We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Transamerica Prime Barra(Rio de Janeiro)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Copacabana Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atlantis Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,529)
Filter reviews
3,529 results
Traveller rating
2,698
575
160
51
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,698
575
160
51
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscipriani restaurantmain buildingiconic hotelgrand damepoolside restaurantpool areapool staffcity viewguest relationsbeautiful poolturn down serviceluxurious hotelfive star hotelour honeymoonconcierge deskhotel guestsbeach service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 3,529 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had to visit the Palace Hotel, it is an icon of Rio. We had a cocktail and nibbles by the pool. Very pleasant experience and not overpriced which was nice. Lovely mood lighting and music to match made the experience memorable

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zmaragdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is meant to be Rio's best grand hotel .

Well compared with anywhere else I have been in the world this hotel does not deserve five stars !

Apart from the location everything about it , rooms , service food are very average indeed !

In view of Brazils plans with the Olympics and the foot ball hotels there including this one remain a big problem .

I have been three times and would not return by choice , if this is the best in Rio goodness knows what the alternatives are like !

Expensive poor value

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to express our deep concern after reading your review. Although your stay was on october and you reported your insatisfaction a couple of days ago, we really need your kind cooperation to provide more details and we will make all the efforts to check. Please, feel free to access our homepage www.copacabanapalace.com and select to contact us, filling with all the information you can and we will return you promptly.
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We are in Rio for 2 months for work, and decided to treat ourselves to a night in this iconic hotel. The building is so beautiful, both inside and out! We enjoyed our stay very much, but at R$1700 per night, I am allowed to pick a few nits.
I made the reservation via the hotel website (after comparing various sites, the actual hotel website offered the best price) and requested a dinner reservation. It seems that this request was not passed on.
Since the hotel offers beach service, we decided to cross the road and take advantage. The section on the beach is quite small. It is recognizable by the branded umbrellas, but that is the only hint you are at the right place. The shelter for the umbrellas and staff is not marked or branded, and looks just as shabby as all the other little shelters. There was a guy in a blue speedo who more or less ignored us, even though we were clearly looking for some assistance. When we approached him, he said there was only one sun bed free. He took of the previous guest's towels and put clean ones down for us. I thought they could have more sun beds, because there were only about then, it was the middle of summer, and the hotel seemed pretty full. It got better after that, once we came back from our dip in the ocean, there were two clean towels waiting on our sun bed for us, and a little later we were offered small bottles of cold mineral water.
Bar service by the pool was fairly slow and a little unprofessional (there was plenty of staff on hand and it wasn't that busy). When we went back for a last drink after dinner, there were even less guests, we were kept waiting for ten minutes, only to be informed that the bar was about to closed. When I asked if we could still order, I was told yes, so I didn't see the point of the initial comment.
Other than that there is absolutely nothing to complain about. Reception staff were totally wonderful, the room was gorgeous, the bed incredibly comfortable, the bathroom huge with a great shower, breakfast was excellent (although waiting more than 15 minutes for 2 fried eggs seemed a bit much), and generally we felt very glamorous staying at this hotel. It was a wonderful, tranquil escape from hectic Rio, almost 24 hours in a bubble of heaven.

Room Tip: We spent a little extra or ocean view and it was worth it
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This grand institution is right in the midst of the action of Copacabana Beach. I stayed here for one night, a chance to experience the grandeur of this hotel. It has an elegant façade looking out to the beach. Checkin was very courteous and helpful, and the room was ready despite the early arrival. It was a bit of a trek to the room – around the pool to the back complex. The room was at the back of the complex on the 3rd floor. It had two balconies, one that looked on to the relatively dreary street behind the hotel, and one that looked out on to a wall. A little stretch and one could see a minute glimpse of the beach – and I mean minute. The room was very spacious indeed: a living room, separate bedroom, and quite a spacious bathroom with both bathtub and separate shower. Overall it appeared to be in good condition, although the carpet at the entrance to the room, hallways and a little in the room, all look a little worn and shabby and need of a good clean. The large closet was big enough to store baggage, provided an in-room safe. A power adaptor was provided in the room for those not on the Brazilian power plug system. One would have thought that given the $500 cost of the room, the coffee pod system would be free of charge. No way. The pool is large, and was great to swim in, and for exercise. Pool service late in the afternoon was very very slow – a 20 minute wait for an order, a 20 minute wait for delivery. There were probably 5 people beside the pool at this time. Yet attendants were hanging around. Breakfast was included in the room price, and this was inside and outside around the pool. There was a wonderful selection of fresh fruits – these were marvelous, and abundant, and the variety was highly commendable. Hot buffet foods were not terribly varied. There did not appear to be an egg station to make omelets, and if this was available, it certainly was not make clear to us by the server. What – no Brazilian Pão de Queijo? Come on. I was able to order an espresso for breakfast – it arrived about 20 minutes later and was barely luke warm. We called a bell boy to collect our baggage on checkout. This did not happen, so after 15 minutes wait we brought our own baggage to checkout. Having traveled to some 100 countries, and stayed in countless hotels over the decades, this one is somewhat overrated. You can do better in Copacabana. See my review for the Windsor Atlantica!

Room Tip: Get details about your room when you check in.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We truly apreciate your comments and it is clear that you've gotten a unforgettable stay with us. Although the very positive examples, we do need to mention about our concern regarding your observations of our service and food. We assure you that we will verify each topic you highlighted. We are focused in providing high-level assistance to our guests and customers and make constant improvements. Please, accept our sincere apologies.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a great historical hotel that has never lost its glamour even with all the new kids on the block ... You feel relaxed with superb service and the Copacabana just across the road from the hotel. Lovely comfortable rooms. Amazing.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank scotland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews