We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best little Inn in Rio !”
Review of Hotel Arpoador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Arpoador
Ranked #25 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best little Inn in Rio !”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is my second time at the Arpoador Inn. I did not see any reason to stay in a big, impersonal and chain hotel in Copacabana, Ipanema or somewhere else in Rio. Eventhough the mega hotels are also located on the main boulevard by the beach, but you're still a mile away from the actual beach. From my suite, I can hear the sound of the waves crashing into the beach, enjoy the famous sunset at Arpoador beach, and furthermore, and able to feel a glorious solitude in the midst of all the excitement of Rio!! Hey! the location of this little gem override all the glitches you may encounter at the restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    336
    111
    21
    20
See reviews for
160
322
79
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Fantastic location and very friendly staff, also free wireless internet. However rooms felt in need of a good clean especially the linen and the beds were very uncomfortable. The restaurant bar has a fantastic location right beside the beach so we ate there one night, do not bother, just have drinks! The extra service charge, required in cash, which we were hit with as we left at 6am was an unpleasant and expensive surprise. Now realise not everyone pays this but at 6 am was not thinking clearly. I would not go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YFlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lux
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Receptionist are very friendly
The breakfeast is good and especialy the place where you can take it, is great, since it's on the border of beach Ipanema.
The price of the restaurant are a bit high for the quality offered, but you pay the position
rooms are clean, but sometime, they forget to pass
Internet is free

Room Tip: avoide room 206. the view is horrible and teh A/C has to be swiched by the reception and you cant mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kekenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The Arpoador Inn is a good hotel, with excellent location. Overall the hotel is good value, but be aware of the restaurant staff and management. Breakfast was included so we couldn't avoid it, although they made sure to tell us several times that they are a separate business from the actual hotel. Very rude staff, pretending not to understand English or Spanish (although we heard them speak to other customers fluently), rolled their eyes every time we said we are hotel guests. On one occasion, when it started raining the head waiter came over and took our umbrella from our table to put it over another table!!! It seems like they don't want custom from the hotel guests, and they only want to serve people that come to eat (we were mostly down for drinks). Our mood was spoiled by the restaurant staff again and again, and I wouldn't recommend the hotel because of this.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panoskaran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed at the Arpoador Inn for 3 nights on November 2011.

The hotel was recommended by a Brazilian friend and proved to be a good choice.

It is expensive, but as most of the hotels in Copacabana and Ipanema. The Arpoador Inn is really well located, walking distance of both beaches.

Rooms are good, clean and spacious. I would recommend to choose a sea view one. The service is formal but also helpful.

Breakfast is OK, but nothing special. Avoid the room service as much as possible.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enricopg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobbs Ferry, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I just came back from a weekend at the Arpoador Inn, and can't say enough about the location. I had an ocean view room which more than made up for the spartan, but very clean room. Just sitting and watching the people stroll by and the waves rolling in made this place top notch. My one complaint is that for a $30/day service charge which they hit you up for at the end of your stay (in cash!), you should actually get service. My safe didn't work due to dead batteries for setting the combo, and even though I asked 3 times to have it fixed, it never was. Other than that, i thought the breakfast was fine with excellent coffee, and if you came down at 8:30am or later, you could sit outside, oceanside.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view above 2nd floor, unless you want to have passers by looking into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This hotel almost ruined our trip to Rio. We tried not to let it get to us, but it was hard. I really hate to post bad reviews and hurt a business, but I would never stay at this hotel even if it were free. The bed is uncomfortable, the sheets are worn and disgusting, it's noisy, and the breakfast downstairs is nothing to look forward to. It might be cheaper than other hotels in Rio, but it's still expensive for the LOW LOW quality of the hotel. The sheets literally had spots on them. I tried to get new pillowcases and new sheets from downstairs because I was afraid to lay on them, but even the new ones seemed worn and dirty. My boyfriend and I stayed out of the room as much as possible. It was raining most of the time we were there and we preferred walking on the beach in the rain over being in our room. The location is awesome and the views from the beach are awesome, but it's NOT worth it. I couldn't wait to get home to get away from this hotel. I'm sad that it left such a negative impression on our trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,380 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#6 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
245 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#49 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#66 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,133 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#37 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,689 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#83 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arpoador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arpoador

Property: Hotel Arpoador
Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano 177 | Arpoador, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-046, Brazil (Formerly Arpoador Inn)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arpoador 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most beautiful neighbourhood in the whole of Rio de Janeiro, HOTEL ARPOADOR is the only hotel in town literally located on the beach. This idyllic area, located in the intersection of the famous Ipanema and Copacabana neighborhoods, is a peninsula with its own beach and park. The hotel offers comfortable suites, decorated in a simple sophistication, with plenty of Brazilian hardwood and white walls. Our teams are always ready to assist you in every means. HOTEL ARPOADOR Where the City meets the Sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arpoador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arpoador Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Arpoador Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing