We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately not for the business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Ranked #130 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately not for the business traveller”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Resort hotel, great for a vacation. Ever felt trapped in a hotel - then this is the place. Only one bar/restaurant within walking distance, hotel is a no go for eatibg. Breakfast costs US$ 30.00 for a buffet, internet connection cost US$20.00 per day, staff are indifferent. Great pool and staff plus pool bar and restaurant, must be a franchise, closes at 8.00pm.
During my visit, on check out they tried to charge me double for items I had charged - beware all travellers, these people feign a lack of english to just rip you off like a blind man.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louraboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    441
    264
    138
    94
See reviews for
347
333
61
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The Pros: Location - clean, uncrowded beach is across the street. Never felt like we were in danger, even at night.

Very clean hotel and room. Great bed, perfect climate control. Balcony was wonderful. Breakfast very good. Pool area is simply fantastic, especially for young children, not crowded.

The Cons: Location - far from everything, even the local Mcdonald's - MUST take taxi, or bus if you're feeling a bit more adventurous. However, you can do whirlwind tour of Rio in a day (the one arranged by the hotel wasn't exactly cheap, but ZERO complaints, the tour guide was fantastic). Overall, Brazil is very expensive though. The local food joints are pricey too. Even the nearby mall wasn't cheap.

Other misses: it's a pricey hotel, but don't expect perfection, i.e., little things like things missing from your room service orders, everyone a bit tardy, etc. We had perfect weather, so perhaps it affected our judgement, but overall a positive stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJulia_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Sheraton Barra with your family, specially our pool area.
Thank you for writing this review. We hope to receive you and your family again at Sheraton Barra
Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We decided to try the Sheraton Barra as it looked newer and nicer than the Sheraton Rio Hotel. This was a huge mistake.

The Sheraton Barra in a taxi to Copacabana took 45 minutes in a very expensive taxi at 7 PM. Do not stay at the Sheraton Barra if you are wanting to enjoy the main Rio areas of Ipanema and Copacabana. The location while on a beautiful beach is very far removed from central Rio de Janeiro. The beach is across a busy road but the beach is beautiful and uncrowded. The hotel is very far though from where most tourists want to stay --- Be forewarned!

We were staying in a two bedroom suite. Awful suite design - horrible. Small rooms, cramped and cheap furniture with cheap tile floors. Tacky 3 star decor. The bedrooms were so small that the beds barely squeezed into the space. The floor of the living room was a stained cheap ceramic tile. The bathrooms were tiny. Nothing about the suite was remotely luxurious nor meriting the $700 USD per night we paid for it. Housekeeping was mediocre.

The hallways had a very strong mold / mildew smell. Disgusting. Even one of the prints in our guest room had mold on the matting. Humidity is a huge issue in this hotel.

Service was frustrating and difficult. Only the front desk staff spoke English well. The rest of the staff either didn't speak a word of English (literally) or were struggling with the most basic phrases.

Room service was exagerratedly overpriced and extremely poor quality.

Swimming pool area is nice and pool is heated. This was the only worthwhile feature of the hotel.

We checked out after one night with a $1,000 USD bill and a bitter dislike for this overpriced, poorly located mediocre Sheraton. Stay closer to the main areas of Rio and avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJulia_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Dear guest,

We are deeply disappointed you faced so many issues during your stay at our hotel.
All feedback we receive is important to help us on making of improvements on our service and accommodations.
Thank you for letting us know about your experience.

Regards,
The Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

moonhope
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The location is amazing. Most rooms seem to have a view of the beach. Generally everything in Rio was way more expensive than you would likely expect. This hotel is no exception. If you want a great beach front Rio hotel, this one is a good one. I understand that if you want a "downtown" Rio experience it is an hour away. But this beach is beautiful with white sand. Locals sell fresh locally grown coconuts with straws in them for drinking on the beach for about $5 Real. However a Pina Colada in a pineapple was $35 Real. ASK first in Rio is a good rule! Hotel very clean - quaint secluded pool with pool bar. Service good with tips expected. Spa was nice, but average. Rooms are clean modern with flat screen and trendy. I had a problem with the AC and they sent someone right up. Wifi only in lobby, but said should have soon in rooms (now only w/cable access) - ask in advance if important. We did feel safe in this location and it was very beautiful. Great breakfast buffet (although pricey), but you get all the fresh local fruit you would want. Overall nice hotel, just bring lots of money. Oh - nice shopping just over a mile away...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I've visited the Sheraton Barra in October 2010. It's a good hotel with everything you need to enjoy Rio but it's definetly over priced. Also when we need someone to check the AC in our room, the person took 45min to arrive, which I consider unacceptable. I'd recommend this hotel but I wouldn't say it's the best one I've ever visited...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_in_Jamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

This hotel has an excellent view of the Barra da Tijuca beachfront, and is located just alongside the Barra da Tijuca boardwalk. The hotel, however, is far from Ipanema or Copacabana, and a taxi to these places will easily cost you between R$ 23-35. Maintenance at this hotel is poor unfortunately, and it shows (not to mention that the technical personnel are completely ignorant ). For example, if your air conditioner doesn't work, which is a common problem at this hotel (and the Sheraton Rio in Leblon), don't expect maintenance to know how to fix it; they won't. Instead, insist on another room. Shower temperature control was worn out --knob rotated endlessly and didn't provide proper water temperature. Cleanliness could be improved: Rooms had fruit flies, or stained curtains with squashed mosquitoes scattered along the walls or ceiling. Toilets didn't properly flush. For rooms starting at R$400 and up (with executive suites over R$900), I was disappointed. The pool, spa, and fitness facilities are excellent, nevertheless, and the restaurant boasts an adequate selection of local, and popular favorites with quality wines. The bar provides a complimentary drink, and the link@sheraton gives you complimentary internet. The staff are friendly, helpful, and the vast majority speak English. Conclusion: The hotel is just satisfactory, prices should be lowered, and aside from the view, there's nothing outstanding. If you prefer to stay in Barra, however, it's not a bad choice. SPG members get perks like free internet etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conoisseur2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This hotel is in Barra...about 15-20 minutes away from Ipanema...FWI. But, if you are looking for a modern option a little outside of Rio, it's a good choice. Staff was nice and professional. Pool and hot tubs are nice, and the bar service poolside is very good. Beach service is good, and we sat in our chairs and had 2 ice cold beers delivered in about 30 seconds...Barra is an upscale suberb of Rio, and there are some fun restaurant options, like Pizzaria Braz, very close by. It's actually not to far from GIG, as there is the Red Line highway, that bypasses downtown and goes right to Barra.
If you go downtown , the taxi will ask you if you want to take the tunnel, or the road that follows the coast line. The tunnel is usually a little faster and cheaper, but less scenic. Taxis cost to Posto 9 was about R30...airport about R100 + tolls.
Room was a mini-suite, and I think all rooms have an ocean view. Very safe to walk the boardwalk (biera mar) in front of the hotel, with a few baracas where you can have a cold beer or agua de coco and look down at the beach. free wifi and computers in lobby, but not in room...they said they were working on that...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bouldercolorado45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Barra
Windsor Barra
#38 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,492 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#26 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,506 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#24 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#22 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
519 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
#7 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
573 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#18 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel

Property: Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 3150, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22630-010, Brazil (Formerly Radisson Hotel Barra)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#60 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the ocean and mountains in the city’s most modern neighborhood, Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel is surrounded by extensive lakes, stunning beaches and the exuberant Atlantic Forest. With modern design and impeccable decoration, Sheraton Barra offers 292 spacious guestrooms and suites, all with private balconies and overlooking the ocean. For your relaxation, Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel offers 2 outdoor pools, one for adults and another for children, an international cuisine restaurant, Fitness Center with modern workout devices, open-air hot tubs, dry and steam saunas, a squash court, playground and beach service. Located in the middle of a thriving garden is the Vila Spa, - with 5 bungalows for body treatments and exclusive bath rituals and massages that ensure a harmonious balance between body and mind. For all types of events, the Hotel offers 9 event rooms that hold up to 400 people, with all the required equipment infrastructure and technology, in addition to an experienced team of professionals to provide support for corporate or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Barra Hotel And Suites
Sheraton Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Sheraton Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sheraton
Sheraton Barra Rio De Janeiro Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing