We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and downs for a 5 (??) star icon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ups and downs for a 5 (??) star icon”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Rio de Janeiro, Carnival, Copacabana Palace.
The perfect set to enjoy in high style the famous brazilian Carnival??
Nope if you choose to stay at the Copa and hope to have a five star service.
The problems were concentrated in the pool area and the restaurants...
At the poll you have an unofficial system where the pool assistants reserve for the whole day the best places for the ones that make arrangement$$ or are frequent users...even if they don't show up at any moment!! The result is that the front chairs remain partially empty all the time, and if you ask for the place you can hear answers like: the ladies on those chairs are swimming right now....you look at the pool and it is... EMPTY!
During the famous (??) saturday Feijoada ( pork and sausages with black beans dish) what was missing for more than 20 minutes... guess what?? The beans!!
At the famous (??) Sunday brunch... lot's of trays were empty and completely messed up by users and guess what?? More than 20 minutes to replace them!!
You might think..... carnival... hotelat full occupancy.... less personal. NO..!!!
In the pool and pool restaurant at a certain moment I counted more than 20 people...
Talking, making jokes, staring the infinitum ..
Supervison?? Management?? Sometimes a lady called Silvia ( if I can remember) was walking around but without noticing anything... 5 star hotel? With a hostal ( with all the respect they deserve!!) level of service!!
Just one more complain: at the famous (??) Cipriani restaurant...the french maitre that NEVER knew which was the special of the day, if the dishes that had been publicized in the weekly magazines THAT SAME WEEK were available in the kitchen - because they weren't in the menu..., if thechef could prepare a dish with a different side order... and so on. Every time he left the table to go to the kitchen to ask!!!! Crazily insane!! And we have to wait for the answer several minutes!
Do do that only with a glass of good wine... correct?? Wrong again!!! The wine list was ridicously small for a restaurant of that level... just some options, nothing outstanding... bad choice again.

The room service, the room cleanliness, the room assistance, the turndown : outstanding, fast, precise, courteous, attentive. Overall great!

So if you go to the Copa to stay in your room it's the best choice. You have to go. For the rest, the service sucks!

Just to let you know...the occupancy during the Carnival was at less than 50% !!!!!
Their worst year ever...they have blamed the (un) security for which Brazil is famous ( again).
That is absolutely not true...The security is as usual, you have to take care as in any big city, and the touristic areais full of policemen forces.
The real fact is, Copa has increased the prices, they charge you over 2000 per room per night and they provide third class level of services...
For what you pay you expect a lot more... that's why people is not going there. They don't have what they pay for!!
Go somewhere else!

Room Tip: old building , any room facing the beach or the pool. Better 2 or 3 floors that have big windows wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riguzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we take this opportunity to express our deep apologies for all inconvenience you may had as well to admit our frustration about not to meet your expectations regarding our services. All your feedback content are really relevant and are being carefully analysed in order to avoid future situations as reported. We are constantly investing in intensive training in order to improve our team's performance. Once again please accept all apologies. If you need further assistance, we will be glad to be at your disposal. Please access our web-page, wwww.copacabanapalace.com.br in the section 'contact us'.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,491
    549
    150
    48
    38
See reviews for
540
1,464
180
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel in Feb/Mar 2014. Overall, this hotel has potential, but it definitely needs some changes. I've stayed in 5-star hotels around the world (see my other reviews), and this is far from 5 stars. Here are some factual observations.

1. Our suite was infested with ants (see pictures). How did we find this out you ask? My significant other ate a piece of bedside chocolate left by the maids and she had ants in her mouth!!! She immediately gagged and we investigated further. The entire bedside table was covered in ants, which were also crawling onto the bed and elsewhere. The ants were eating the the other chocolate pieces on the table, and were all over the room. We mentioned this to the front desk, and while the front desk staff gave us a token sorry, their response was totally unacceptable. For something like this, I would have expected the hotel management to get in touch with me and at least apologize. Nothing like this happened.

2. The concierge is a bit of a disaster. They are all very nice, and things eventually worked out, but it was a painful process to get there each time. First, before arriving at the hotel, they were incredibly slow to respond to e-mails (if they responded at all). Then, some of the information they gave me was wrong (e.g., like sending the schedule for last year's Carnival). Then, when I was there, they made a lot of promises, but never followed through. For example, it took four days of stopping by the concierge before they actually got me the Sambadrome tickets I asked for. I eventually had to talk to the Head concierge (the one in the gray suit) to get things done.

3. They mischarged me for the airport transfers. They quoted me one price for the transfer, and I was charged a different amount in the bill. I am still trying to straighten this out with the hotel.

4. The beach service on Copacabana beach is pretty good. There were always seats available, and the attendants were great. The gym was ok. Pretty average for a hotel.

5. The breakfast buffet in Pergola was great (lots of great local fruits), but definitely skip it for lunch. The lunch at Pergola was incredibly expensive, and lower quality than the food at the beach-side stands along Copacabana beach.

6. The pool is very nice, and it was pretty lively. Though, it's largely in the shade for most of the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tacostuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly we would like to let you know our deep concern about what took place in your last stay. We truly would like to express our sincere apologies. Every topic listed and detailed by you, although is not usual, is very serious. We assure that they will be investigated and respective measures will be taken. Please fell free to acess our home-page in the section, contact us, in order to provide further information and data, including the situation involving the expenses of the airport transfer.
Once again, please accept our apologies.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is incredible, from the moment you arrive at the door to be greeted by friendly, efficient doorstaff, to the incredible scents they have as you enter the lobby to the stunning location. Right across the road from Copacabana Beach the hotel offers true luxury. The bedrooms are not huge but are beautifully appointed. The corridors are large, light and airy and the designs throughout the hotel are understated classical elegance.

The pool is large with beds around the edge and a pool terrace and restaurant (this is where you eat breakfast) at one end looking out onto the beach. The pool does not get any sun in the late afternoon so it is best to use the pool in the morning and the beach in the afternoon. There are hundreds of staff so you wont wait long for any request.

The breakfast was excellent with a good selection of fruit, pastries and hot food.

The beach is quite crazy but the hotel staff quickly get you a sun lounger, towel and umbrella if you need it. The hotel is right in the middle of Copacabana Beach and I have to say I preffered Ipanema Beach but both are very nice (although the sea is pretty cold).

The hotel has an excellent spa, a japanese restuarant, an Italian restaurant and the pool terrace. Rooms in the old part of the hotel do not have balconies but mine overlooked the pool which was great (room 118).

The hotel has been recently refurbished and you can definitely tell that everything is new, clean and stunning.

Room Tip: My rooms was 118 which was overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie_court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear guest,
it is a great privilege and honor for us to provide the best service and accomodations to our guests. Thank you very much for all the commendations. Our restaurants are famous and, as you mentioned, we will have a new one specialized in oriental culinary. It will be a sucess.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Copacabana Palace Hotel is located across the street from the Copacabana Beach in Rio. It is an older hotel in a prime location. The artwork is both beautiful and historic. It was very well maintained.

Our suite was absolutely beautiful. We had a separate sitting room, bedroom, and very large bathroom. We had a good view of Copacabana beach from our balcony. The room was very nicely furnished.

The one item we overlooked was enough converters for electricity. We needed to charge phones and tablets and were provided extra converters by the hotel very quickly.

We ate at the Pergola for breakfast and lunch. We enjoyed the buffet especially.

It was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view of the beach. It is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea Ya' I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear guest,
It is always a great privilege for us serving our guests and providing a incredible and unforgettable experience in our hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your comments.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel great stay lovely staff, rooms fantastic well decorated bed is as comfy as can be would recommend this hotel to any one will be going back next year . Outside hotel we travelled to various places no trouble at all, if you want a special hotel to go to this is the one.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear guest,
We would like to express our sincere gratitude for your very positive review. It is a great joy to know that we were succesfull to provide a remarkable experience during your stay with us.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is known for the history. They are doing a great job with restoration and keeping the building in a good condition. Everybody wears a nice white uniform and makes you feel like you are important. Rodrigo was great in assisting/resolving any issue. He gave great recommendations. The breakfast buffet is a hit! They have everything you can imagine, great variety. The tub in the bathroom is deep and comfortable. The bed is very comfortable as well. The hotel is always smelling nice, I noticed they spray fragrance constantly. The hotel provides a beach service, I got a foot massage on the beach which was amazing! The only thing that needs to be changed is the restaurant Cipriani. DO NOT GO THERE! IT IS HORRIBLE! way over priced and the food was awful! I told a young lady about my soup which was a bowl of rice with sauce and she did nothing. She did not offer anything to make up for the awful dish.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilyane512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your valuable feedback. All the commendations are very amazing. Regarding to your viewpoint of Cipriani Restaurant, we are very concerned due to not to be usual our restaurant displeasing our guests. Feel free to provide further information in order to improve our services.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My experience with the Copacabana Palace may differ slightly, as I stayed here for 6 weeks for business.

I could not have chosen a better hotel. The staff was absolutely incredible - specifically Renata and Sabrina from the Guest Relations department. In 6 months I had quite a few restaurant and other queries and they were more than happy to assist me.

The hotel itself is a landmark, just spectacular inside and out. There were a few nights when there was a party up on the second floor of the hotel and with the lights and music it was pretty amazing.

I stayed in a few different rooms there - naturally the rooms overlooking the beach are the best, but every room I stayed in was tastefully decorated and very spacious. On another note - the breakfast is also fantastic.

I have stayed at a number of hotels, but the experience I had at the Palace was unmatched - they really went to great lengths to make my stay memorable, and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulix_Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear guest,
First of all, it was a great joy to read about your beautiful review. It is very interesting to see your perceptions about the rooms. Indeed they seem to have personality as itself.
Copacabana Palace Hotel has a privilege to have a exclusive and atractive atmosphere, inviting us to come back several times.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,662 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,397 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,333 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,470 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#22 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Property: Belmond Copacabana Palace
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing