We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Copacabana Palace Hotel is located across the street from the Copacabana Beach in Rio. It is an older hotel in a prime location. The artwork is both beautiful and historic. It was very well maintained.

Our suite was absolutely beautiful. We had a separate sitting room, bedroom, and very large bathroom. We had a good view of Copacabana beach from our balcony. The room was very nicely furnished.

The one item we overlooked was enough converters for electricity. We needed to charge phones and tablets and were provided extra converters by the hotel very quickly.

We ate at the Pergola for breakfast and lunch. We enjoyed the buffet especially.

It was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view of the beach. It is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sea Ya' I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest,
It is always a great privilege for us serving our guests and providing a incredible and unforgettable experience in our hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your comments.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 3,476 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Amazing hotel great stay lovely staff, rooms fantastic well decorated bed is as comfy as can be would recommend this hotel to any one will be going back next year . Outside hotel we travelled to various places no trouble at all, if you want a special hotel to go to this is the one.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to express our sincere gratitude for your very positive review. It is a great joy to know that we were succesfull to provide a remarkable experience during your stay with us.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is known for the history. They are doing a great job with restoration and keeping the building in a good condition. Everybody wears a nice white uniform and makes you feel like you are important. Rodrigo was great in assisting/resolving any issue. He gave great recommendations. The breakfast buffet is a hit! They have everything you can imagine, great variety. The tub in the bathroom is deep and comfortable. The bed is very comfortable as well. The hotel is always smelling nice, I noticed they spray fragrance constantly. The hotel provides a beach service, I got a foot massage on the beach which was amazing! The only thing that needs to be changed is the restaurant Cipriani. DO NOT GO THERE! IT IS HORRIBLE! way over priced and the food was awful! I told a young lady about my soup which was a bowl of rice with sauce and she did nothing. She did not offer anything to make up for the awful dish.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilyane512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your valuable feedback. All the commendations are very amazing. Regarding to your viewpoint of Cipriani Restaurant, we are very concerned due to not to be usual our restaurant displeasing our guests. Feel free to provide further information in order to improve our services.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My experience with the Copacabana Palace may differ slightly, as I stayed here for 6 weeks for business.

I could not have chosen a better hotel. The staff was absolutely incredible - specifically Renata and Sabrina from the Guest Relations department. In 6 months I had quite a few restaurant and other queries and they were more than happy to assist me.

The hotel itself is a landmark, just spectacular inside and out. There were a few nights when there was a party up on the second floor of the hotel and with the lights and music it was pretty amazing.

I stayed in a few different rooms there - naturally the rooms overlooking the beach are the best, but every room I stayed in was tastefully decorated and very spacious. On another note - the breakfast is also fantastic.

I have stayed at a number of hotels, but the experience I had at the Palace was unmatched - they really went to great lengths to make my stay memorable, and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulix_Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest,
First of all, it was a great joy to read about your beautiful review. It is very interesting to see your perceptions about the rooms. Indeed they seem to have personality as itself.
Copacabana Palace Hotel has a privilege to have a exclusive and atractive atmosphere, inviting us to come back several times.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here, great staff, great concierge and great restaurants. We stayed for 10 days with a 16 month old and were made to feel welcome by all (this included the guests). Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teamtf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a great pleasure to provide all the best regarding to services and accomodations. Thank you very much for sharing your valuable and positive comments.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I find copacabana palace the best experience always! We spend days in the hotel and no one felt like leaving for nothing; I highly recommend the spa too and the staff is the best; they are always so excited, gentle and make us feel very welcome

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marcel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My experience was very rewarding, and during check in yet received an up grade room which made me much happier. I recommend the hotel for all services and facilities. I also highlight the location and all the charms of Copacabana.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,908 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,583 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#26 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#4 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,565 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#21 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,489 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#29 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £198 - £604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing