We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Copacabana palace a week before the World Cup began and had an excellent and remarkable stay. My wife and I were there for our anniversary. After briefly mentioning that fact to the woman checking us in, she asked us to hold on a moment while she figured something out...and she returned a minute later saying she was able to give us a free upgrade to a suite. That gesture and effort on her part set the tone for the rest of our stay - the suite was fantastic, clearly recently upgraded, with a very nice balcony, comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom.

The breakfast buffet was delicious and the staff were top-notch in all of our interactions. The concierge helped make reservations, advised us on the best way to see Cristo Redentor, and gave directions and tips for seeing the rest of the city. And they always did it with a smile on their face.

The Palace is obviously in a prime location - overlooking the beach, easy walk to Ipanema and Leblon. The pool is also a great place to relax and spend a day, if you have the time.

Granted I have not stayed in many classic "Grand" hotels, but of the ones I have stayed at, the Copacabana Palace was head and shoulders above the rest. It's expensive but you never feel like you're getting ripped off. If you can budget for it, it is definitely the nicest place to stay in Rio.

Room Tip: We were in a corner suite in the 'back' building above Cipriani. I would certainly ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackd702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We were thrilled by the beautiful and friendly description of your very recent stay with us.

In fact, the hotel is very suitable for special occasions and dates to be remembered.

Best wishes and keep returning for more romantic and wonderful moments.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,402
    528
    146
    47
    38
See reviews for
524
1,408
176
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The most charming hotel in the world , is like you travel in time with bossanova in soundtrack the service is excellent and the decoration is amazing , the pool is nice and the restaurant chic we enjoy very much Rio de Janeiro

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtonjonh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We were really delighted to read your comments. Knowing that your stay was wonderful and remarkable make us truly happy and sure that we did our job effectively providing a stay with high quality and excellence.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed there for few days in May and i could not fault.


Staff was very attentive and professional, had breakfast in the restaurant the the buffet is great. There is a very large selection but my favourite was the fresh fruit.

My room was in the newer part of the building, large and bright. Excelent housekeepoing.

I did manage to take advantage of pool and got a bit of tan too...

Room Tip: Room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
It was amazing to know about your terrific stay with us. We do hope that we return and enjoy Rio again, no matter the season. There are always surprising moments in and out of the hotel.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a great "grand" hotel, all the facilities are excellent (breakfast is wonderful, swimming pool quiet and clean etc). However, the rooms are noisy and in some cases very outdated. The hallways in the "old" hotel look very tired. This time I was in the new wing, with a "street" view, initially I thought that my window was open as the street noise was so loud, but unfortunately not......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swissview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we really apreciated that you shared your impressions. Although the main building was deeply renovated, we always are looking for constant improvements and projects in our external and inner areas and rooms. Regarding to the noise, we really would like to express our apologies. Feel free to provide more complement to your report in order to identify and make the possible adjustments.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed there for a night with my husband to have the experience of staying in a very recognized worldwide hotel. The hotel is beautiful, personnel are very attentive, but I did not like at all the room we were in. I stayed in the 'new' building at the back of the pool, and we were not amazed.

What I really did not like at all was the 'beach' smell. I understand the hotel is in front of the beach, but I have stayed in the Sofitel and this is not what you get. Humid, heavy salty smell.

I would stay again there unless it is for free. In that kind of high end hotels you would expect to snell different that the small ones that are all over the city. This was not for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bett76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sending and sharing your impressions. First of all, we really need to mention that it is frustrating to us verifying what happened almost one year ago in order to consider all the circumstances involved of how the external sea smell got into your room. Please we assure you that if we had known at the time of that episode,even being atipical, we would do everything possible to take steps to avoid the turbulence. Please accept our apologies and feel free to add more details to help us to identify the occurance.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
235 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Palace, after our wedding party!
My wife dressed up at the hotel before, and every detail was perfect.
The hotel offer a lot of amenities for her during this time.
When we arrive after the party, all the room was clean, new towels and everything.
BTW, we choosed the biggest room, at the 6th floor.
What a perfect view of Copacabana Beach. The room is huge, confortable, a very large bed, bathub with beach view, the bathroom is bigger then many other rooms at many hotels.
Ask for a breakfast at your room and enjoy the view!

Room Tip: 6th floor is the best room ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augusto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion such as your honeymoon. The hotel is really very romantic when combined with the city of Rio which is beautiful. Any moment is enhanced and becomes unforgettable and remarkable for life.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minyama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We have travelled from Australia and stayed in many of the worlds leading hotels including Versace, Sherry Netherlands etc. This Hotel definitely deserves to be ranked in the top hotels. The service is fantastic, staff go out of their way to assist in every way. The wifi was great and free of charge, the location was great and the hotel was very clean. The food was also amazing and reasonable value. They had a bottle of champagne for us on arrival with biscuits for our anniversary and had arranged transport for us from the airport which was great. The only thing I would suggest is to take a few dvd's in English, as they don't have many English speaking channels on TV (only CNN and the like). The DVDs are also Portuguese. Although, you don't spend much time in front of the tv anyway, so not a big issue. We took our apple MAC and could download movies anyway. The bed is very large and very comfortable with a pillow menus on offer. No tea making facilities in room, however, they are more than happy to bring milk and a kettle to the room free if charge, so once again not a big issue. They have chairs and staff over on the public beach which was fantastic... They bring you cold water and towels in the beach! I would definitely stay here again! Great value and truly a 5 star experience (even though we did not upgrade to a suite it was 5 star all around).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVSukkarieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We really want to express our gratitude for the very kind comment. We make a constant effort to provide a high quality service obeying the highest international levels. With respect to your suggestions, we guarantee that we will analyze them in every detail.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Property: Belmond Copacabana Palace
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Belmond, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing