We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Ranked #63 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very centrally located, clean rooms but on the small side. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was a decent lay out. Service is so so. Bartenders are friendly and can provide useful information.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SonnyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica as your destination, and for having taken your valuable time to comment your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time spent in our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Gefferson Alves
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 2,355 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Do not recommend the hotel at all. Not referring to a 5 stars hotel. The service is awful, everyone from the receptionist to the guy in the restaurant were extremely not friendly and even rough. Totally unacceptable behavior for a hotel at this rang. Not to mention that it was not clean as it is supposed to be for a 5 star hotel - for example the towels weren't white and clean, but with spots and so on?!...Everything seems kind of old. The annoying part - every time when you need something from the reception you have to wait on a queue for not less than a 15 minutes and after that deal with rude and not helpful receptionist. If you book a room at the higher floors because of the beautiful view be prepared to wait for the elevator every time no less than 10 minutes.
Breakfast is poor, nothing special. On the hotel it isn't worth the money at all and it is not a 5 star hotel at all. May be more like a 2 or maximum 3 star. Totally disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for your comments regarding your stay.

We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us.

Your information regarding our levels of service were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions are being taken in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future.

We hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Kind regards,

Gefferson Alves
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

To give some credit to the hotel, the rooms are new, very nice and tidy, a bit small for some people but it was excellent for us. You do get a partial sea view on the partial sea view rooms, bed and pillows are very comfortable and the shower very good as well.

I also made use of the gym and spa, which is good, the gym is a bit old but enough for a holiday work out; I would recommend the anti stress massage 150 reais for 50 mins! The pool and roof top bar are great and the view absolutely amazing.

Unfortunately, can't say the same about the service, the waiters are terrible in the bar and breakfast. We are a mid late 20's couple and it seems hard for them to understand how you are supposed to have the same rights than older guests in the hotel. Getting coffee in the morning breakfast was a struggle, we had to ask twice on the first day (second time to the manager) and 5 times on the second day (manager wasn't there as we were at the roof terrace breakfast room). Fried eggs took around 40 mins, everyone else (older people or families) were served before us despite following up a few times. Waiters run around looking to the floor and ignoring when you call them and when you finally get their attention they run away before you finish the sentence...

It's a real shame because the hotel is great, amazing views, modern, clean, well located, breakfast food is very good and abundant but the waiters are very very very bad!!

Just go expecting an awful service and you'll have a great time!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The stay started on a bad note. On arrival I was informed that my booking had been cancelled. When I produced the confirmation and after a good half hour of searching it was decided that in fact they had been advised of the booking and found me a room. Looking at other reviews of this hotel it seems that they have a track record of mishandling Booking.com reservations.

The location of this hotel was good but the quality of the hotel was nowhere near their supposed star rating. When you consider how many hotels there are on Copacabana beach front they really cannot rely on location alone.

Specifically: my sheets were not changed once during my nine day stay. Cleaning of the room seemed to be restricted to changing the towels and a quick sweep through the middle of the room. Getting a lift down to reception was an event. Called a lift and then gave up and used the stairs after watching five down lifts just simply not stop on my floor. After a few days I discovered that guests were resorting to getting into any lift that stopped regardless of the direction of travel just so that they were in!

Staff were generally helpful but seemed to be quite restricted on what they could offer.

Breakfast was quite limited from a Western Europe cuisine and the 'omelette station' was infrequently manned (once I stood there being ignored for almost five minutes while the 'chef' fiddled about with what seemed to be a personal task on his smart phone).

TV channels were very limited with pretty much one non-news channel in English (I think there were supposed to be two but one had no audio).

On a more positive technological aspects the WiFi worked well in pretty much the whole hotel (everywhere I went anyway).

All in all this hotel would have received a good review (apart from the sheets issue) if it was cheaper and/or lower star rating (on a "you get what you pay for" basis). As it is this hotel does not live up to its star rating or price range.

Room Tip: Go for a high up sea view. All other views are quite depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is right in front of Copacabana beach, the views are superb, but the rooms are very small and the service is excruciating, whether it is at check-in, room service, terrace bar, the service does nor match the Hotel location, neither the absurd prices they charge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filomena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I 've been in this hotel last weekend and it was clearly a bad choice: Although is sold as one of the 4-5 stars at the most popular beach in Rio, managing and services are out of the scope of a big hotel. The physical Structure is very good, with good rooms (although smaller than I spected) clean, good linens, but services were chabby, like, for instance, we asked previously for a couple bed and we've gotten a double bed room; no excuses given; elevators were broken during this weekend and we had to climb stairs to get to our room (thanks God it was at the 4th floor!) . I 've went to the Gym center and all apparell were old fashionned and machines out of order. Localization is really a must, but I figured out that services and mantainance are losing quality , so if any other big 5 stars at the same beach presents a better price I would never repeat the experience.

Room Tip: if you still wants to stay here, ask formally for a room up high. Rooms until 6th floor have a build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Right on copabana beach and easy access to rio sights. They try hard, without really hitting the heights. Room pleasant and spacious and we were met with cocktails. Good, not great. They don't really get breakfast and what waiters should be doing. But on the plus side, they really do try hard with customer satisfaction. The terrace swimming pool bar is overpriced.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CleoburyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,377 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,922 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#32 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
752 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,449 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#54 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Rio Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Rio Atlantica

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2964 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £96 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Rio Atlantica 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Rio Atlântica is a hotel located on Avenida Atlântica, on the famous Copacabana beach, with quick access to Galeão International Airport and Santos Dumont Airport. Perfect for both business and leisure travellers, the hotel sits only minutes from tourist attractions such as the Corcovado (Christ the Redeemer), Pão de Açucar (Sugar Loaf), Lagoa, the Botanical Gardens and the beaches of Ipanema and Leblon. In addition, it is only 8 km from the city centre and 600 m from an underground station. With a lively atmosphere, the Deck Bar is the known as the place to start your night, having welcomed some of the best international and Brazilian DJs. The hotel’s rooftop swimming pool offers fantastic views of the beach. To make sure nothing is missing, the restaurant and the gym will compliment your stay in the marvellous city. With views of the sea or the city, all rooms are comfortable and have balconies, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Rio Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Pestana Rio Atlantica De Janeiro
Pestana Rio Atlantica Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing