We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Copacabana Palace
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$84
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Transamerica Prime Barra(Rio de Janeiro)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)
US$254
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Windsor Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orla Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atlantis Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,528)
Filter reviews
3,528 results
Traveller rating
2,698
575
160
50
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,698
575
160
50
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscipriani restaurantmain buildingiconic hotelgrand damepoolside restaurantpool areapool staffcity viewguest relationsbeautiful poolturn down serviceluxurious hotelfive star hotelour honeymoonconcierge deskhotel guestsbeach service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
934 - 939 of 3,528 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had the most wonderful time in Rio ....... What a vibrant city. We stayed 7 days and found something even more exciting to do each day . The people were just fantastic and we found it really hard to leave. One day hopefully we can come back.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. It is very nice that you loved Rio and the Copacabana Palace! Indeed we strong recommend that you return because there are many other experiences and places to discover and explore.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed there last week expecting the best. It turned out they are over stretched, slightly understaffed. Concierge was excellent but they at times get very busy.
Breakfast however did offer the finest collection of fruits I have ever seen in a while. Their location facing the pool is nice.
Room service gets slow at times.
The beach across the hotel is extremely overcrowded and they open up their own stall( chairs) as late as 9am and close down by 6 pm not allowing early or late comers from the hotel to participate. Anyone wanting to stay at he hotel for the lure of the beach ...be warned donot spend your money...the beach is past it's glory, with extreme overcrowding, at times dirty.
Rooms were however spacious, with nice bathrooms.
Probably staying at hotels on Ipanema beach few kilometers away will be better.
Overall a great place to stay to "boast", but compared to some fantastic other "world's leading hotels" of the world we have stayed in, this one falls short of the reputation it has.I would consider Inkaterra group in Cuzco a better deal! Or OBEROI Villas or Taj palace!mumbai, in India to be far superior in service and hospitality. Orient express group will need to improve on their hospitality, " smile" factor more if they want to live up to their reputation.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Drkeyurparikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay at the Copacabana Palace, however, noting your positive comments such as the location of the pool, rooms and bathrooms. And we also would like to thank you for sharing your concerns regarding the Copacabana´s overcrowded beach and we afraid we couldn't avoid this kind of external circumstances and hope that you could understand our limitation. Although our own staff (chairs) are available from 8 a.m to 06 p.m, we are glad to extend this service when it is requested by our guest. We also would like to add that we have been implementing a special intensive staff training, as it is our intention to insure that our service to guests is worthy of, as you say, compared to some fantastic other "world´s leading hotels" of the world that you have stayed in, and I assure you that the comfort and wellbeing of guests is our prime concern and please be so kind to accept our apologies regarding the lack of service that you have encountered.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and what a prefect stay it was. The whole atmosphere of this hotel was fantastic. The room was spectacular, the service phenomenal , great attention to detail and everyone extremely friendly. Out of this world!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Casper V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your very positive feedback. We are glad to be informed about your remarkable stay with us and the several commendations regarding to our hotel.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

On the one side, I don't want to judge too harshly about this hotel because it is has certain benefits you can enjoy, such as really high ceiling in the rooms, very complete breakfast with wide range of exotic fruits, nice lounge/swimming pool area next to it, and it is right in front of the ocean.

But on the other side, I can not avoid mentioning aspects which made me dislike this place. First is unbelievably slow internet, and that is for the price of high speed internet ($45 a day). Even checking email was a great problem. It can be ok for few days, but when you are locked for a week there unable to do most simple stuff on your computer it is just frustrating. I called the service person, who said he will fix it in ten minutes, but literally nothing changed after that, it was as turtle speed as before. There was row of other troubles I experienced, but they were less significant. For example, right when I arrived to my room, I found my bathroom in a complete disaster - sink was leaking and there were lots of water all over the floor in the bathroom. I had to call 3 times maintenance until they brought a person to fix it (he did it quickly then).

Be aware that at the concierge desk they don't provide you with good information about restaurants. I was looking for Churrascaria, and only places employee recommended were in Botafogo, Downtown and near Maracana - in other words very far places. And she did not mention two absolutely amazing churrascarias which were right in walking distance from hotel, one literally 30 meters from it, and another about 15 minutes walk (to the east direction). And for the sushi place, she would only tell about restaurant in Leblon (quite far), although there are as well some other ones.

Just a tip about tour guides they offer at a hotel - I would not recommend bus tour to Corcovado and Sugar Loaf, it is in total 4 hours of traffic and 15 minutes of actual sightseeing in each place. It is better instead to go on your own and take a beautiful train to Corcovado, and to Sugar Loaf you can walk or bike and then take a cable car. I would definitely recommend rental bike service ($20 dollars an hour), although, you can also rent bike at a rental bike station, it is also cheaper. But the best option is to go to a football game - pricing is very sensible and the whole service is enjoyable. However, the best places in Rio are the ones, where tour guides won't carry you, such as best night clubs and dancing zones in historical center or Tijuca forest where you can spent hours of amazing walks or hippie fair in Ipanema and San Cristoforo fair where you can find lots of unique things and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Raul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize for the unexpected inconveniences that occurred during your stay with us. We found a very unusual fact that our teams have failed to resolve situations quickly and effectively. Therefore we will investigate in detail what happened. Again we kindly ask you to consider our apologies and assure you that we will take all appropriate action.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

So some of the guests are a bit showy and some of the suites may look a bit tired now but this is still one of the most iconic hotels and the staff cant do enough to ensure you have a great stay. It helped that we were offered a free upgrade but despite that would still have given 5 stars for the location, ambience and very good food. (which isnt always the case in Rio)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Shabba64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you very much for the kind words about our hotel. We would like to add that the main building was recently refurbished and it is our constant concern to set improvements in order to make our accomodations better than ever.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews