We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place”
Review of Aeroporto Othon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aeroporto Othon
Ranked #253 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed there for about 8 days during the World Cup. I arrived on a saturday morning and I was told that I could not check-in until 3 p.m. which was annoying after a 13 hours of flight and seeing that the hotel was not that busy but overall understandable. The hotel offers free wifi which takes a while to join but worked smoothly . The location was nice. It was a 10 min walk to the nearest metro station Cinelandia and from there you can access a lot in Rio. The room was clean as far as I could tell. The decor was outdated. The T.V. was small . The service was also good. But there was no wow factor anywhere. The room came equipped with a safe which was great and a small fridge which didn't really cool that much. The AC was definitely nice but it took a while for it to work or maybe I was just too hot. I never took the Elevator because it is too small and didn't look very appealing. For the price I was expecting something nicer but because it was the World Cup it was understandable. I probably would not stay there again if I visit Rio because I would want to be closer to the beaches which is not near the hotel. I read the other reviews. This is by far not the worst hotel like others are claiming. It was clean. Everything worked. Service was provided when needed. It is not a luxurious place by any means but it is not the Worst.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Google Translation
Caro Sr.

Muito obrigado por seus elogios a nossa localização e aos nossos serviços.

Suas observações são de extrema valia para melhorarmos sempre o nosso Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel.

Reiteramos nossa satisfação em recebe-lo, esperando que possamos ter a oportunidade de tornar a dar-lhe as boas vindas.

Cordialmente,

Roberto Estrella
Gerente de Operações
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    126
    196
    106
    78
See reviews for
108
90
54
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S.P.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

According to the hotel personnel, this is among the oldest hotels in the city, but it seems that the furniture and instalations have naver been changed.
The A/C seems to be new, considering the power outlets, but still very noisy.
The elevator is manually operated and the same guy verifies the room for the checkout, so there is a lot of delays in the morning. On top of that, if you stay at the 9th floor, you will have to carry your luggage one floor up as the elevator goes only up to the 8th floor.
Urgent remodelation is needed and cleaniness is questionable.
What surprised most was that this hotel was FIFA recommended during the World Cup.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_Toyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Sr,

Muito obrigado por suas observações sobre o serviço encontrado em nosso Hotel Aeroporto Othon Travel.

Gostaria, em primeiro lugar, de transmitir as nossas mais sinceras desculpas pelos inconvenientes encontrados quando da sua hospedagem.

Nós, sinceramente, esperamos que nos proporcionasse a oportunidade de mudar essa impressão, pois estamos, com frequencia, melhorando nossas estruturas com o intuito de melhor servi-lo.

Agradecemos, mais uma vez, por trazer esse assunto a nossa atenção.


Cumprimenta,

Roberto Estrella
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Monterrey, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I visited Rio de Janeiro on june for the world cup, it was not my first option but the one available during the dates requested.
It has a very good location in Beira Mar, near to Cinelandia metro station.
The hotel is not a cheap option, the building is very old (it has an elevator as titanic times) the service is good, they offer cafe da manha (jam, milk, juice and bread)
It is a very good option because is near to copacabana, but far to be as populated as the nearest hotels

Room Tip: Choose the suite, it is not a suite as you can imagine but it worths to pay a little more to stay mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Google Translation
Caro Sr.

Muito obrigado por seus elogios a nossa localização e aos nossos serviços.

Suas observações são de extrema valia para melhorarmos sempre o nosso Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel.

Reiteramos nossa satisfação em recebe-lo, esperando que possamos ter a oportunidade de tornar a dar-lhe as boas vindas.

Cumprimentos,

Roberto Estrella
Gerente de Operações
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Seriously, this has been the worst hotel I have visited in a long time. We stayed during the World Cup, I can't believe that this hotel was recommended by Hospitalty Match from FIFA.
The furniture is old from the 50's and it seems there has been no maintenance at all. They offer free wifi, that does not work at all in the rooms. The only internet that worked was in a small lounge at the entrance of the hotel. The breakfast is included in the rate, there should be more quality control in what they serve, the second day, the eggs were "green".
Service in general was terrible, the only nice people in the hotel were the ones that operated the elevator, which must be from 1920's.
I do not recommend this hotel at all!!

Room Tip: I would never again choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ximena t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Google Translation
Prezada Sra,

Muito obrigado por suas observações sobre o serviço encontrado em nosso Hotel Aeroporto Othon Travel.

Gostaria, em primeiro lugar, de transmitir as nossas mais sinceras desculpas pelos inconvenientes encontrados em vossa hospedagem.

No entanto, posso assegurar-vos que já tomamos as medidas necessárias para evitar este tipo de ocorrência no futuro.

Nós, sinceramente, esperamos que nos proporcionasse a oportunidade de mudar essa impressão.

Agradecemos, mais uma vez, por trazer esse assunto a nossa atenção.


Cordialmente,

Roberto Estrella
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Aeroport Othon Travel is an average hotel with quite some old infrastructure. However, it is very convenient because it is located just about 10 minutes walking from Santos Dumont domestic airport.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank luishashimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Luis,

Muito obrigado por suas observações sobre o serviço encontrado em nosso Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel.

Reiteramos nossa satisfação em recebe-lo, esperando que possamos ter a oportunidade de tornar a dar-lhe as boas vindas e demonstrar-lhe que seus comentários serviram-nos para melhorar ainda mais os nossos padrões.

Cordialmente,

Roberto Estrella
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel in Rio de Janeiro just for one night while we waited for our connection flight from Rio de Janeiro Int'l Airport and that was a nightmare. First of all, we wouldn't stay for more than 6 hours at the hotel and I asked them for an early check-in what was actually denied (Check in time was 3pm and we arrived there at 1pm). The lady at the front desk was quite rude and seemed to be unaware of my prepaid reservation. I also saw some people being checked in before time while we waited in the moldy lobby before a 1900's TV set. Second of all, the hotel is very very old, everything seems to be from 40's or 50's, starting with the elevator, it really freaked me out, you can't get on it by yourself and it takes hours to someone from the front desk go up and pick you up. The bedroom couldn't be different. It smells like mold, it's dark and furniture needs some renovation. The bed is small, even though we had a king room and the mattress is horrible, I tried unsuccessfully to sleep for a couple of hours and it really killed me, I'd rather sleep at a hostel bunk than in that hotel bed.
Neighborhood is okay, metro station to the South zone of Rio is next door and the property is next to the domestic airport from where you can go to the Int'l Airport by public transportation (it's BRL 11 and takes 30min). I would strongly recommend you stay somewhere else, there are several better hotels in the area with greater deal, actually I spent a little fortune to stay at this creepy hotel. Take my advice, STAY AWAY from Aeroporto Othon Travel while in Rio de Janeiro.

Room Tip: You'd better stay somewhere else in the neighborhood, try Ibis Hotel, they have some great deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brenomartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Google Translation
Caro Sr Bruno,

Muito obrigado por suas observações sobre o serviço encontrado em nosso Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel.

Gostaria, em primeiro lugar, de transmitir as nossas mais sinceras desculpas pelos inconvenientes encontrados em sua reserva em nosso hotel. Recebemos seus comentários e muito nos lamentamos por não havermos atendido às suas expectativas, pelo que muito nos desculpamos.

No entanto, posso assegurar-vos que já tomamos as medidas necessárias para evitar que este tipo de ocorrência repita-se no futuro.

Nós, sinceramente, esperamos que nos proporcionassem a oportunidade de mudar esta impressão e estamos aguardando para recebê-los em breve.

Agradecemos mais uma vez por trazer esse assunto a nossa atenção.


Cumprimentos,


Roberto Estrella
Gerência Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumon...
#107 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,000 reviews
Centro
Hotel OK
Hotel OK
#154 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
384 reviews
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#50 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pompeu
#224 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
121 reviews
Centro
Belga Hotel
Belga Hotel
#146 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
20 reviews
Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro...
#153 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aeroporto Othon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeroporto Othon

Property: Aeroporto Othon
Address: Avenida Beira-Mar 280 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20021-060, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aeroporto Othon 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aeroporto Othon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Travel Travel
Aeroporto Othon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing