We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely classice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2011

great service, great architecture, lovely pool. pricey cocktails by the pool but to be expected. feels old school and lovely. note that this beach is not that best beach in rio and if you want to be able to walk to dinner, find another hotel, but it really is a classic experience if you don't mind a taxi. all the hip restaurants and bars are in ipanema and leblon tho...

roof top tennis court is in great shape, very nice and they bring you water and towels when playing!

Room Tip: ocean view worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savvytruereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiana_luiz, Gerente geral at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for posting you comments following your stay with us.

I was extremely pleased to read your kind comments and I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Andréa Natal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,307)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Copacabana Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 3,309 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

I had booked a room through Expedia; the hotel didn't much like that, and the woman at reception was quite unfriendly at first. (If hotels don't want you to book through Expedia, they shouldn't sell rooms there.) I wanted an extra cot because a friend joined us unexpectedly. The clerk resisted, but finally said they would put a cot in the room -- but we would have to wait. So we didn't get a room till after 7 p.m. (They did give us free drink by the pool while we waited.)

There were only two towels in the room (for three guests), so I called housekeeping and was told they would deliver another towel. We went to dinner, returned at 10:30 p.m. No towel. I called housekeeping; they promised to deliver towel. At 11:10 I called again, and said I would come get a towel because we wanted to go to bed. The housekeeping manager delivered a towel. The problem, apparently, was that our room was on a floor that was filled with people from Fox films, who were there for the premiere of the new animated film, "Rio." The film people seemed to think that the corridors were part of their rooms. Equipment everywhere. Noise till all hours of the night, and starting again at 6 a.m. On the second day, housekeeping still had not come to our room by 7 p.m. (apparently blocked by the film people). I went to front desk to ask if we could get a different room. Same clerk as the night before. I explained the noise and the lack of housekeeping. She was VERY helpful, and put us into a suite on an upper floor at no extra charge. The next three days, the service could not have been better. Excellent food, excellent swimming pool. The staff were very pleasant and called me by name. Wonderful location, across the street from the beach; the hotel has great lounge cots on the beach, towel service, water, etc.

After the first night, I was ready to write a scathing review. But they made up for it, and I will definitely go back there on my next trip to Rio.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Great location and great atmosphere of old fashioned hotel. Furniture and appearance of inside amenities look as antique. High ceilings and carpets in my ocean front suit really impressed. Fantastic view over Capacabana beach and Atlantic. Bathroom is rather tidy but clean and nice. Food is great especially fruits and Brazilian specialties. Vine is overpraised - 50 Euro per glass of Italian Rose looks strange. Making a bad in the evenings is scheduled too late and I had to chase cleaning lady doing so.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiana_luiz, General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Copacabana Palace.

We hope you had a pleasant visit.

As we continuously try to improve the quality of our standards, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to write to us with your views.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Andréa Natal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Fantastic! I love it. If you go to Rio, you must stay there. The only bad point is the price, very expensive

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ND0Nsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiana_luiz, Gerente geral at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Copacabana Palace

Please also be assured that I have passed your very kind comments to all of the staff concerned.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Andréa Natal
Copacabana Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The Copacabana Palace is a world class iconic hotel managed by the excellent Orient Express hotel company. By Brazilian standards this is a 5 star hotel - the best in Rio. But by international standards the Copacabana Palace is a top notch 4 1/2 star property..

The good:

Excellent service provided by a very well trained and genuinely enthusiastic staff. Most staff members speak English fluently to moderately well which is a genuine luxury in Rio de Janeiro.

Housekeeping was excellent. Very detailed room servicing and the room was very well prepared twice per day.

Front desk and Concierge services were excellent. The concierge dining and Carnaval celebration recommendations were ideal. There are a few Clefs d'or "gold keys" concierge behind the desk at the Copacabana Palace and they are an invaluable asset to the hotel.

We stayed in the annex wing in an oceanview / poolview suite and our friend had an "avenue view" city view suite. For $1,060 USD per night the suite was spacious and nicely appointed. Was it worth $1,060 USD per night? In Paris, New York or London it would be a great deal. Rio de Janeiro is now a very expensive city due to the appreciation of the Brazilian Real against the USD. The hotel provides ok value for money - not good value - but acceptable given the devaluation of the USD against the Brazilian Real.

The "Avenue View" city view suites are 1/2 the price and are spacious and well appointed. However the view is of tenement / apartment blocks and is not attractive. If you're on a budget these suties are a good option.

We did see a suite in the main historic building with very high ceilings and lots of historic charm. However the poolview suites in the annex wing are much nicer and have better views.

Food and beverage is extremely expensive even by 5 star international hotel standards. Poolside menu and food quality are very poor and completely unacceptable. The menu is awful, extremely overpriced and the food quality is shockingly poor.

Breakfast buffet is ample and the hotel has an excellent pastry chef. Egg station and waffle station. Nice selecton of breakfast foods with excellent service.

Lunch buffet is overpriced and mediocre. Carnaval day we had brunch and it was approximately $500 USD for three persons. Outrageous for ordinary food; it was simply not worth the price charged.

Cipriani, the signature dining venue, has a wonderful menu and is a gorgeous dining venue. Other guests raved about the food and service. I'm sure it is wonderful but we did not have the proper wardrobe so didn't experience Cipriani. It's undoubtably the most formal dining venue in Rio de Janeiro. Breathtakingly expensive and I'm certain it's worth every Real.

Gym and spa are relatively new and 5 star quality. Very nice facility.

Why is this hotel not a genuine 5 star by international standards? Carpets in public areas and hallways need replaced. The exterior of the hotel needs a good scrub and painting. Food and beverage needs a bit of attention. Charging for Nespresso coffee capsules in a $1,060 USD per night suite is completely unacceptable. Small details like this hold the hotel back from genuine 5 star status.

However this is by miles the best hotel in Rio de Janeiro. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiana_luiz, General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write to us with your views.

I sincerely want our guest to experience an enjoyable stay here, and feedback such as yours is vital towards accomplishing that goal. I really appreciate receiving comments, especially, suggestions on how to improve services.

Thank you for choosing the Copacabana Palace and we are looking forward to welcome you once more in the near future.

Best Regards,

Andréa Natal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We spent 4 nights in this amazing hotel. The rooms and the hotels itself were so beautiful.
There were only 2 things that we were surprised by and I would like to mention:
1. Hotels stuff speaks surprisingly bad English
2. Concierge of the hotels usually has good recommendations and helps you in any way you want; here it was either their (most of the time overpriced way or nothing).
We were looking into tour options with different companies and they wouldn't help us on this. If you don't care how much what costs and just want to enjoy the ride.... You will have no problem and you will truly enjoy the ride!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verca00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiana_luiz, General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Copacabana Palace.

We hope you had a pleasant visit.

We are very grateful for your constructive criticism. We would like inform you that necessary action has been taken to correct the points you mentioned.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Andréa Natal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This hotel is more like a resort. It is totally self-sufficient with its own restaurants, pool, tennis court, spa, etc. If you are concerned about crime in Rio, this is a great place to go and enjoy the weather and the sea, without risking getting mugged or robbed.

And if you want to see the city, the hotel will help you with a guided tour and transportation. This also drastically reduces the risk of any bad stop happening to you. I was here with my wife on our honeymoon. Since this was not just another vacation, I was pretty concerned with crime situation in Rio. Almost all of my friends and acquaintances cautioned me and told some scary stories, which made my concerns even greater.

I was glad we stayed at CP. We were able to enjoy ourselves, while adjusting to Rio and getting ready to immerse ourselves in the city life. The service is superb, but perhaps a bit over the top at times. The hotel is gorgeous, clean, and huge. The rooms are wonderful. And the location is very nice as well, although I would try to stay in Ipanema, if I got another chance to go... it's a lot more trendy than Copacabana, with more restaurants and shops.

Overall, I loved my stay... great hotel and we got used to being in the lap of luxury pretty quick. One word of caution, this is not inexpensive. And some things, like dining options are pretty pricey for the rather pedestrian manu they offer. We shelled out the cash because this was our honeymoon, and even then we got our package at a reduced rate through a special offer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masyunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiana_luiz, General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Copacabana Palace.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as your and to know that we are caring for our guest properly.

I do hope you will not leave it too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Copacabana Palace.


My best wishes to you.


Andréa Natal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,698 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,421 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,202 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#4 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,478 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £199 - £578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing