We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
US$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Ipanema Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,584)
Filter reviews
2,584 results
Traveller rating
1,190
828
306
154
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,190
828
306
154
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcopacabana beachmaria mariatapiocatop floorperfect locationsmall balconyspecial thanksan upgradebreakfast was includedocean viewbars and restaurantslate checkbeach serviceriobrazilcarnaval
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 2,584 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel. It has a great roof top pool and bar area and perfect location in Copacabana. Sensational view and ambiance. Service around the pool can be slow but it's hard to detract from the nice setting. Also has lounges on the beach which gives the best of both worlds. Rooms are reasonable size for Rio and quite pleasant. I did a fair amount of research before choosing this hotel and it was good value for money.

My only feedback would be that they need a concierge. Apparently there is one there sometimes but I never saw them and you have to stand in the reception queue which can cause a delay as there is often only a couple of people. That said, when you do get to speak to them they are very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacarandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guest,
On behalf of Pestana Rio Atlantica, thank you very much for your preference. Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay. I´m very glad to know that we´ve manage to achieve your expectations , thank you also for your valued remarks, you can be sure that they will be very useful for us, we have always in mind providing to all our guests the best service and memorable momments.

Looking forward for your next visit,

Sunny Regards from Rio de Janeiro,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A good hotel ideally located on Copocabana beach. Good service with very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Rooms are modern and very clean. Beds are very comfortable. Great roof top swimming pool. Good Internet access. Great views of Sugarloaf from the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Select a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 590David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference, thank you also for sharing your review with us and future travellers.
I´m very glad that we´ve manage to achieve your expectations, it was our pleasure to welcome you. Our dedicated team is thankful for your comments , it is truly a honor for us.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Sunny Regards from Rio de Janeiro,

Alvaro Aragao
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

i've been in this hotel for more than 3 times. Every time I go to Rio, I try to stay there. It was old three years ago, but now, most of the rooms have been renewed. Last time I've been there, i asked for a higher floor, which has better rooms, but they told me the hotel was full and there was no chance. Due to that, I stayed at the first floor, the room was old, and if you're lucky the shower window wont be broken. It looks like those rooms already need a new facelift.
Good points: Pool is uptstairs, good to use during daylight, tonight the restaurant take place there. breakfast is very good. Good items to use for shower (Natura), it used to be loccitane. Room was very clean.
Bad Points: Avoid 1st floor, Gym has just a few items, so avoid to workout there.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st Floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SALYDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference, thank you for posting your review after your recent stay with us.
I´m glad that overall you considered our / your´s hotel to be a Good Hotel.

We will be very pleased to welcome you again in a near future,

Sunny Regards from Rio de Janeiro

Alvaro Aragao
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Let's start with the room - we booked the 'deluxe suite' for three adults. Well, it certainly wasn't a 'suite' and the balcony was little more than a juliet balcony. Worst of all, in front of it, so you couldn't open it, they put the other bed - see the photo included in the review.

This bed was tiny and the springs were coming right through the mattress. It was the most uncomfortable bed. The fee for this bed - over $US160 per night. Absurd.

Next - the air con. This leaked from moment we entered the room (see photos). Three engineers were sent, they said they had fixed it, as soon as they left the room, it leaked again. In the end, we gave up and suffered the heat.

The staff were on the whole, pleasant, but they never helped resolve any of our problems or enquiries. They never took any ownership.

Other things - we left an iPad to charge at reception and 15 hours later when we picked it up, it was only on 7%. They shrugged their shoulders.

We wanted help booking tours like Christ the Redeemer, but they would only help if we took the hotel tour $US65, we just wanted the ticket itself, approx $US20. They couldn't help with that - simply translating the Portuguese online booking form they wouldn't assist with.

I could go on and on but to summarise, it was so bad, we left a day early. I've stayed in about 15 hotels this year, and this is the worst I can ever remember, never mind this year. I've no idea how it has received such positive reviews in the past.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel. There are no good ones - we viewed about 5.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and for posting your review after your recent stay with us.
I deeply regret that on this visit, we didn´t manage to achieve your expectations, you can be sure that our guests satisfaction is our number one priority. All your remarks will be discussed with our operational team, actions will be taken.

I hope you give us the chance to welcome you back in a near future, you will find out our improvemments.
Please contact me direcly.

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here on a two night business trip to Rio. Had a wonderful room facing the beach with good facilities - especially the bathroom. The wifi was rather flaky. Well located for the beaches and restaurant - not so great for the business district, but it isn't too expensive to get there by taxi. Fantastic views from the roof bar. Also stayed here a year ago, when I had a rather small room at the back of the hotel - still fit for purpose however.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference, thank you for sharing your opinion with us and future travellers. I´m very glad that we manage to achieve your expectations and that you´ve considered our / your´s hotel to be a great hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Sunny Regards from Rio de Janeiro,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews