We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort
Ranked #20 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

When arriving at the Sheraton hotel the staff spoke perfect English and were very helpful and friendly towards us. The rooms were very nice, ours had a balcony which is highly recommended in our opinion. The out doors section were the large pool, gym, restaurants are located is stunning. the small restaurants was great with delicious food. For us this was a great hotel and would recommended for a business stay or couples stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lendytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwig V, Executive Assistant General Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once agai for more great times at our hotel, our room, balcony views, pool area, gym, restaurants and all that Rio de Janeiro can offer.

Sincerely,
Ludwig Van Heddegem
Executive Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    472
    112
    43
    39
See reviews for
366
409
63
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for few times. Very friendly and helpful staffs. Nice room with balcony. Once I got a sea facing room on 2nd floor, you will love it if you like the sound of the waves while you sleep. Very nice pool and private beach. Breakfast was awesome and with beautiful sea view from the restaurant. Great selection of pastries (try it with their duche de leche) and fresh fruits likes mango, passion fruit, guava etc. also try their cheeseballs which is on request. The hotel also provide free shuttle service to the mall, copacabana and ipanema beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank Veriza Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ludwig V, Executive Assistant General Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review about your stay with us!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel, our staff, pool area, beach in front of the hotel, breakfast, shuttle service and much more.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again for more great times at the Marvelous City.

Sincerely,
Ludwig Van Heddegem
Executive Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visited while renovations were still taking place, but this did not detract the quality of our stay.
All staff were without exception attentive and friendly. Our room had lovely views down to Leblon and Ipanema beaches. Food and drinks were of high quality and the caiprinhas had huge measures of Cachaca in them. The hotel was clean and our room was thoroughly cleaned each day. Where this hotel really scores well was with it's facilities and location. There was a good clean pool with plenty of sun loungers available all day long. The pool was on an elevated platform some 10 feet above it's own little stretch of beach where one could mix it with the locals who made us feel so welcome. Watching the local lads playing keepy-upy with their soccer balls was an amazing sight. They would let us join in, but our talent for this was woeful by comparison. This is not the Sheraton's own private beach, but it is the ONLY hotel in Rio which is located right on the beach. All the other hotels along Leblon, Ipanema and Copacabana beaches require crossing a busy road to get to the sand, despite their publicity. Would certainly return again and again to this resort hotel.

Room Tip: Would not use this hotel with a self drive hire, because at certain times of the day the Main road o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwig V, Executive Assistant General Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us with so many details.

We are glad to know that we could achieve our most importante goal: your complete satisfaction!

We are looking forwad to welcominng you once again for more great experiences in our rooms, foor and drinks, caipirinhas, pool area, beach in front of the hotel and much more.

Sincerely,
Ludwig Van Heddegem
Executive Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel in March and it is a really nice hotel. Unfortunately they were in the middle of renovations so an afternoon relaxing by the pool was not possible with all the noise! The staff were very friendly and the concierge were very knowledgeable and helpful. The views from the hotel were great, and it is OK to walk to and from in the day, but wouldn't recommend it at night as the path back is a bit secluded.

We ate at the restaurant the first night by the pool and the food and service were great.

The rooms were well equipped and clean. Would love to stay again once the renovation has been completed if I ever make it back to Rio!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zedwards74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwig V, Executive Assistant General Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for takint the time to review our Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again to enjoy a renovated Sheraton Rio, with new restaurants, bars, spa and much more. In addition you will enjoy our pool area, restaurant and concierge services again.

Sincerely,
Ludwig Van Heddegem
Executive Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Ho...
#126 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#35 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort

Property: Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort
Address: Avenida Niemeyer, 121, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22450-220, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive and recently renovated 5-star oceanfront resort sits on trendy Leblon Beach, in Rio's South Zone. Guests at Sheraton Grand Rio can enjoy a complete leisure area including 2 pools*, a tennis court and tasty gastronomic options. They can also play golf in Gávea Golf Club, use the well-equipped gym or relax on the newly-launched Shine Spa. For sightseeing, the iconic Christ the Redeemer is 10 km away. In the pool area, Sheraton Grand Rio offers Casarão Steakhouse, which serves grilled recipes and a delightful buffet. Guests can also enjoy Bene Restaurant, which serves Italian food and Dry Martini Bar by Javier de Las Muelas, the latest, modern and innovative bar. The Casa da Cachaça, at the pool area, offers sophisticated snacks, specialty caipirinhas and classic cocktails. On the 26th floor, guests will also find L'Etoile, a French cuisine restaurant with panoramic sea views. The luxurious renovated rooms at Sheraton Grand Rio are spacious, with modern décor and contemporary furnishings. All have air conditioning and a private balcony with stunning beach views. Leblon Beach is 1 km away and Tijuca Forest National Park is 3.4 km away. Sheraton Rio is 16 km from Santos Dumont Airport. An airport shuttle service can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Sheraton Rio Hotel And Resort
Sheraton Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing