We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

So after spending a few nights at a hotel down the other end of Copacabana which was terrible we decided to treat ourselves to a few nights here so we can feel normal again (and also shower without holding our noses to avoid the sewer stench). We are on a tour around South America and whilst it has been amazing the choice of Rio hotels has been under par. Whilst the Palace is 3x the price of our tour hotel it is 100x more luxurious. We got a beach view room newly renovated and I cried upon entering it. Everything is amazing. So worth the cost and wish I had booked a few more nights. Wonderful view, shower and new bath, lots of products to use. Feel like a new person. Service is also friendly and everyone speaks english. Pool area whilst not resort style is more than adequate. Short wander across the road and you are on the beach!!! Coming from AUD we are used to paying a lot of money for hotel food and supermarket food. So whilst I am sure the restaurant prices are 'expensive' they would still be considered cheaper than if you were is Australia. Supermarkets are on the street back from the hotel and we brought some wine and drinks for the room rather than use the mini bar. Breakfast is very South American. Lots of breads, pastries, fruit. Plenty to eat. Some hot food but nothing fantastic. Love love love this hotel. It is well priced but compared to some of the other 'well priced 3*' accommodation in copa you get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherieClenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,399
    527
    146
    47
    38
See reviews for
523
1,406
176
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
186 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Great location, great rooms and food, nice pool. Huge bathrooms and great shower, complimentary havaianas. Obviously the place is very expensive, but worths every penny. Heads up, the best beach now its not copacabana. Its ipanema. (about 15 reais taxi ride, 10 minutes from the hotel) posto 9 is the one you are looking for.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luisitorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

That was truly a dream of my BF! We had an amazing time in th copa! We spend a whole week from thursday to thursday that pass quickly but it was very nice! We loved most everything expet that the place should have more music around the pool area it was missing some music even a mellow sound would make a difference!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craizyforio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I just returned from a week at the Copacabana Palace in Rio and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Highlights:

Pool: great service, especially Nolan who was attentive and kept the cocktails flowing. it is open 24 hours and is kept at a very comfortable temperature. The only downfall is that it loses sun exposure by 2:00 in the afternoon

Rooms: we had a suite and it was very spacious, with a large separate sitting room and two balconies. The bed was comfortable, with a heavy duvet. Nice toiletries and the maid service was impeccable.

Beach: chair service at the beach, right across the street

Food: Poolside bar served delicious food, only downfall was very slow service and the waitstaff seemed confused half the time. The buffet in the restaurant was delicious but very expensive.

All in all, a great stay and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
761 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel has a very attractive exterior unlike the majority of other hotels which occupy the beach front. It sits in a great location at Copacabana Beach and is well placed for the sights of Rio. Our junior suite was vast and well equipped. The breakfast buffet was fabulous, charged at around £30 pp though our 5 year old went free. The pool area is pleasant though at busy periods such as during our visit the sun loungers were crammed in and pool service was found wanting. Aside from that service was good all round. We dined at the smart restaurant Cipriani, the food was good but not thrilling and the restaurant itself didn't feel particularly special, perhaps as we had passed through it several times daily en route to our room and the bar attached is a dreary affair. The trendy night time bar, Bar Copa charges a hefty entrance fee which feels a bit of a cheek when you are staying at the hotel. All in all a good base for Rio but it hasn't entered my list of fab hotels of the World.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Recently returned from a week stay at this hotel. We arrived at 11 and did not get our room until five oclock that evening. The service was very slow took over an hour to get something to eat at the pool bar. In the evenings we would sit in pool bar to have a few drinks but that would take 30 minutes to get a drink.Our room on the 5th floor was nice and housekeeping was excellent but our friends had rooms on first floor and it was stained carpets furniture and whole floor had smell. The bed was the highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: Ask not to be on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightB603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I am not here to write about the hotel which looks amazing and is probably the best in copacobana. I am writing here to warn you about the bar / club. I went there with a colleague to have a drink. We went through two layers of entry / security and at no point did anyone mention an entry price. There was also no signs mentioning entry prices. After one drink (£8 per drink which is reasonable given the establishment) we left. Upon receiving the bill they tried to charge us an entry fee of around £40 per person! So for one drink each it effectively cost us nearly £100. Despite speaking to the bar manager (who was of no use) and the hotel manager (who claimed he understood but did nothing) we left having to pay an ridiculous sum of money for what was one drink each. So be warned - despite no mention of an entry fee there is a huge one! And this seems to only be applicable to tourists (the Brazilian girl who was in front of me and paying her bill was not charged any fentry fee whatsoever because I saw what she was being charged). All in all a real shame. An amazing place which rips people off and a manager who claimed to have the power but clearly doesn't...... Don't fall into the same trap

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank lloydy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiana_luiz, Assistant to the GM at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Sir,
I feel really sorry about any misunderstandings and the poor impression that you had of Bar do Copa.

I would like to add that every guest should be informed about the entry price in the the two acess doors. In the case of guests staying in the Hotel , they only pay this amount on Fridays and Saturdays.

I can assure you that we always review our procedures in order to improve our services.

It is our goal to provide excepcional service on every occasion, and I hope you will provide us with the oportunity to restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Property: Belmond Copacabana Palace
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Belmond, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing