We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is by far the best place to stay in Rio. The property is very nice and the location is excellent. That being said, there are a few improvements to be made. The rooms were very nice and clean but the service is very slow at all of the restaurants and the concierge needs to be reminded frequently of what you asked them too book etc. Also, we went to run the Rio marathon, half of the hotel guests were running it and they had no clue were the expo was or where the start was. There are 12,000 runners who run this, it is a big event and every other hotel we stopped in had drivers ready to go and maps for the expo. Also, Rio in general is noisy and stays up late so book a room up high not facing the street if you want to go to bed anytime before 3:00 a.m.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEFSEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,314)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Copacabana Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 3,315 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just spent five nights at the Copacabana Place in Rio. The best word I can use for this hotel is Convenient. The restored hotel is magnificent with the rooms having 16' ceilings, updated marble bathrooms and the King ocean front room with sofa, chair, and desk has plenty of room to stretch your legs. With twin closets and sinks, a huge bathtub and large shower, you will not be bumping into your partner. The Concierge services are very helpful and everyone on the staff could not be more pleasant. Our reservation for Ciprani, their Italian restaurant got lost with the online booking, but their are many very good restaurants in Rio. Being right on Copacabana beach is a real treat. Their Spa also was very well run and offered many excellent therapists. Overall, looking forward to coming back for Carnival in 2015. Treat yourself to a stay this hotel. You won't go wrong.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was our first time at the hotel. Excellent location in Copacabana. Our room had ocean view that was spectacular. The room was beautifully appointed and like the entire property there was lots of character. We were given a tour to what used to be the casino area and it was beautiful. The swimming pool is fantastic, open 24/7, heated and a privilege at the end of the day. The two restaurants were great: breakfast buffet at Pergula had lots of options including exotic and super fresh fruits along with the other standard features. They were open for orders as well which was very nice. We had a great experience at Cipriani both on the night of our arrival as well as for Christmas Eve dinner - fantastic. The hotel staff was what made the whole experience unforgettable, from the door man, front desk, security, restaurants, swimming pool area - everyone everywhere at the property went all the way to please us no matter what. We even saw some guests making what looked to us unreasonable demands and the staff was always gentle and making it work for them. The staff represent Rio's vocation for tourism and that's what makes this city so special, despite, to my eyes, the poor infrastructure for tourism and the very visible social differences. This makes one wonder why politicians are throwing away the opportunity of making this city a tourism hub in the country that could generate wealth for all. The people at this city is so warm and welcoming that makes the experience so wonderful. Copacabana Palace helps tourists feel that they belong and should come back and visit this city again. Unforgettable.

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice but I must say that the 6th floor is really wonderful, with a view to die...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed only one night at this hotel. Me and my girlfriend live in Rio, but I decided to go with her to a nice hotel to celebrate our relationship anniversary. I made a reservation at the simplest rooms they have, and we had a great stay there. I recommend this hotel. If you can afford, it is worth it. The breakfast is great, full of options that will match any taste. They even surprised us with some extras that we were not expecting at all. My tip for who wants to get a room at this hotel, but wants to save some money is: get the cheapest rooms, they are amazing.

Room Tip: I got the cheapest room and I can say that they are already amazing. The bathroom, then... Staying a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spend a day that we will never forget in our lives at he Copacabana Palace, and we could not have chosen a better place to celebrate. Very exclusive, very well appointed. We felt as if we were going back into time of a more noble, chic and formal Rio de Janeiro. It was as if we could walk down the hall and run into a Bardot or Marilyn Monroe. Very classy and they have captured the old spirit adding some necessary upgrades and maintaining service levels.

I just wish it could be more affordable so we could go more often!

Was this helpful? Please let me know.

Room Tip: Beachfront Suite if you can afford it...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knownews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

This is our second time and this hotel is just amazing for its service.

Room are good and big. Swimming pool and restaurants are great.

But the best thing here is the service. People are helpful, always smiling, anticipating your needs, advising smartly.

We always travel in luxury hotels and we strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Ilane2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Copacabana Palace was the last hotel we stayed at on our honeymoon. Having stayed in various places in Argentina, where no one acknowledged we were on our honeymoon, to arrive at the Copacabana Palace and have our honeymoon acknowledged at check-in was refreshing. Not only that, they sent a bottle of champagne to our room, which was really lovely and made us feel very special.
I cannot rate the staff highly enough - from the Doorman to the concierge, to the cleaning staff to the restaurant staff - everyone is really friendly and does everything they can to ensure you have an excellent stay at their hotel. And an excellent stay is exactly what we had!
To be honest, Ipanema is a better location than Copacabana but I doubt there is a hotel that can live up to the experience you have at the Copacabana Palace and we will certainly be staying here again when next we are in Rio.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,704 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,425 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,208 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#4 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,478 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £199 - £557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing