We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Rio”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It was a great experience not only in Rio, also at the hotel, we spent about 3 incredible days and the service inside the hotel is more than excellent!!
The Food was really good, The staff in the lobby were very friendly and helped us all the time, they gave us the tips to visit around, being on the beach, and walks in Rio
have a pool next to the restaurant in the hotel that we enjoy the last day we had, the room was always clean and tidy for us and the perfect clime day and night. We definitely want to return!

Room Tip: I think the best would be overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatGood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive impressions related to your stay with us. It is very grateful to know that we achieve our goal to provide excellence in our service and pleasant memories.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,397
    527
    146
    47
    38
See reviews for
523
1,404
176
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and staff. The location was impeccable. Food was amazing and the caipirinhas was to die for. This hotel is centrally location in town. Very close to everything. From the beach to market. The room service and concierge were excellent, professional, and very courteous. Lovely staff and hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkcalip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for posting your comments. We are very satisfied to know about your remarkable stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights over New Years in the new wing. Beautiful rooms, located right in front of the concert stage at Copa beach and the fireworks, and a terrific atmosphere made our stay unforgettable. It is staggeringly expensive during the peak holiday period but worth it if you can afford it. Room service food was average but the service and buffet spread was great. Would definitely stay again if I went back to Rio

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony2stony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to express how grateful we are to read your comments. New Years' eve celebration in Rio is magic and attracts people from several parts of Brazil and World and we are in this context, as a luxury hotel, to provide and potencialize memorable impressions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked a suite (150) and although the design is a little bit chincy and dated nonetheless the hotel is lovely and the service is very good.

I can not say the service is as good as a Dorchester or Peninsular but it is still pretty good and we had a lovely time at the hotel.

Good gym, lovely pool and the hotel has some nice history.
Fab breakfast. One of the best.
I would rcommend the hotel and return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WDM186419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sending your comments. It is amazing to know that you've got a wonderful time with us. It is our constant effort to improve our services and provide the best assistance to our guest and clients.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Really fantastic hotel and service.

Fantastic room and you can feel the history of the hotel!

Little things. We had a buffet lunch on the Friday and then sat down to have it again on the Saturday. When we got the bill it was about 3-4 times as much as the day before. When we asked it was because it was a seafood buffet. My gf and I do not eat seafood and so had no paid attention to that part of the buffet. It was an honest mistake and the hotel charged us the same as the day before. This is completely different to my experiences of other hotels in Brasil who are usually rude and inflexible.

I have stayed in the Fasano as well. Both are nice but this one just edges it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your impressions about our hotel. We consider as a strong responsability to always offer a friendly, polite and excelent services to our guests and clients It is very grateful to know that we were able to please you and exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Old Copa continues to be the best hotel in Rio de Janeiro and its five-star rating is due not only to its infrastructure - ample rooms, great sleeping, plush towels, amazing amenities - but also to the incomparable service. I dare say that no other hotel in Brazil has the same standard of attention and care to the guests´ needs. Pity it sits in a city much degraded by the thieves who run it, and who let Copacabana Beach itself fall prey to filth, informal commerce, outright low-level prostitution... but Copacabana Palace is an oasis away from the sores of Rio. If you can afford it, don´t think twice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have a bit of beach view and are totally slient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTPalazzoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your impressions regarding to our Hotel. It is so amazing to be informed that you've got a unforgettable stay with us. "Oasis" is a very beautiful word. Concerning to Rio, it faces problems and challenges belonging to large metropolis and strives to provide better conditions to its inhabitants and visitors.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Copacabana palace staff provided excellent service and the facilities are fantastic. The pool is refreshing and clean, and the hotel is located near the beach. My only qualm with the hotel is the location. The area is seedy, and there are too many beggars asking for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanchez583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We really apreciated to read our comments and know that you enjoyed very much your stay. Regarding to Copacabana District, the authorities are making improvements and there are local associations to help in this challenges in our surroundings.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,323 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,570 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,148 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,052 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Property: Belmond Copacabana Palace
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing