We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Copacabana Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #4 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Rio De Janeiro
1 review
“The perfect palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

There's no topping this amazing and famous hotel. We were catered for so diligently and perfectly - nothing could have been better! Every single staff we encountered was so friendly and professional. We will certainly be back next time we're in Rio.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the kind words. We are very happy to be informed about your remarkable experience with us.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,370
    523
    146
    47
    37
See reviews for
516
1,389
175
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

A wonderful hotel and a wonderful experience from the moment you arrive and are welcomed at the front desk. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms in the main building where you must insist on staying have all been remodeled and are lovely. I think most of them (if not all) are suites and even the mini-suites are comfortable and spacious. The buffet breakfast included is wonderful and lunch at the pool is perfect. And the pool itself is a fabulous place to hang out at all day. The hotel is all you'd expect from a classy, "new" hotel with old world charm.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building where you must insist on staying have all been remodeled and are love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aNYCtravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very grateful to your kind and sincere words. Our goal is to provide the best service together with high level quality and excellence. We are very happy to know that we not only achieve but exceed your expectations.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far North Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

As you would expect at the price you pay to stay here, the hotel is very nice. But I am not raving though as there are many hotels of a similar standard for less dollars. I will rave over the breakfast though as it was excellent! The fruit, bread and cheese selection was first class as were the egg dishes you can order, made fresh. Don't be in a hurry if you order food from the kitchen as it does take a while.
The room was average size - not what you would call large. It was quiet! The bed was comfortable. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The free WiFi was incredibly slow...even after it was "fixed". That was quite frustrating as we needed the Internet due to flight changes. The other frustrating matter was that housekeeping had not made up our room until after 3pm on both the days we were there.
Pool looked inviting, but it has a fish-bowl feeling (being watched) as the restaurant looks over it at one end and a dining room and bar are at the other end.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view over Copacabana Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4evaLuv-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. It is amazing to know about that your stay was fantastic! Regarding to internet, we have a TI team that can provide assistance whenever it is necessary. Have you asked for them? Another topic related to the cleaning the room. It is quite unusual. Maybe you have put Do not disturb on door knob but any how we are alerting the House Keeping Team.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels around the world and I think this is best I stayed in ever.
Make sure you get a 1 bed suite with a terrace, WOW.
attentive STAFF, nothing was too much trouble and everyone had a real genuine smile

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for sharing your very kind impressions about your last stay with us. As you noticed, our staff got really happy to assist our guests and clients in all the contacts that took place.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were there for 4 days in march, Lovely hotel, large rooms, AWESOME breakfast( worth the price of the hotel room). Right across the beach. Good service by the staff. Nicely located in copacabana. I would recommend this hotel although it can be a tad overpriced.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Copacabana Palace Hotel. One of our strong features is to have a luxury service and high-level accomodations, restaurants, spa, business center, boutiques and an amazing pool. Besides, when you cross our corridors full of celebrities' portraits, the sensation is to be transported to the past. That's why we have a very rich history and tradition.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in May2014 for 4 nights and it was luxury at its best. Everything was top notch - from our room to the food! Gorgeous pool, great buffet breakfast at Pergula restaurant (poolside) which had an even better lunch menu (HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE COPA BURGER AND CLUB SANDWICH!) The hotel is perfectly located right in the middle of the strip a short drive to Sugar Loaf and shops. The internet in the business centre was free which was nice and came in handy when we had to print our boarding passes before departure. Service at the pool was great and a nice perk was dedicated service on the beach with comfy loungers and umbrellas. It is an expensive hotel, but if you're looking for the best of the best, look no further.

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is great - we stayed in 209 and had 2 huge French doors that opened up wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AU_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to express our sincere gratitude to know that your stay was splendid. Our goal is to exceed the high expectations of our guests in order to provide the best services and accomodations and turn in a memorable happening.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Everything from the immaculate cleanliness of the hotel, to the 6 star treatment you get there and more. Everything you needed, you got. Probably one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in.

The rooms: They were very large! I had a room with the ocean view and two Juliet balconies, so it was nice to open both doors and have the sounds of the ocean and street in your room. They were always clean and they also have turn down service, so if you have a nap during the afternoon, they will redo the beds again. Whenever you needed anything in the room (such as an iron) they would bring it right away.

Food: The selection at breakfast was incredible. I wouldn't say the best food I've ever had but the choice of what you could have was excellent.

The pool: Unfortunately because of the time of year, the pool area did not get a lot of sun for very long, so I spent most of my time on the beach, however the pool area was great and the water was warm. Went late night swimming multiple times!!!

Location: You are right on the beach. How can the location get any better than that.

Overall, I would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: You want a room with Ocean Front view and Juliet balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sending and sharing you kind words. We are very happy to know that we contribute to a remarkable stay.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#13 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#14 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Property: Belmond Copacabana Palace
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing