Barra)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#60 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the ocean and mountains in the city’s most modern neighborhood, Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel is surrounded by extensive lakes, stunning beaches and the exuberant Atlantic Forest. With modern design and impeccable decoration, Sheraton Barra offers 292 spacious guestrooms and suites, all with private balconies and overlooking the ocean. For your relaxation, Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel offers 2 outdoor pools, one for adults and another for children, an international cuisine restaurant, Fitness Center with modern workout devices, open-air hot tubs, dry and steam saunas, a squash court, playground and beach service. Located in the middle of a thriving garden is the Vila Spa, - with 5 bungalows for body treatments and exclusive bath rituals and massages that ensure a harmonious balance between body and mind. For all types of events, the Hotel offers 9 event rooms that hold up to 400 people, with all the required equipment infrastructure and technology, in addition to an experienced team of professionals to provide support for corporate or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Barra Hotel And Suites
Sheraton Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Sheraton Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sheraton
Sheraton Barra Rio De Janeiro Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing